Coplas Sefardies by Alberto Hemsi - Vol.2

Published by the Europäische Zentrum für Jüdische Musik (EZJM) in Hanover and the music label Rondeau Production

The full works for voice and piano by Alberto Hemsi finally available on CD !

On the occasion of the 120th anniversary of Alberto Hemsi’s birth (1898-1975), Assaf Levitin, cantor of the reformed synagogue of Hanover, and the pianist Naaman Wagner recorded the full works for voice and piano of this composer still too little known. This project was supported by the Europaïsche Zentrum für Jüdische Musik of Hanover.

Alberto Hemsi was a fervent admirer of Sephardic folklore and its musical traditions. As a pianist and composer, he collected 230 poems and melodies in the Sephardic communities of the old Ottoman Empire between 1923 and 1937. Of this important body of work, Hemsi will retain 60 traditional melodies for which he composed "pianistic parts, whose realization turned out to be rather complicated, because it was not a question of ’accompanying’ simply the said songs, but framing them in small symphonic pictures, in order to make them suggest as much as possible, the atmosphere, the state of mind, the subject and the melody ". Real symbiosis between traditional song and scholarly art, Alberto Hemsi’s 60 Coplas Sefardies thus offer a renewed vision of the Judeo-Spanish tradition.

After the release of the first volume of the Coplas Sefardies, on February 23rd 2018, this second volume released in October 2018 include 8 new Judeo-Spanish songs collected in Izmir and in Anatolia, and 8 melodies : Kal Nidrey, op. 12, Arba’a Shirim (Four songs), op. 42 and three Biblical Visions , op. 48.

75 minutes of beauty, brilliantly performed by Assaf Levitin and Naaman Wagner...

Purchase the CD Coplas Sefardies - Judeo-Spanish songs by Alberto Hemsi - Vol.1 and 2
Learn more about Alberto Hemsi
Watch the film Alberto Hemsi, a composer serving Sephardic culture
Browse the archives around Alberto Hemsi deposited at the EIJM

Listen to

In case the music player doesn't open, you must allow the opening of pop-ups for the website in your browser settings.

  • Una matica de Ruda Alberto Hemsi

  • Abaxex abaxo galenica gentil Alberto Hemsi

  • Morenica a mi me llaman Alberto Hemsi

  • Vamos para la urilla Alberto Hemsi

  • Shalom aleykhem Alberto Hemsi

  • Vision d Isaie Alberto Hemsi

Lire tout

You may also like

The night of theology - 4th edition

Thursday January 30th, 2020 from 7 pm to 11h30 pm. An evening dedicated to relations between music and religion, and then to the ecological (…)

Jewish Music: When Singular is Plural

Wednesday November 6, 2019, 6 pm a lecture by Hervé Roten, Director of the European Institute of Jewish Music, at the Pontifical Gregorian (…)

Jacques Offenbach and friends - From the Synagogue to the Opera

NEW RELEASE AT THE EIJM’S PUBLISHING HOUSE. This CD makes us discover the original Hebrew works of Isaac and Jacques Offenbach, Giacomo Meyerbeer, (…)

Symposium in Hannover : Magnified and Sanctified, The Music of Jewish Prayer II

From the 9th to the 12th September 2019 at the Hannover university (GERMANY), international symposium on Jewish liturgical music. Hervé Roten, (…)

Musica Judaica Symposium : Jewish music between oral and written traditions

On the 14th & 15th of July 2019 in Oxford (ENGLAND) will take place an international symposium in which Hervé Roten, Director of the European (…)