Jacintas Zingers

Jacintas Zingers is a choir with a mainly Yiddish song repertoire, with the occasional addition of themes in Hebrew, Judeo-Spanish, Greek or French.

Since 2001, it has been directed by the Argentinean singer Jacinta , who is responsible for the selection and harmonization of the songs, the biographical and iconographic research, and the transcription and translation of the texts.

Short history

In 1989, the A.E.D.C.Y. (Association for the Study and Diffusion of Yiddish Culture) established a Yiddish song workshop led by Fanny Amiel. After Fanny’s death, various animators took over, including Jacques Grober from 1997 to 1998.

In 2001, Jacinta became the leader of this amateur vocal group. Her dedication and passion attracted an ever-increasing number of participants (more than 120 singers), so much so that in 2004, she created two other groups with three distinct ways of approaching Yiddish singing:

  • a song workshop,
  • a 2 voice choir,
  • a polyphonic group for which an audition is required as well as attendance.

In 2005, Jacinta moved to the Cercle Bernard Lazare and gave the choir the name Jacinta’s Zingers. In groups of 30 or 40 people, the choir gives numerous concerts in Paris and the Paris region (Hôtel de Ville, Voix sur Berges, Cathédrale Arménienne, Églises Saint-Leu-Saint-Gilles et de Maisons Alfort, Journée des chorales[1]The Meeting of Choirs, under the aegis of Yiddish sans Frontière (Yiddish without Borders), is an initiative of Jacinta, …),and participates in several commemorations for the Memory of the Shoah (Day of the Liberation of Auschwitz, Après-midis de la rue Nélaton, Ceremony for the deported children [organized by the Sons and Daughters of the Jewish Deportees of France, an association created by Serge and Beate Klarsfeld]).

For several years, children’s voices have joined those of the choristers: Jacinta’s Zingers has thus opened up to the children or grandchildren of the choristers, giving the choir an intergenerational dimension.

After almost two years of classes by Zoom during Pandemic, the Jacintas Zingers choir was welcomed in October 2021 at the Medem Arbeter Ring Center, 52 rue René Boulanger, Paris 10e.

Yiddl mitn Fidl (Jacintas Zingers)

References
1 The Meeting of Choirs, under the aegis of Yiddish sans Frontière (Yiddish without Borders), is an initiative of Jacinta

Share:

You may also like

Release of 4 new choral and instrumental scores by Itai Daniel

Itaï Daniel's compositions are deeply inspired by Judaism and its music. Discover four new scores by this composer: a medley…

THE PASSOVER SEDER IN THE  MOROCCAN RITE

In this article, we present the main songs and prayers of the Passover Seder evening, in the Moroccan rite

MAURICE EL MÉDIONI COLLECTION

In 2010, Maurice El Médioni donated several audio documents, concert videos, programmes, press articles and other archives retracing his career…

El Médioni, Maurice (1928-2024)

Pianist, composer, arranger and performer Maurice El Médioni, born in 1928 in Oran (Algeria), was one of the leading figures…

Jacintas Zingers

Le Yiddish au Chœur…

Jacintas Zingers est une chorale avec un répertoire principalement constitué de chansons yiddish, avec l’ajout parfois de thèmes en hébreu, judéo-espagnol, grec ou français.

Elle est dirigée depuis 2001 par la chanteuse d’origine argentine Jacinta qui assure le choix et l’harmonisation des chants, les recherches biographiques et iconographiques ainsi que la transcription et traduction des textes.

Bref historique

En 1989, l’A.E.D.C.Y. (Association pour l’étude et la diffusion de la culture yiddish) constitue un atelier de chansons yiddish animé par Fanny Amiel. Fanny disparue, divers animateurs prennent le relais, parmi lesquels Jacques Grober de 1997 à 1998.

En 2001, Jacinta arrive à la tête de ce groupe vocal amateur. Son investissement et sa passion y attirent un nombre de participants toujours plus important (plus de 120 choristes), si bien qu’en 2004, elle crée deux autres groupes avec trois façons distinctes d’approcher le chant en yiddish :

  • un atelier chansons,
  • une chorale à 2 voix,
  • un groupe polyphonique pour lequel une audition est requise ainsi que de l’assiduité.

En 2005, Jacinta s’installe au Cercle Bernard Lazare et donne à la chorale le nom de Jacinta’s Zingers. Par groupes de 30 ou 40 personnes, la chorale donne de nombreux concerts à Paris et en région parisienne (Hôtel de Ville, Voix sur Berges, Cathédrale Arménienne, Églises Saint-Leu-Saint-Gilles et de Maisons Alfort, Journée des chorales[1]La Rencontre des chorales, sous l’égide de Yiddish sans Frontière, est une initiative de Jacinta., etc.), et participe à plusieurs commémorations pour la Mémoire de la Shoah (Journée de la Libération d’Auschwitz, Après-midis de la rue Nélaton, Cérémonie pour les enfants déportés [organisée par les Fils et Filles des Déportés Juifs de France, association créée par Serge et Beate Klarsfeld]).

Durant plusieurs années, des voix d’enfants se sont mêlées à celles des choristes : Jacinta’s Zingers s’est ainsi ouverte aux enfants ou petits-enfants des choristes, donnant ainsi à la chorale une dimension intergénérationnelle.

Après presque deux ans de cours par Zoom en période de Pandémie, la chorale Jacintas Zingers a été accueillie en octobre 2021 au Centre Medem Arbeter Ring, 52 rue René Boulanger, Paris 10e.

Yiddl mitn Fidl (Jacintas Zingers)

References
1 La Rencontre des chorales, sous l’égide de Yiddish sans Frontière, est une initiative de Jacinta.

Vous aimerez aussi

Tsuzamen – Sirba Octet

Cet album est un formidable témoignage d’espoir : celui des juifs, des Arméniens, des tziganes dont le Sirba Octet a…

Fonds Jacinta

Déposé à l’IEMJ en mai 2022 par l’artiste, le fonds d’archives de Jacinta comporte une quarantaine de photographies, de sa…

Jacinta, entre chansons yiddish, judéo-espagnole et tango

Dans la série « Parcours de vie », découvrez la personnalité attachante de Jacinta, une interprète d’origine argentine qui chante…

Jacinta, une vie en chanson

Découvrez une sélection de chansons yiddish, judéo-espagnoles, argentines et française de Jacinta, une artiste à la voix d’or