La source de vie : At the time of the minstrels

FRANCE 2 TELEVISION - Sunday February 15, 2015

A TV program hosted by Josy Eisenberg, directed by Pascale Kenigsberg-Cahen, with the participation of the Od Yossef Haï Foundation. Featuring an excerpt of the concert “Jews and trouvères” performed by the Ensemble Alla Francesca on July 20, 2014, in Paris. With Hervé Roten, ethnomusicologist and director of the European Institute of Jewish Music.

In the Middle Ages, the minstrels songs were highly appreciated by the Jewish communities that were settled in the North of the Loire (Flandre, Picardie, Artois, Champagne …). Thanks to Hebrew manuscripts, copied at the end of the 13th century, we discovered texts of liturgical poems and songs written alternatively in the Oïl language and in Hebrew. At that time, Jews did not how to write music. But the copyist sometimes wrote the title of the melody on which was sung the text in the margin of the manuscript. These titles come from the minstrel’s repertoire, court poets who appeared at the end of the 12th century.

From a collection of songs gathered by Colette Sirat, prominent specialist of medieval Hebrew manuscripts, it’s an entire cultural world -festive, religious and popular – that we discover through surprisingly lively music. The songs from religious celebrations (Rosh Hashanah, Passover…) follow juicy wedding songs and their instrumental dances. The religious poetry (piyyutim) speak with emotion of the tragic fate of Jewish communities of this harsh period, situated between the burning of the Talmud (1242-1244) and the great expulsion of 1306.

This TV show, discussed by musicologist Hervé Roten, is based on a concert by the Ensemble Alla Francesca (Brigitte Lesne, Lior Leibovici, Vivabiancaluna Biffi, Michaël Grébil et Pierre Hamon), Organized by Judith Schlanger, on July 20th 2014, introducing the 10th congress of Jewish studies.

Order the CD Juifs et Trouvères
Read the article on Medieval Jewish Music by Hervé Roten and listen to the playlist
Learn more on the TV show La Source de Vie

Watch other videos of La source de vie

Visionner des extraits de cette émission

You may also like

Soul of Yiddish

Travelling between her love of classical music and the folk repertoire of Eastern Europe, where she finds her roots, Noëmi…

The organ in the Jewish tradition

On May 21, 1856, the conference of the French chief rabbis, presided by the chief rabbi of France Salomon Ulmann…

Conference – The place of the organ in the Jewish tradition – Hervé Roten

Sunday, October 24, 2021 from 2 to 3 pm - LE KARE - Boulogne-Billancourt (92100). Conference on the evolution of…

La source de vie : Au temps des Trouvères

FRANCE 2 TELEVISION - Dimanche 15 février 2015

Une émission de Josy Eisenberg, réalisée par Pascale Kenigsberg-Cahen, avec le concours de la Fondation Od Yossef Haï. Présentation d’un extrait du concert “Juifs et trouvères” donné par l’Ensemble Alla francesca le 20 juillet 2014, à Paris. Avec la participation de Hervé Roten, ethnomusicologue et directeur de l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives

Au Moyen Age, les chansons des trouvères étaient fort appréciées des communautés juives installées au nord de la Loire (Flandre, Picardie, Artois, Champagne …). Des manuscrits hébraïques, copiés à la fin du 13e siècle ont permis de retrouver les textes de poésies liturgiques et de chansons ou alternent la langue d’oïl et l’hébreu. A cette époque, les juifs ne maîtrisaient pas la notation musicale. Mais le copiste a parfois noté dans la marge du parchemin le titre de la mélodie sur laquelle se chantait le texte. Ces titres retrouvés proviennent du répertoire des trouvères, ces poètes de cours qui apparaissent vers la fin du 12e siècle.

A partir d’un corpus de chansons rassemblées par Colette Sirat, éminente spécialiste des manuscrits hébraïques médiévaux, c’est tout un univers culturel – festif, religieux et populaire – qui s’invite au travers de musiques d’une étonnante vitalité. Les chansons des fêtes (Roch Hachana, Pessah…) succèdent aux chants truculents de mariages et leurs danses instrumentales. Les poésies religieuses (piyyoutim) évoquent avec émotion le destin tragique de certaines communautés juives au cours de cette période trouble, qui s’inscrit entre le brûlement du Talmud (1242-1244) et la grande expulsion de 1306.

Cette émission de télévision, commentée par le musicologue Hervé Roten, s’appuie sur un concert de l’ensemble l’Ensemble Alla francesca (Brigitte Lesne, Lior Leibovici, Vivabiancaluna Biffi, Michaël Grébil et Pierre Hamon), organisé par Judith Schlanger, le 20 juillet 2014, en introduction au Xe Congrès des études juives.

Commander le CD Juifs et Trouvères

Consulter l’article Musiques Juives Médiévales par Hervé Roten et écouter la playlist

Voir d’autres émissions de la source de vie en ligne sur notre site

Visionner des extraits de cette émission

Vous aimerez aussi

Rose en Ciel

Livre-CD. Conte poétique et musical, créé par Mirélè Rozen. Alternance de récits et de chants traditionnels, essentiellement en yiddish, présentés…

Balagan Box : spéciale Jazz N Klezmer, avec Estelle Goldfarb et Cellie

Émission présentée par Laurence Haziza, diffusée sur RADIO SHALOM, le 3 NOVEMBRE 2007. Laurence Haziza reçoit la violoniste Estelle Goldfarb…

Klezmer Attitude : Le groupe “Sha Sha”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 10 MARS 2008. Présentation du groupe…