Sefarad in the piano – Toni Costa

Gracia Nasi and the Jewish-Spanish legacy

Inspired by Judeo-Spanish folk poetry, jazz, early music and the popular rhythms of flamenco, this original album features 10 Judeo-Spanish melodies revisited by the pianist Toni Costa.

Born in Barcelona, Toni Costa is a high-level pianist-improviser currently based in Switzerland, where he works as contemporary dance accompanist for the Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Genève.

Fascinated by the history of Spain’s Jews, Tony Costa focused on the life and work of Doña Gracia Nasi (ca 1510 – 1569), a wealthy Marrano who rubbed shoulders with the greatest figures of her time and devoted her life to helping persecuted Jews. Wife of Joseph Francesco Mendes Nasi, who died prematurely in 1536, Gracia Nasi travelled throughout Europe, from Lisbon to Antwerp, London, Venice and Ferrara, before settling in Istanbul in 1553, where she developed commercial activities and played a diplomatic role of international stature in the service of Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent.

When she returned to Judaism, she promoted Jewish culture, built synagogues, yeshivot and libraries, and contributed to the publication of books, notably in Judeo-Spanish, to enable her co-religionists to recover their faith and culture. In 1558, she moved to the Tiberias region to rebuild a home for Jews wishing to settle there. Unfortunately, this initiative was not as successful as expected, and Gracia Nasi died on November 3, 1569 in Istanbul (?) at the age of 59.

Each song on Toni Costa‘s album illustrates a facet or key moment in Doña Gracia Nasi’s life, from her marriage (with the theme song La novia ya salio del mar) to the birth of her daughter (A la una yo naci) or the lullabies she used to sing to her (Durme, durme).

The music on this album is based on Sephardic folk songs revisited in the light of music from the 15th century to the present day, including baroque polyphony, flamenco and jazz. This original blend is brilliantly realized by pianist Toni Costa, who manages to transfer Spanish guitar techniques to his piano.

A wonderful discovery!

Buy the CD (physical or digital) on the IEMJ online store

Access Toni Costa’s YouTube channel

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Léon Algazi (1890-1971), a Jewish music pioneer in France

In the "Life Courses" series, Jacques Algazi (1934-2021) reveals the life of his father, Léon Algazi (1890-1971), a tireless intellectual…

The Hoffman Book

Presented by Susan Watts and edited by Ilana Cravitz, Dr Hankus Netsky and Dr Hannah Ochner, The Hoffman Book is…

Sefarad in the piano – Toni Costa

Gracia Nasi and the Jewish-Spanish legacy

Inspiré par la poésie populaire judéo-espagnole, le jazz, la musique ancienne et les rythmes populaires du flamenco, ce disque original propose 10 mélodies judéo-espagnoles revisitées par le pianiste Toni Costa.

Né à Barcelone, Toni Costa est un pianiste-improvisateur de haut niveau actuellement domicilié en Suisse où il exerce  les fonctions  d’accompagnateur de danse contemporaine du Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Genève.

Passionné par l’histoire des Juifs d’Espagne, Tony Costa s’est intéressé à la vie et à l’œuvre de Doña Gracia Nasi (ca 1510 – 1569), une marrane fortunée qui côtoya les plus grands et consacra sa vie à venir en aide aux juifs persécutés. Epouse de Joseph Francesco Mendes Nasi, mort prématurément en 1536, Gracia Nasi parcourut l’Europe, de Lisbonne à Anvers, Londres, Venise, Ferrare, avant de s’établir en 1553 à Istanbul où elle développa des activités commerciales et joua un rôle diplomatique de dimension internationale au service du sultan Soliman le Magnifique.

Revenue au judaïsme, elle encouragea la culture juive, fit bâtir des synagogues, des yeshivot, des bibliothèques et contribua à l’édition de livres, notamment en judéo-espagnol, afin de permettre à ses coreligionnaires de retrouver leur foi et leur culture. En 1558, elle s’installa dans la région de Tibériade afin de reconstruire un foyer pour les Juifs désireux de s’y installer. Cette initiative n’eut malheureusement pas le succès escompté et Gracia Nasi s’éteignit le 3 novembre 1569 à Istanbul (?) à l’âge de 59 ans.

Chaque chanson du disque de Toni Costa illustre une des facettes ou un des moments-clé de la vie de Doña Gracia Nasi, depuis son mariage (avec le thème de la chanson La novia ya salio del mar) à la naissance de sa fille (A la una yo naci) ou aux berceuses qu’elle lui chantait (Durme, durme).

La musique de cet album est basée sur des chansons populaires séfarades revisitées à l’aune des musiques du 15e siècle à nos jours, en passant notamment par la polyphonie baroque, le flamenco et le Jazz. Ce mélange original est ici réalisé avec brio par le pianiste Toni Costa, qui parvient à transférer sur son piano les techniques de la guitare espagnole.

Une belle découverte !

Acheter le CD (physique ou digital) sur la boutique en ligne de l’IEMJ

Accéder à la chaîne YouTube de Toni Costa

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Sephardic Pizmonim Project

Archives musicales numériques de la communauté séfarade d'Alep

Léon Algazi (1890-1971), un pionnier des musiques juives en France

Dans la série « Parcours de vie », Jacques Algazi (1934-2021) nous dévoile la vie de son père, Léon Algazi…

Heichal Menachem

(New York, Etats-Unis) Site Loubavitch donnant accès à plus de 500 nigounim traditionnels écoutables en ligne !

The Hoffman Book

Présenté par Susan Watts et édité par Ilana Cravitz, Dr Hankus Netsky et Dr Hannah Ochner, The Hoffman Book est…