Kurt Weill

By Bruno Giner

Bleu nuit éditeur, sept. 2018, 176 p.

This book brings to us the encounter of atonal music from the beginning of the XXth century and the typically American songs with easy listening melodies, long defended and recorded by his wife, but also completely in the fashions at the time.
This biography, enriched by many illustrations and music examples, is the first one published in French for over 15 years.

An American composer of German origin, Kurt Weill (1900-1950) studied composition, couterpoint and orchestra conducting in the Hochschule für Musik of Berlin. In 1920, he worked with Busoni and wrote his first symphony in 1921.
Always looking for a new language that speaks to the widest possible audience, his language blends modern music (atonal, polytonal, jazz…) that we find in his first operas : Der Protagonist, Royal Palace. His first collaboration with Brecht gives birth to the play Mahagonny-Songspiel in 1927. The next year, this work for piano four-hands leads to The Threepenny Opera that revolutionized musical theatre by striking hard on capitalism and the established order.

l_829_couv4_remim_450px_vertic.jpg

Author of a varied and prolific list of works, Weill went into exile in France in 1933 and debuted in Paris several works, such as The Seven Deadly Sins in the Théâtre des Champs Élysées, before finally fleeing the Nazi regime for the USA, where he will become an American citizen and spend the rest of his life.

The author, Bruno Giner*, presents a panorama of the rich musical production of the composer, endowed with a phenomenal capacity of work, in which appear the major and highly coherent themes: pacifism, anti-militarism, satire of dictatorship, critic of capitalism, of materialism and of racial segregation.
His music is largely influenced by variety and American jazz rhythms : Happy End, Silverlake, Railroads, Lady in the Dark, thus creating a bridge between German and American music cultures. He himself largely influenced American musical comedy.

*Bruno Giner is the author of two books in the collection “horizons” : Satie and Entartete Musik in which he already presented Kurt Weill.

Read Kurt Weill’s biography
Listen to the playlist dedicated to Kurt Weill
Listen to the radio broadcast about Kurt Weill with Bruno Giner

Purchase the book

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Kurt Weill

Par Bruno Giner

Bleu nuit éditeur, sept. 2018, 176 p.

Cet ouvrage nous emmène à la rencontre de la musique atonale du début du XXe siècle jusqu’aux chansons typiquement américaines et aux mélodies faciles, longtemps défendues et enregistrées par son épouse, mais encore à la mode car formidablement attachantes.
Cette biographie, complétée de nombreuses illustrations et exemples musicaux, est la première éditée en français depuis plus de quinze ans.

Compositeur américain d’origine allemande, Kurt Weill (1900-1950) étudie à la Hochschule für Musik de Berlin la composition, le contrepoint et la direction d’orchestre. En 1920, il travaille avec Busoni et compose sa première symphonie en 1921.
Toujours à la recherche d’un langage qui s’adresse à un public le plus large possible, son langage mélange les techniques de la musique moderne (atonalité, polytonalité, jazz…) que l’on retrouve dès ses premiers opéras : Der Protagonist, Royal Palace. Sa première collaboration avec Brecht donne naissance à la pièce Mahagonny-Songspiel en 1927. L’année suivante, ce travail à quatre mains débouche sur L’opéra de quat ‘sous qui révolutionne le théâtre musical en tirant à boulets rouges sur le capitalisme et l’ordre établi.

l_829_couv4_remim_450px_vertic.jpgAuteur d’une œuvre protéiforme et prolifique, Weill s’exile en France en 1933 et présente à Paris plusieurs œuvres, dont Les sept péchés capitaux au Théâtre des Champs Élysées, avant de fuir définitivement le régime nazi pour les États-Unis où il passera la fin de sa vie sous la nationalité américaine.

L’auteur, Bruno Giner*, présente un panorama de l’abondante production musicale du compositeur doué d’une capacité de travail phénoménale où apparaît en filigrane les grands thèmes d’une pensée extrêmement cohérente : pacifisme, antimilitarisme, satire de la dictature, critique du capitalisme, du matérialisme et de la ségrégation raciale.
Sa musique est très influencée par la musique de variétés et les rythmes de jazz américain : Happy End, Silverlake, Railroads, Lady in the Dark, faisant ainsi un véritable pont entre les cultures musicales allemande et américaine. Son oeuvre a largement influencé la comédie musicale américaine.

*Bruno Giner a déjà publié deux volumes dans la collection horizons : Satie et Entartete Musik dans lequel il présentait déjà Kurt Weill.

Consulter la biographie consacrée à Kurt Weill
Écouter la playlist dédiée à Kurt Weill
Ecouter l’émission de radio sur Kurt Weill, avec Bruno Giner

Commander le livre

Vous aimerez aussi

Rose en Ciel

Livre-CD. Conte poétique et musical, créé par Mirélè Rozen. Alternance de récits et de chants traditionnels, essentiellement en yiddish, présentés…

Balagan Box : spéciale Jazz N Klezmer, avec Estelle Goldfarb et Cellie

Émission présentée par Laurence Haziza, diffusée sur RADIO SHALOM, le 3 NOVEMBRE 2007. Laurence Haziza reçoit la violoniste Estelle Goldfarb…

Klezmer Attitude : Le groupe “Sha Sha”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 10 MARS 2008. Présentation du groupe…