ZARA LEVINA - The piano concertos

Maria Lettberg - Arian Matiakh - Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

A beautiful CD joins our collections. Zara Alexandrovna Levina, is born in 1906 in Alexandrovsk (Ukraine), and witnessed two world wars, the Russian revolution, the collapse of the Russian Empire and the totalitarian reconstruction of her land, USSR.

Maria Lettberg, piano
Orchestre symphonique de la Radio de Berlin
Ariane Matiakh, musical direction

Zara Alexandrovna Levina lived all her life under the ideological pressure, continuous and frightful, of the State censorship, especially applied by the RAPM (Russian Association of Proletarian Musicians) in the 1920’s and 1930’s.
Nevertheless, Zara Levina succeeded brilliantly in keeping her own musical genius facing such difficulties.

30 years separate the composition of these 2 piano-concertos

  • The 1st Concerto, written in 1942 and created in 1945, evokes the great tradition of the romantic concerto for piano, with its virtuosity and orchestration, reminding surely Rachmaninov and Rimsky-Korsakov.
  • The 2nd Concerto which is more introspective and enigmatic was written in 1975, one year before the death of Zara Levina. It was her last composition that she considered also as her best. Zara Levina often said about this concerto that it was her own struggle against death and her chronic heart disease.

These two works are different, and at the same time very linked. They can be enrooted in tradition, but not eclectic. It is often surprising, whether it’s the harmony or the theme, the tone… But violence is completely absent in the composition.

Nevertheless, who listens to these 2 concertos will think of them as harmonically and melodically linked…

Maria Lettberg, piano
Since her beginning with the Concerto n°1 by Peter Tchaïkovsky with the symphonic orchestra of the Swedish radio, in addition to the traditional repertoire, Maria Lettberg is fascinated in rediscovering the treasures of the past.
Native of Riga, she lives now in Berlin and is liked by the public and international critics, especially for her performances of Russian and Scandinavian music.
With the two Concertos for piano by Zara Levina, Maria Lettberg continues her discoveries of difficult pieces in its composition and piano technique.
Her first recording.

Ariane Matiakh, conductor
Since the replacement of James Conlon in Chostakovitch’s 7th Symphony in 2006 at the National Orchestra of Montpellier, Ariane Matiakh has an international profile of chief conductor in the symphonic repertoire and in the opera and ballet.
Ariane Matiakh Studied the orchestra conducting with Leopold Hager and Yuji Yuasa in Vienna and participated to master classes with Seiji Ozawa, before receiving the Revelation prize to the “Victoires de la Musique Classique” in 2009, and winner of the 1st edition of the “ADAMI” contest. She also was finalist to the Donatella Flick contest in London in 2008.

Symphonic Orchestra of the Radio of Berlin (RSB)
The Symphonic Orchestra of the Radio of Berlin (RundfunkSinfonieorchester Berlin, RSB) was founded at the beginning of the radio broadcasting in 1923. The orchestra’s musical directors like Sergiu Celibidache, Eugen Jochum and Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos all helped in creating the sound of the orchestra. Since its creation, many important composers, such as Sergey Prokofiev, Richard Strauss, Igor Stravinsky and Jörg Widmann conducted the orchestra, as well as young promising conductors like Andris Nelsons, Vasily Petrenko, Jakub Hrusa, Lahav Shani and Omer Meir Wellber.

Concerto pour piano et orchestre N°1 de Zara Levina - I. Allegro (EXTRAIT)
Concerto pour piano et orchestre N°1 de Zara Levina - II. Andante (EXTRAIT)
Concerto pour piano et orchestre N°1 de Zara Levina - III. Allegro (EXTRAIT)
Concerto pour piano et orchestre N°2 de Zara Levina (EXTRAIT)

Listen to

In case the music player doesn't open, you must allow the opening of pop-ups for the website in your browser settings.

  • Concerto pour piano et orchestre N°1 de Zara Levina - I. Allegro (EXTRAIT)

  • Concerto pour piano et orchestre N°1 de Zara Levina - II. Andante (EXTRAIT)

  • Concerto pour piano et orchestre N°1 de Zara Levina - III. Allegro (EXTRAIT)

  • Concerto pour piano et orchestre N°2 de Zara Levina (EXTRAIT)

Lire tout

You may also like

Training of Music Teachers of Paris - 2011

The CFMJ continues its educational action by organising another training day for music teachers in Paris. In the program : a large overview on (…)

The CFMJ at the Festival of Jewish Culture in Paris

Conferences, round table and concerts : find all the events co-organized by the CFMJ at the Festival of Jewish Culture in Paris, on June 29 and (…)

Second summer university of Judeo-Spanish in Paris

7 - 12 JULY 2013 in the Centre Edmond Safra - 6 bis rue Michel-Ange - Paris 16e In July 2012, the first university of Judeo-Spanish, organized (…)

Symposium and concerts Vox Aurea-Via Sacra 2014 - Sacred Jewish music

Sunday September 7th, 2014, 18200 Saint-Armand Montrond Sacred music holds an essential place in Jewish music history. All day long, conferences (…)

The night of theology - 4th edition

Thursday January 30th, 2020 from 7 pm to 11h30 pm. An evening dedicated to relations between music and religion, and then to the ecological (…)