Viniciu Moroianu performs George Enescu

Musical pieces for piano and chamber music

This disc gathers works for piano and chamber music by the Romanian composer George Enescu, including two original pieces : Nocturne Ville d’Avrayen and Trio in A minor

Here is a beautiful CD dedicated to the composer, virtuoso violonist, pianist and conductor George Enescu (1881-1955).

Recorded in his native country, Romania, this compilation was imagined around two pillars : the Sonata for piano n°3, Opus 24 (1913-1916), and two chamber music pieces, the Trio in A minor (1916) and the Nocturne Ville d’Avrayen (1898).

The latter two tunes, of which one was recorded during a concert and the other in studio, are published for the first time in an audio recording. We will notice that the Nocturne Ville d’Avrayen, recently discovered in a manuscript kept at the Instututul Cultural Român - Muzeul National "George Enescu" is wrongly dated 1931-1936, and credited to the collaboration of Enescu and Yehudi Menuhin. In reality, it is a youth work (1898) dedicated to Fernand Halphen, his classmate at the Music School of Paris, in the composition class of Jules Massenet (Learn more on Enescu’s Nocturne Ville d’Avrayen)

The CD includes also three "Pièces impromptues" Opus 18, ("Mélodie", "Voix de la steppe", and "Mazurk mélancolique"), as well as the musical piece "on the name of Fauré" (1922).

The anecdote around the creation of the Trio, written in the CD’s booklet, is interesting to mention. "In March 1916, Enescu who is then in Bucarest is hospitalized for an unknown reason... During his one week hospitalization, he finds energy and the opportunity to compose this work, which he quickly transcibes on paper, a complete version, that we can hear today. The manuscript was discovered nearly 40 years later. [...]
This manuscript, written without the help of a piano, show very few corrections, unusual fact for a composer. The only explanation is that Enescu had already the whole composition in his exceptional memory, had thought of it in detail, just waiting the occasion to write it on paper. No musician would be able of imagining and finishing such a complicated work, without correction or hesitation, in just one week, a work which would precisely take one week to copy. I suspect that it is for this reason that Enescu got himself hospitalized, to have the tranquility needed to put on paper this composition thought of since a long time."

Purchase the CD
Learn more on Enescu’s the Nocturne Ville d’Avrayen
Watch a video of the 2015 EIJM’s Gala Concert featuring a performance of the Nocturne Ville d’Avrayen

Listen to

In case the music player doesn't open, you must allow the opening of pop-ups for the website in your browser settings.

  • Georges Enesco - Pièces impromptues op 18 - 1. Mélodies (Extrait)

  • Georges Enesco - Pièces impromptues op 18 - 2. Voix de la steppe (Extrait)

  • Georges Enesco - Pièces impromptues op 18 - 3. Mazurk mélancolique (Extrait)

  • Georges Enesco - Trio in la minor - 1. Allegro moderato (Extrait)

  • Georges Enesco - Trio in la minor - 2. Allegretto moderato (Extrait)

  • Georges Enesco - Trio in la minor - 3. Andante - Vivace amabile (Extrait)

  • Georges Enesco - Piesa pe numele Fauré (Extrait)

  • Georges Enesco - Nocturne Ville d’Avrayen (Extrait)

  • Georges Enesco - Sonata nr 3 in Re major op 24 - 1. Vivace con brio (Extrait)

  • Georges Enesco - Sonata nr 3 in Re major op 24 - 2. Andantino cantabile (Extrait)

  • Georges Enesco - Sonata nr 3 in Re major op 24 - 3. Allegro con spirito (Extrait)

Lire tout

You may also like

Symposium and concerts Vox Aurea-Via Sacra 2014 - Sacred Jewish music

Sunday September 7th, 2014, 18200 Saint-Armand Montrond Sacred music holds an essential place in Jewish music history. All day long, conferences (…)

The night of theology - 4th edition

Thursday January 30th, 2020 from 7 pm to 11h30 pm. An evening dedicated to relations between music and religion, and then to the ecological (…)

Jewish Music: When Singular is Plural

Wednesday November 6, 2019, 6 pm a lecture by Hervé Roten, Director of the European Institute of Jewish Music, at the Pontifical Gregorian (…)

Jacques Offenbach and friends - From the Synagogue to the Opera

NEW RELEASE AT THE EIJM’S PUBLISHING HOUSE. This CD makes us discover the original Hebrew works of Isaac and Jacques Offenbach, Giacomo Meyerbeer, (…)

Symposium in Hannover : Magnified and Sanctified, The Music of Jewish Prayer II

From the 9th to the 12th September 2019 at the Hannover university (GERMANY), international symposium on Jewish liturgical music. Hervé Roten, (…)