Alberto Hemsi : Coplas Sefardies

Tehila Nini Goldstein, soprano - Jascha Nemtsov, piano

The catalogue of the recorded works of Alberto Hemsi (1898-1975) gets bigger with the release of a new 3 CD box set published by Hänsser Classic, on September 30, 2020. The soprano singer Tehila Nini Goldstein and the pianist Jascha Nemtsov perform all 60 Judeo-Spanish songs (Coplas Sefardies) published in 10 collections, between 1932 and 1973, by Hemsi. Recorded between 2017 and 2020, this edition, which wants to appear as complete (all verses are sung in their original tone), includes two other compositions by Hemsi : Hamicha chirim (Five Hebrew Songs), op. 25, written in 1947, dedicated to Bracha Zefira, and published in Florence in 1948, and Yom g(u)ila yavo, yavo ! (Hebrew sketch) op. 17, published in Alexandria in 1934.

The Coplas Sefardies are a collection of Judeo-Spanish songs for voice and piano, composed by Alberto Hemsi from 230 poems and tunes collected in the Sefardi communities of the former Ottoman Empire between 1923 and 1937. From this vast corpus, Hemsi retained 60 traditional melodies in which he composed piano parts « of which the carrying out turned out to be quite complicated, because it wasn’t simply a question of ‘accompanying’ the songs, but of encapsulating them into little symphonic tableaux, in order to suggest, as much as possible, the atmosphere, the spiritual state of mind, the subject and the melody ». The Coplas Sefardies by Alberto Hemsi, with Iberian and Oriental accents, offer a renewed vision ot the Judeo-Spanish oral tradition in the spirit of Western Art music of the beginning of the 20th century.

This new recording of the Coplas Sefardies completes an already long list of publications dedicated to the masterwork of Alberto Hemsi, performed by Amparito Péris de Prulière (in the 1960’s ?), Mira Zakai (1988), Pedro Aledo (2005) or Assaf Levitin (2018-2019)…

For more than 3 hours, Jasha Nemtsov’s piano accompanies with delight and virtuosity the powerful and lyrical voice of the soprano singer Tehila Nini Goldstein, in a repertoire which blends the main genres of Judeo-Spanish poetry : romances (medieval ballads), cantigas (songs of the daily life) and coplas (songs based on Hebrew religious forms, such as the 2 Passover songs Un cabretico and the numbers song Quen supiense y entendiense). Written by Jasha Nemtsov, the 104 page booklet that comes with the CD box set is quite remarkable. Besides Alberto Hemsi’s biography, it includes all the texts of the songs as well as their translation in English.

A CD box set you can listen to all year long…

Purchase the CD
Search all the recorded versions of the Coplas Sefardies by Alberto Hemsi on our catalogue

Listen to

In case the music player doesn't open, you must allow the opening of pop-ups for the website in your browser settings.

  • Yo tomi una muchacha (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 1

  • Ansi dize la nuestra novia (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 1

  • El rey por muncha madriga (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 2

  • Aquel conde y aquel conde (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 3

  • Ya salio de la mar la galana (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 3

  • Triste esta la infanta (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 4

  • Tanto fuites i venites (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 4

  • Avrid mi galanica (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 5

  • Malana tripa de madre (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 6

  • Al ruido de una fuente (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 7

  • Dolores tiene la reina (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 8

  • Un cabretico (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 8

  • Torondon (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 9

  • Quen supiense y entendiense (extrait) - Coplas Sefardies vol. 10

  • Vedibarti al haneviim (extrait) - Hamicha chirim

  • Yom gila yavo yavo (extrait)

Lire tout

You may also like

Release of eight new musical scores by Itaï Daniel at the EIJM publishing house

The EIJM publishing house releases eight new instrumental or vocal scores by Itaï Daniel, a composer inspired by Judaism and its (…)

Ani Maamin - Ben Zion Shenker

Discover the audio collections of the EIJM

Release of a new musical score by Serge Kaufmann: Katouna, for clarinette and cello

Release of the musical score Katouna by Serge Kaufman, at the EIJM’s editions

Training of Music Teachers of Paris - 2011

The CFMJ continues its educational action by organising another training day for music teachers in Paris. In the program : a large overview on (…)

The CFMJ at the Festival of Jewish Culture in Paris

Conferences, round table and concerts : find all the events co-organized by the CFMJ at the Festival of Jewish Culture in Paris, on June 29 and (…)