Jacinta

Author, composer, arranger, actress and singer, Sofia Jacinta Szlechtman was born on September 30, 1950 in Buenos Aires to a Russian-Polish Jewish family. Her maternal grandparents came to Buenos Aires from Khmelnits (Khmelnitsky) around 1920, escaping from pogroms. Her mother was born in Argentina in 1924. Her father was born in Lodz, Poland, in 1921 and arrived in Buenos Aires in 1950, after having traveled through some Latin American countries after the war.

“Yiddish was part of my daily life. First, in my father’s voice, who was singing for me the melodies that his mother was humming to him, in conversations in Yiddish and Spanish with my maternal grandparents, and then at the Yiddish school, where I studied grammar, syntax, literature…” […] At the Yitskhok Leybush Peretz school, part of the ICUF movement, led by the writer and poet Tsalbush Peretz, children were abble to sing the Argentine national anthem and the the national flag melodies in Yiddish adaptations, written by LERER Blitz.”[1]Excerpt from Jacinta’s emails to Hervé Roten, October 8, 2021 and January 18, 2023

At the I.L. Peretz Yiddish School. Jacinta is the 1st in the 3rd row, elementary school

A successful student in elementary school and in Yiddish school, she was noticed by her music teachers and often sang solo on celebrations or during commemorations, such as the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising. At the age of six, she joined a choir and, at twelve, led a small vocal ensemble of Argentine and Yiddish music. But it was Atahualpa Yupanqui, singer of the humiliated peoples of Latin America, who marked Jacinta’s awakening to the instrument that would accompany her on stage: the guitar.

Jacinta 17 years old, touring the Argentinean coastline

In 1977, she meets her future husband, of Spanish origin, in Buenos Aires and follows him to Paris. The following year, she performs at the Avignon Festival in the show Le Chant profond juif (The Deep Jewish Song) by the actress and radio and television producer Eve Griliquez. She performs Judeo-Spanish songs with the ensemble Kol Aviv, the Yiddish singer Talila and the actors Michel de Maulne and Jean-Paul Lahore. The first part of the show is devoted to Judeo-Spanish songs and poetry and Moroccan tales; the second to Yiddish poetry and songs.

 

 

 

Trottoirs de Buenos Aires Club, rue des Lombards, Paris

 

Between 1982 and 1988, she sings regularly at the Trottoirs de Buenos Aires, a mythical Parisian venue dedicated to Argentinean tango. Accompanying herself on the guitar or followed by a pianist, she interprets tango in a personal, tender style, covering Carlos Gardel, Homero Manzi and introducing her own compositions in Spanish, which often refer to her childhood, to her Russian Jewish grandparents, while mentioning the contribution of immigrants to Argentine tango.

 

Success being at the rendezvous, she registers in 1982 at Carrière her first 33 rpm record Tango mi corazón. Two years later, she produces a cassette, Du baroque espagnol au tango, and participates in a tribute to Osvaldo Pugliese, in his presence, at the Bataclan, in Paris.

Jacinta in the show Le Dibouk

In addition, Jacinta performs in the Cinema in a movie by Ulrike Ottinger, Johanna d’Arc of Mongolia, with Delphine Seyrig (1989) and in the theater where she plays in particular in Le Dibbouk, directed by Bernard Djaoui in 1990, or in the review Mortadela by Alfredo Arias (Molière for the best musical show, 1992)

However, Jacinta does not forget her origins. She regularly sings in Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish and Spanish but does not hesitate to explore French songs and perform her own compositions [2]Jacinta has notably set to music two poems by one of her choristers, a friend, Catherine Franck, who died in 2022: Les ateliers de couture and Tissages d’Heun’chy. Between 1986 and 1999, she records two albums of Yiddish songs (Dos Lid fun goldenem Land, cassette, 1986; Autres chansons yiddish, Ocora Radio-France, Cassette and CD, 1992) and a CD of Judeo-Spanish songs (Morenica, Chant du Monde, distribution Harmonia Mundi, 1999). In 2016, the producer Patrick Campistron publishes the CD Ofrecer mi corazón, label Soupir. Jacinta performs titles like “Youkali”, “Poupée de Cire”, South American songs, such as “Te recuerdo Amanda”, “Amapola” and one of her compositions “Sos la noche” with the accordionist David Venitucci.

 

Audio tape – La Chanson du Pays d’Or (The Golden Country Song)

Eager to pass on her passion for singing, Jacinta has been directing the Jacintas Zingers choir since 2001, first with the Association for the Study and Dissemination of Yiddish Culture (AEDCY) and the Maison de la Culture Yiddish (MCY), then at the Cercle Bernard Lazare, and from 2021 at the Medem Center. Her choir members, of all ages, admire her qualities as a teacher and musician-arranger. But beyond this purely musical aspect, she notices that:

“For the elders, Yiddish (Judeo-Spanish for some as well) was the language of a hidden childhood, that of deported parents. And I found myself among these mortified souls singing this forbidden Yiddish to them, making them feel that it was more than a language, but a flavor, a way of life, a joy among so many sorrows…

Another chorister, whose parents were both taken, told me that she had tried to sing in Yiddish, in vain. Only with me did she feel that it was no longer a dead language but the language of the beloved dead, which she was able to rediscover in music, with other people around.

At a private party, award-winning performance

I did not have children, but my choristers, young and old, are “mayne kinder” [my children].”[3]Excerpt of an email from Jacinta to Hervé Roten dated October 8, 2021

Jacinta has been awarded many times for her entire career: Prix Korman [4]The Ydl Korman prize is awarded for all activities in favor of Yiddish culture in all fields, Art, Literature, Sculpture, Music, History, Shoah, etc. since 1986. in 2003, Prix de l’Académie Charles Cros for his CD of rhymes and rounds from Argentina in 2004, and Prix Cukierman [5]The Max Cukierman Prize was founded in 1982 by Roger and Henri Cukierman to perpetuate the memory of their father and his attachment to Yiddish culture in 2008.

Sources:

Links:

In der fintster (Jacinta)
Criador, hasta cuándo (Jacinta)

Sur un saule pleureur (Jacinta)

References
1 Excerpt from Jacinta’s emails to Hervé Roten, October 8, 2021 and January 18, 2023
2 Jacinta has notably set to music two poems by one of her choristers, a friend, Catherine Franck, who died in 2022: Les ateliers de couture and Tissages d’Heun’chy.
3 Excerpt of an email from Jacinta to Hervé Roten dated October 8, 2021
4 The Ydl Korman prize is awarded for all activities in favor of Yiddish culture in all fields, Art, Literature, Sculpture, Music, History, Shoah, etc. since 1986.
5 The Max Cukierman Prize was founded in 1982 by Roger and Henri Cukierman to perpetuate the memory of their father and his attachment to Yiddish culture

You may also like

Jacinta Collection

Deposited at the EIJM in May 2022 by the artist, Jacinta's collection includes some forty photographies, from her youth in…

Jacinta, between Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish songs and tango

In the series " Life courses ", discover the attaching personality of Jacinta, an artist of Argentinian origin who also…

Jacinta, a life in song

Discover a selection of Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish, Argentinean and French songs by Jacinta, an artist with a golden voice

Jacintas Zingers

(Paris, France) A choir directed by Jacinta, with a mainly Yiddish song repertoire, made up of three groups of singers…

Jacinta

Auteure, compositrice, arrangeuse, comédienne et chanteuse, Sofia Jacinta Szlechtman est née le 30 septembre 1950 à Buenos Aires au sein d’une famille juive russo-polonaise. Ses grands-parents maternels fuyant des pogroms sont arrivés de Khmelnits (Khmelnitsky) à Buenos Aires vers 1920. Sa mère est née en Argentine en 1924. Son père est né à Lodz, Pologne, en 1921 et est arrivé à Buenos Aires en 1950, après avoir parcouru après la guerre quelques pays de l’Amérique Latine.

« Le yiddish faisait partie de mon quotidien. Dans la voix de mon père d’abord, qui chantait pour moi les mélodies que sa mère lui fredonnait, dans les conversations en Yiddish et espagnol avec mes grands-parents maternels et à l’école yiddish ensuite, où j’ai étudié grammaire, syntaxe, littérature… » […] À l’école Yitskhok Leybush Peretz, du mouvement ICUF, dirigée par l’écrivain et poète Tsalel Blitz, les enfants chantaient l’hymne national argentin et les mélodies au drapeau national dans des adaptations en yiddish, écrites par le LERER Blitz. »[1]Extrait des mails de Jacinta à Hervé Roten, les 8 octobre 2021 et 18 janvier 2023

A l’école yiddish I.L. Peretz. Jacinta est la 1e au 3e rang, école primaire

Bonne élève à l’école élémentaire ainsi qu’à l’école yiddish, elle est remarquée par les professeurs de musique et chante souvent en solo lors des fêtes de la Patrie ou lors des commémorations, comme celle du soulèvement du Ghetto de Varsovie. Dès l’âge de six ans, elle intègre une chorale et, à douze ans, dirige un petit ensemble vocal de musiques argentine et yiddish. Mais c’est Atahualpa Yupanqui, chantre des peuples humiliés de l’Amérique latine, qui marque l’éveil de Jacinta pour l’instrument qui l’accompagnera sur scène : la guitare.

Jacinta 17 ans, tournée littoral argentin

En 1977, elle rencontre à Buenos Aires son futur mari, d’origine espagnole, et le suit à Paris. L’année suivante, elle se produit au Festival d’Avignon dans le spectacle Le Chant profond juif de la comédienne et productrice de radio et de télévision Eve Griliquez. Elle y interprète notamment des chants judéo-espagnols au côté de l’ensemble Kol Aviv, de la chanteuse yiddish Talila et les comédiens Michel de Maulne et Jean-Paul Lahore. La première partie du spectacle est consacrée à la chanson et la poésie judéo-espagnoles et aux contes marocains ; la seconde aux poésies et chansons yiddish.

 
Club Trottoirs de Buenos Aires, rue des Lombards, Paris

Entre 1982 et 1988, elle chante régulièrement aux Trottoirs de Buenos Aires, une salle mythique parisienne consacrée au tango argentin. S’accompagnant à la guitare ou suivie par un pianiste, elle y interprète le tango dans un style personnel, tendre, en reprenant Carlos Gardel, Homero Manzi et en introduisant ses propres compositions en espagnol, qui font souvent allusion à son enfance, à ses grands-parents juifs russes, tout en mentionnant l’apport  des immigrants au tango argentin.

Le succès étant au rendez-vous, elle enregistre en 1982 chez Carrière son premier disque 33 tours Tango mi corazón. Deux ans plus tard, elle autoproduit une cassette, Du baroque espagnol au tango, et participe à un hommage à Osvaldo Pugliese, en sa présence, au Bataclan, à Paris.

Jacinta dans le spectacle Le Dibouk

Par ailleurs, Jacinta se produit au cinéma dans un film de Ulrike Ottinger, Johanna d’Arc of Mongolia, avec Delphine Seyrig (1989) et au théâtre où elle joue notamment dans Le Dibbouk, dirigé par Bernard Djaoui en 1990, ou encore dans la revue Mortadela de Alfredo Arias (Molière du meilleur spectacle musical, 1992).

Jacinta n’oublie cependant pas ses origines. Elle chante régulièrement en yiddish, judéo-espagnol et espagnol mais n’hésite pas à explorer la chanson française et interpréter ses propres compositions[2]Jacinta a notamment mis en musique deux poèmes d’une de ses choristes, une amie, Catherine Franck, disparue en 2022 : Les ateliers de couture et Tissages d’Heun’chy.. Entre 1986 et 1999, elle enregistre deux albums de chansons yiddish (Dos Lid fun goldenem Land, cassette, 1986 ; Autres chansons yiddish, Ocora Radio-France, Cassette et CD, 1992) et un CD de chants judéo-espagnols (Morenica, Chant du Monde, distribution Harmonia Mundi, 1999). En 2016, le producteur Patrick Campistron publie le CD Ofrecer mi corazón, label Soupir. Jacinta y interprète des titres comme « Youkali », « Poupée de Cire », des chansons Sud-Américaines, comme « Te recuerdo Amanda », « Amapola » et une de ses compositions « Sos la noche » avec l’accordéoniste David Venitucci.

Cassette audio – La Chanson du Pays d’Or

Désireuse de transmettre sa passion pour le chant, Jacinta dirige depuis 2001 la chorale Jacintas Zingers, tout d’abord avec l’Association pour l’étude et la diffusion de la culture yiddish (AEDCY) et la Maison de la Culture Yiddish (MCY), puis au Cercle Bernard Lazare, puis à partir de 2021 au Centre Medem. Ses choristes, de tout âge, admirent ses qualités de pédagogue et de musicienne-arrangeuse. Mais au-delà de cet aspect purement musical, elle constate que :

« Pour les anciens, le yiddish (le judéo-espagnol pour quelques-uns aussi) était la langue d’une enfance cachée, celle des parents déportés. Et je me suis retrouvée entre ces âmes mortifiées en train de leur chanter ce yiddish interdit, de leur faire sentir que c’était plus qu’une langue, mais une saveur, un mode de vie, une joie entre tant de peines…

Une autre choriste dont les deux parents ont été pris, me disait qu’elle avait essayé de chanter en yiddish, en vain. Que seulement avec moi, elle avait senti que ce n’était plus la langue morte mais celle des morts aimés, qu’elle a pu retrouver en musique, avec d’autres gens autour.

Lors d’une fête privée, spectacle primé

Je n’ai pas eu d’enfants, mais mes choristes, jeunes ou âgés, sont “mayne kinder” [mes enfants]. »[3]Extrait d’un mail de Jacinta à Hervé Roten du 8 octobre 2021

Jacinta a été récompensée à de multiples reprises pour l’ensemble de sa carrière : Prix Korman[4]Le prix Ydl Korman est décerné pour toutes activités en faveur de la culture yiddish dans tous les domaines, Art, Littérature, Sculpture, Musique, Histoire, Shoah, etc. depuis 1986. en 2003, Prix de l’Académie Charles Cros pour son CD de comptines et rondes d’Argentine en 2004, et Prix Cukierman[5]Le prix Max Cukierman a été fondé en 1982 par Roger et Henri Cukierman pour perpétuer le souvenir de leur père et son attachement à la culture yiddish. en 2008.

Sources :

Liens :

In der fintster (Jacinta)
Criador, hasta cuándo (Jacinta)

Sur un saule pleureur (Jacinta)

References
1 Extrait des mails de Jacinta à Hervé Roten, les 8 octobre 2021 et 18 janvier 2023
2 Jacinta a notamment mis en musique deux poèmes d’une de ses choristes, une amie, Catherine Franck, disparue en 2022 : Les ateliers de couture et Tissages d’Heun’chy.
3 Extrait d’un mail de Jacinta à Hervé Roten du 8 octobre 2021
4 Le prix Ydl Korman est décerné pour toutes activités en faveur de la culture yiddish dans tous les domaines, Art, Littérature, Sculpture, Musique, Histoire, Shoah, etc. depuis 1986.
5 Le prix Max Cukierman a été fondé en 1982 par Roger et Henri Cukierman pour perpétuer le souvenir de leur père et son attachement à la culture yiddish.

Vous aimerez aussi

Tsuzamen – Sirba Octet

Cet album est un formidable témoignage d’espoir : celui des juifs, des Arméniens, des tziganes dont le Sirba Octet a…

Fonds Jacinta

Déposé à l’IEMJ en mai 2022 par l’artiste, le fonds d’archives de Jacinta comporte une quarantaine de photographies, de sa…

Jacinta, entre chansons yiddish, judéo-espagnole et tango

Dans la série « Parcours de vie », découvrez la personnalité attachante de Jacinta, une interprète d’origine argentine qui chante…

Jacinta, une vie en chanson

Découvrez une sélection de chansons yiddish, judéo-espagnoles, argentines et française de Jacinta, une artiste à la voix d’or