Hip Hop in Urban Borderlands

Miranda L. Crowdus

“Music-Making, Identity, and Intercultural Dynamics on the Margins of the Jewish State”. Such is the sub-title of this new book, first of a series of studies on Jewish music. What part does Hip Hop play in the definition of identity in Israel today?

Hip Hop emerged in Israel in the early 1990s and is performed by many individuals and groups often divided by conflicting aesthetics, ideologies, political and social positions, and national identities. Using an ethnographic, interdisciplinary approach, the researcher Miranda Crowdus highlights the relationships between Jewish and non-Jewish identities operating in South Tel Aviv, in terms of grassroot and commercial Hip Hop initiatives.

While this book focuses on one urban area, it addresses broader themes relating to popular music and globalization, including the disjunction between the day-to-day experiences of practitioners and the ideological projections used to define them.

Miranda L. Crowdus is a Research Associate at the Europäische Zentrum für Jüdische Musik (EZJM) European Centre for Jewish Music in Hanover, Germany. The common thread driving her work in musicology and ethnomusicology is an engagement with Jewish identity and culture, inter-religious dialogue, and artistic expression.

Purchase the book on the editor’s website
Visit the website of the Europäische Zentrum für Jüdische Musik (EZJM)

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Hip Hop in Urban Borderlands

Miranda L. Crowdus

Le Hip Hop dans les zones frontalières urbaines
“Production musicale, identité, et dynamiques inter-culturelles aux marges de la société israélienne”. Tel est le sous-titre donné à ce nouveau livre, premier d’une série d’études sur les musiques juives. Quel rôle joue le Hip Hop dans la définition identitaire en Israël aujourd’hui?

Le Hip Hop est apparu dans ce pays au début des années 1990. Il est joué par de nombreux groupes ou individus, souvent divisés sur des sujets d’esthétiques, d’idéologies, de positionnement et d’identités nationales. Avec une approche ethnographique, la chercheuse Miranda Crowdus étudie les relations entre Juifs et non-Juifs dans les quartiers sud de Tel Aviv, dans un contexte d’initiatives populaires ou commerciales au sein de la culture Hip Hop.

Bien que ce livre parle spécifiquement d’un espace urbain particulier – le sud de Tel Aviv – il met en lumière des sujets bien plus vastes, comme la musique populaire, la mondialisation, et notamment le fossé entre les expériences quotidiennes des acteurs du Hip Hop et les projections idéologiques qui y sont reliées.

Miranda Crowdus est chercheuse à l’Europäische Zentrum für Jüdische Musik (EZJM) (Centre Européen des Musiques Juives). Ses recherches en musicologie et ethnomusicologie portent sur l’identité et la culture juive, le dialogue inter-religieux, et l’expression artistique.

Acheter le livre sur le site de l’éditeur
Visiter le site du Europäische Zentrum für Jüdische Musik (EZJM)

Vous aimerez aussi

Publication de 3 nouvelles œuvres du compositeur Serge Kaufmann

Les Éditions de l'IEMJ publient trois nouvelles compositions de Serge Kaufmann, Ima ou la Mère dépossédée, Dix duos pour 2…

La musique synagogale à Paris à l’époque du premier temple consistorial (1822-1874)

Dans sa thèse désormais disponible en version numérisée, Gérard Ganvert nous livre une étude approfondie de la musique synagogale à…