Jewish Music in Spain

by Jorge Rozemblum

As we know, the Jews were expelled from Spain in 1492, although it is clear that many remained after converting to Catholicism and that some of them continued to practice their faith in secret. We have neither the scores nor sufficient documentation on the music of the Jews during their presence in the Iberian Peninsula, which lasted almost a thousand years: only complaints from some rabbis about the incorporation of melodies from other religious communities (Muslim or Christian) into the devotional songs (piyyutim) that were usually part of the liturgy. During their long absence (or clandestinity), we can find some evidence of the persistence of Spanish Judaism in the accounts of other communities. For example, although the gypsies began to arrive in Spain during the period when the Jews were leaving, a bulería por soleá[1]Bulería for Soleá: Flamenco dance of intermediate rhythm between the “Soleá” and the “Bulería” has remained engraved in the flamenco heritage that makes one shudder because it alludes to the Inquisition’s auto-dafés: “You are like the Jews, you are like the Jews; even if they burn the clothes on your body, do not deny what you have been”[2]Lyrics in Spanish : “Como los judíos tú eres, tú eres como los judíos; aunque te quemen la ropa puesta en el cuerpo, no reniegas de lo que has sío”.

Ceuta et Melilla

From the middle of the 19th century (after the fourth and final abolition of the Inquisition), the Jews returned to Spain in small numbers, most of them from central Europe and who were involved to modern industries such as the railways. But it was in Melilla that a Jewish community of North African Sephardic origin began to settle, bringing with it its rituals and melodies, although these songs did not go beyond the synagogues and the family. One of the first to explore this unknown field was Arcadio de Larrea Palacín (1907-1985), a flamenco musicologist, folklorist and member of the Real Academia de la Lengua (Royal Academy of Language), who visited Melilla and Ceuta, as well as the Spanish Protectorate in Morocco, where he noted several popular melodies. However, his work did not go beyond the academic framework.

Sofía Noel

At the beginning of the 20th century, and especially thanks to the work of Senator Ángel Pulido (1852 – 1932), an emerging feeling of philosemitism developed that led in 1924 to the promulgation of a list of names of Sephardic Jews of Spanish origin that allowed them to obtain Spanish nationality. In 1936, the onset of the Civil War and the triumph of the nationalist camp (supported militarily by anti-Semitic regimes such as the Nazis) broke this momentum of rapprochement for decades. However, during the Second World War, several Jews seeking refuge arrived in Spain, such as the Belgian soprano and musicologist Sophie Heyman (1915 – 2011), daughter of a Sephardic and an Ashkenazi (Jewish from Eastern Europe), who changed her name to Sofía Noel. The presence and talent of the latter inspired the creation of scores claiming the Judeo-Spanish past, signed by composers like Fernando Obradors.  The soprano Sofía Noel was accompanied on the piano by Ricardo Viñes, who trained in Paris the Sephardic pianist Victoria Kamhi (born in Istanbul in 1902 and died in 1997), who married the composer Joaquín Rodrigo (known mainly for his Concierto de Aranjuez).

Joaquín Díaz

After the end of the Protectorate, the independence of Morocco and, especially, the wave of anti-Semitism following the Six Day War in Israel in 1967, many Sephardic Jews from the north of Morocco emigrated to the large Spanish cities (mainly Madrid and Barcelona), bringing with them their religious rites and music, which were practiced mainly in the synagogue and family setting. That same year (1967), the folklorist and musician Joaquín Díaz González toured the United States giving recitals and lectures at universities. He met the founder of the Folkways Records label (Moses Asch), who gave him the record of Sephardic folk songs that he had published in 1959. This record, performed by Gloria Levy, revealed to him an unknown repertoire and language, although strongly linked to his own heritage, which he quickly absorbed. His first records inspired by this tradition (even though they are performed with a pronounced Hispanic character) created the basis for what in Spain is considered, until today, Sephardic music. At the same time, the Israeli musicologist Itzhak (Isaac) Levy (father of the singer Yasmin Levy), born in Manisa (now in Turkey) in 1919 and deceased in 1977, published two important collections of Sephardic music, including both popular Judeo-Spanish music and liturgical songs in Hebrew, which served as references for singers from Spain – and other countries – to approach this repertoire.

Barminan – Joaqin Díaz

These events marked the beginning of the career of singers and groups sometimes entirely dedicated to the Sephardic repertoire. Other artists integrated Judeo-Spanish song into their repertoire along with popular Spanish music. At the same time, an interest in Sephardic music of liturgical and paraliturgical origin in Hebrew began to develop, making repeated use of contrafacta, that is, the substitution of one text for another in vocal music, while preserving the melody. This mechanism reinforced the ideal of a “music of the Three Cultures”, alluding to the supposed coexistence and tolerance between the three monotheistic religions (Christians, Muslims and Jews) in medieval Spain.

Quando Veyi Hija Hermoza – Gloria Levy

As for Jewish music from the non-Hispanic tradition, its impact was less. For example, klezmer music (from the instrumental tradition of East European Jews) is best known among non-Spanish and non-Jewish groups – such as the Polish band Kroke – despite the emergence of a few national initiatives in recent decades, such as the group Klezmer Sefardí (Sephardic Klezmer), which involves musicians from all backgrounds and religions. Other aspects of Jewish music (from the Middle East, for example) are virtually absent from the peninsular scene.

Sun – Kroke (Extract)

Miserlou – Klezmer Sefardi (Extract)

The small percentage of Jews in the Spanish population (about 0.1%) reduces the artistic possibilities of those who today would like to dedicate themselves to some form of Jewish musical expression. Nevertheless, we can find important Jewish names in popular musical genres such as Jorge Drexler, Ariel Rot, Alejo Stivel or Federico Lechner, as well as some representativeness among the performers of classical music, although the most famous national representatives of music identified as Jewish do not belong to the said community.

Jorge Rozemblum, Director of Radio Sefarad and Spanish correspondent of the European network of Jewish music

www.radiosefarad.com

References
1 Bulería for Soleá: Flamenco dance of intermediate rhythm between the “Soleá” and the “Bulería”
2 Lyrics in Spanish : “Como los judíos tú eres, tú eres como los judíos; aunque te quemen la ropa puesta en el cuerpo, no reniegas de lo que has sío”

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Release of 3 new works by the composer Serge Kaufmann

The EIJM’s publishing house is happy to announce the release of 3 new music scores by Serge Kaufmann, Ima ou…

Synagogal music in Paris at the time of the first consistorial temple (1822-1874)

In his thesis, now available in digital version, Gérard Ganvert gives us an indepth study of synagogal music in Paris…

La Musique Juive en Espagne

Par Jorge Rozemblum

Comme nous le savons, les juifs furent expulsés d’Espagne en 1492, même s’il est évident que beaucoup restèrent après s’être convertis au catholicisme et que, parmi eux, certains continuèrent à pratiquer leur foi en cachette. Nous ne possédons ni les partitions, ni assez de documentation sur la musique des juifs pendant leur présence dans la Péninsule Ibérique, qui dura près de mille ans : seulement des plaintes de quelques rabbins au sujet de l’incorporation de mélodies d’autres communautés religieuses (musulmanes ou chrétiennes) dans les chants dévotionnels (piyyutim) qui faisaient partie habituellement de la liturgie. Pendant leur longue

Autodafe Inquisition

absence (ou clandestinité), nous pouvons trouver quelques témoignages sur la persistance du judaïsme espagnol dans les récits d’autres communautés. Par exemple, bien que les gitans aient commencé à arriver en Espagne pendant la période où les juifs s’en allaient, il est resté gravé dans le patrimoine flamenco une bulería por soleá[1]Bulería pour Soleá : Danse flamenca de rythme intermédiaire entre la “Soleá” et la “Bulería”. qui fait frémir parce qu’elle fait allusion aux autodafés de l’Inquisition : “Tu es comme les juifs, tu es comme les juifs ; même s’ils brûlent les vêtements portés sur ton corps, ne renie pas ce que tu as été”.[2]Paroles en espagnol: “Como los judíos tú eres, tú eres como los judíos; aunque te quemen la ropa puesta en el cuerpo, no reniegas de lo que has sío”.

Ceuta et Melilla

Dès le milieu du XIXe siècle (après la quatrième et définitive abolition de l’Inquisition), les juifs sont revenus au compte-goutte en Espagne, la plupart étant originaires d’Europe centrale et liés aux industries modernes comme l’industrie ferroviaire. Mais c’est à Melilla que commença à s’installer une communauté juive d’origine sépharade nord-africaine qui apporta avec elle ses rites et ses mélodies, bien que ces chansons ne sortent pas du cadre des synagogues et de la famille. Un des premiers à avoir exploré ce terrain inconnu a été Arcadio de Larrea Palacín (1907 – 1985), musicologue spécialiste du flamenco, folkloriste et membre de la Real Academia de la Lengua (Académie Royale de la Langue), qui visita Melilla et Ceuta, en plus du Protectorat espagnol au Maroc, où il nota plusieurs mélodies populaires. Cependant, son travail ne dépassa pas le cadre académique.

Sofía Noel

Au début du XXe siècle, et en particulier grâce au travail du sénateur Ángel Pulido (1852 – 1932), se développa un sentiment naissant de philosémitisme qui déboucha en 1924 sur la promulgation d’une liste de noms de juifs sépharades d’origine espagnole permettant d’obtenir la nationalité espagnole. En 1936, le début de la guerre civile et le triomphe du camp nationaliste (soutenu militairement par des régimes antisémites comme le nazisme) cassèrent cet élan de rapprochement pendant des décennies. Cependant, pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, plusieurs juifs cherchant un refuge arrivèrent en Espagne, comme la soprano et musicologue belge Sophie Heyman (1915 – 2011), fille d’un sépharade et d’une ashkénaze (juive originaire d’Europe de l’Est), qui changea son nom pour celui de Sofía Noel. La présence et le talent de cette dernière inspirèrent la création de partitions revendiquant le passé judéo-espagnol, signées par des compositeurs comme Fernando Obradors.  Lors de ses tours de chant, la soprano Sofía Noel était accompagnée au piano par Ricardo Viñes, qui forma à París la pianiste sépharade Victoria Kamhi (née à Istanbul en 1902 et décédée en 1997), laquelle épousa le compositeur Joaquín Rodrigo (connu principalement pour son Concierto de Aranjuez)

Joaquín Díaz

Après la fin du Protectorat, l’indépendance du Maroc et, plus particulièrement, la vague d’antisémitisme suite à la Guerre des Six Jours en Israël en 1967, de nombreux juifs sépharades du nord du Maroc émigrèrent dans les grandes villes espagnoles (principalement Madrid et Barcelone), apportant avec eux leurs rites et leurs musiques religieuses, qui s’exercèrent principalement dans le cadre synagogal et familial. La même année (1967), le folkloriste et musicien Joaquín Díaz González réalisa une tournée de récitals et de conférences dans des universités aux Etats-Unis. Il rencontra ainsi le fondateur du label Folkways Records (Moses Asch), qui lui donna le disque de chansons populaires sépharades qu’il avait édité en 1959. Ce disque interprété par Gloria Levy lui révéla un répertoire et une langue inconnus bien que fortement liés à son propre patrimoine, et dont il s’imprégna rapidement. Ses premiers disques inspirés de cette tradition (même s’ils sont interprétés avec un caractère hispanique prononcé) ont créé les bases de ce qui en Espagne est considéré, jusqu’à aujourd’hui, comme la musique sépharade. Dans le même temps, le musicologue israélien Itzhak (Isaac) Levy (père de la chanteuse Yasmin Levy), né à Manisa (actuellement en Turquie) en 1919 et décédé en 1977, publiait deux importants recueils de musique sépharade comportant aussi bien des musiques populaires judéo-espagnoles que des chants liturgiques en hébreu, qui servirent de références aux chanteurs espagnols – et d’autres pays – pour aborder ce répertoire.

Barminan – Joaqin Díaz

Ces évènements marquèrent le début de la carrière de chanteurs et de groupes parfois entièrement dédiés au répertoire sépharade. D’autres artistes intégrèrent le chant judéo-espagnol dans leur répertoire au côté de musiques populaires espagnoles. En parallèle, un intérêt pour les musiques sépharades d’origine liturgique et paraliturgique en hébreu commença à se développer, faisant appel à plusieurs reprises aux contrafacta, c’est à dire, à la substitution, dans la musique vocale, d’un texte par un autre, tout en conservant la mélodie. Ce mécanisme renforça l’idéal d’une “musique des Trois Cultures”, en faisant allusion à la supposée coexistence et à la tolérance entre les trois religions monothéistes (chrétiens, musulmans ou juifs) dans l’Espagne médiévale.

Quando Veyi Hija Hermoza – Gloria Levy

Quant aux musiques juives de tradition non hispanique, leur impact fut moindre. A titre d’exemple, la musique klezmer (de la tradition instrumentale des juifs d’Europe de l’Est) est plus connue parmi les groupes non espagnols et non juifs – comme les polonais Kroke – malgré l’émergence de quelques initiatives nationales ces dernières décennies comme le groupe Klezmer Sefardí (Klezmer Sépharade) qui fait appel à des musiciens de toute origine et toute religion. D’autres aspects de la musique juive (du Moyen-Orient, par exemple) sont pratiquement absents des scènes péninsulaires.

Sun – Kroke (Extrait)

Miserlou – Klezmer Sefardi (Extrait)

Le faible pourcentage des juifs au sein de la population espagnole (environ 0,1%) réduit les possibilités artistiques de ceux qui aujourd’hui souhaiteraient se dédier à une quelconque forme d’expression musicale juive. Cependant, nous pouvons trouver des noms importants de juifs dans des genres musicaux populaires comme Jorge Drexler, Ariel Rot, Alejo Stivel ou encore Federico Lechner, mais aussi une certaine représentativité parmi les interprètes de musique classique, bien que les représentants nationaux les plus connus des musiques identifiées comme juives ne fassent pas partie de ladite communauté.

Jorge Rozemblum

Directeur de Radio Sefarad et correspondant espagnol du réseau européen des musiques juives

www.radiosefarad.com

References
1 Bulería pour Soleá : Danse flamenca de rythme intermédiaire entre la “Soleá” et la “Bulería”.
2 Paroles en espagnol: “Como los judíos tú eres, tú eres como los judíos; aunque te quemen la ropa puesta en el cuerpo, no reniegas de lo que has sío”.

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Leibu Levin

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2014. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Lenka Lichtenberg

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2013. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…

La playlist orientale de l’été…

Au cours de ce voyage, nous vous invitons à chanter et danser au gré des plus belles voix de ce…

La playlist israélienne de l’été…

Pour vous accompagner tout au long de l’été, voici une sélection des tubes les plus entraînants de la musique israélienne