Simchat Torah, 1st part

Celebrated on the 23rd of the month Tishri (on the 22nd in Israel, this ceremony takes place at the same time as Chemini atseret), Simhat Torah (in Hebrew “joy of the Torah”), is a celebration of rabbinic origin that marks the end of the year-long cycle of the weekly readings of the Torah.

This celebration is mentioned neither in the Torah neither in the Talmud, and we can think that this celebration was unknown before the time of the geonim (IXth century), that started the yearly cycle of the Reading of the Law. Earlier, the reading of the Torah in Israel followed a three-year cycle, (the Torah was divided in 154 reading sections, 167 or 141).

It seems that Simhat Torah was celebrated since the Middle-Ages, without the usual restrictions of the celebration days. Therefore, it was allowed to light candles in some communities, and furthermore to express joy by singing and dancing inside the synagogues.

Simhat Torah is therefore a happy holiday (yes, this exist in Judaism!) that follows the terrible days (yamim noraim). This fervor and joy that marks the end of the solemn celebrations of Tishri, is expressed particularly in the tradition of the hakafot: each Torah scroll is taken out of the holy arch and carried by the worshippers who turn seven times around the bimah (the reading platform) in a joyous procession. Each procession is separated by different songs and dances, where the other worshippers join the Torah bearers, in an atmosphere of joy and religious enthusiasm.

On the next morning, the worshippers read the last chapter of the Pentateuch. The last section is reserved to someone who the community wishes to honor. He is called hatan Torah (groom of the Torah). After this solemn reading of the conclusion of the Torah, a second scroll is opened in order to immediately start the new cycle of the new year « Berechit bara Elohim et hachamayim ve’et haarets ». This is why the person who reads this first section of Genesis is called hatan Berechit.

In Israel, it is traditional to organize the “second” hakafot during the night that follows Simhat Torah, outside the synagogues. At that occasion, the processions are often accompanied with orchestras and choirs. By the Hassidim, Simhat Torah is also the occasion for intense festivities where music and dance (often circle dances which represent the perpetual renewal) are omnipresent.

Listen to the playlist Simchat Torah, 2nd part

doc_1_simhat_torah_500ps.jpg

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Simhat Torah 1

Fêtée le 23 tichri (le 22 en Israël, cette fête se confondant avec Chemini atseret), Simhat Torah (en hébreu « joie de la Torah »), est une fête d’origine rabbinique qui marque la fin du cycle annuel des lectures hebdomadaires de la Torah

Cette fête n’est mentionnée ni dans la Torah ni dans le Talmud et on a tout lieu de penser qu’elle était inconnue avant l’époque des geonim (IXe siècle), qui institua le cycle annuel de la Lecture de la Loi universellement admis désormais. Auparavant, la lecture de la Torah en Israël suivait un cycle triennal (la Torah était alors divisée soit en 154 sections de lecture, soit en 167 ou encore en 141).

Il semblerait que Simhat Torah ait été observé dès le Moyen Age sans les restrictions habituelles propres aux jours de fêtes. Il était ainsi permis d’allumer des flambeaux dans certaines communautés, et surtout de manifester sa joie par le chant et la danse à l’intérieur même des synagogues.

Simhat Torah est donc une fête joyeuse (cela existe dans le judaïsme !) qui succède aux jours terribles (yamim noraïm) qui l’ont précédée. Cette ferveur et cette joie qui marque la clôture des fêtes solennelles de Tichri s’exprime notamment dans la coutume des hakafot : tous les rouleaux de Torah sont extraits de l’arche sainte et portés par les fidèles qui tournent sept fois autour de la bimah (estrade de lecture) en joyeuse procession. Chacune de ces sept processions est séparée de celle qui la suit par de nombreux chants et danses où ceux qui portent les rouleaux sont rejoints par les autres fidèles dans une atmosphère de joie et d’enthousiasme religieux.

Le lendemain matin, les fidèles lisent le dernier chapitre du Pentateuque. La dernière section est réservée à un fidèle que la communauté souhaite honorer. Ce fidèle est appelé hatan Torah (fiancé de la Torah). Après cette lecture solennelle de conclusion de la Torah, un second rouleau est ouvert afin d’enchaîner immédiatement le cycle de lecture de l’année nouvelle « Berechit bara Elohim et hachamayim ve’et haarets ». C’est pour cette raison que la personne à qui on confie le rôle honorifique de lire cette première section de la Genèse est qualifié de hatan Berechit.

En Israël, il est de coutume d’organiser hors des synagogues des « secondes » hakafot » dans la nuit qui suit Simhat Torah. A cette occasion, les cortèges sont fréquemment accompagnés d’orchestre et de chorales. Chez les hassidim, la fête de Simhat Torah donne également lieu à d’intenses réjouissances où la musique et les danses (souvent des rondes qui symbolisent l’éternel recommencement) sont omniprésentes.

Ecouter la playlist 2

doc_1_simhat_torah_500ps.jpg

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…