Zimet, Ben (1935)

Ben Zimet, a native of Canada with a Jewish-Polish origin, is a Yiddish singer and story teller who lived for a long time in France.

After his youth spent in America, Ben Zimet settled in Paris, where he started performing on stage with the piano and accordion player Eddy Schaff, in 1973, in the famous Parisian café-théâtre La Vieille Grille. Later on, he presented his « Songs and Tales from the Yiddishland » all over the world.

Since then, Ben Zimet has performed many years on stage. He played in the Théâtre de la Ville de Paris and in the Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord. He participated in many international festivals of music and story telling. He also created the « Yiddish Cabaret », a show of music and theatre, in the Centre Pompidou of Paris, and initiated the first international festival of Yiddish culture, also in Centre Pompidou.

Ben Zimet recorded many discs, alone or with the singer Talila, who was his partner. He played in several movies, such as « Meetings with Remarkable Men » by Peter Brook, and more recently, « Swing » by Tony Gatlif, a tribute film to Gypsy music.

Browse our archives on Ben Zimet

You may also like

Thieves of Dreams – Zloději snů

Upon the recent passing of her mother, Lenka discovered two tattered notebooks of hand-written poetry that her grandmother, Anna Hana…

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Leibu Levin

RADIO PROGRAM hosted by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2014. In this program, Hélène Engel presents two…

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Lenka Lichtenberg

RADIO PROGRAM presented by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2013. In this program, Hélène Engel presents the…

Zimet, Ben (1935)

Ben Zimet est un chanteur et conteur yiddish de nationalité canadienne, d’origine juive polonaise, qui a longtemps vécu en France. Il navigue actuellement entre Paris et Dakar.

Après des années de jeunesse passées en Amérique, Ben Zimet s’est installé à Paris, où il a fait ses débuts sur scène avec le grand pianiste et accordéoniste Eddy Schaff, en 1973, au célèbre café-théâtre parisien La Vieille Grille. Plus tard, il a présenté ses « Chants et Contes du Yiddishland » dans le monde entier.

Ben Zimet se produit depuis de nombreuses années sur scène. On l’a vu notamment au Théâtre de la Ville de Paris et au Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord. Il a participé à de nombreux festivals internationaux de musique et de contes. Il a également créé le « Yiddish Cabaret », spectacle de théâtre musical, au Centre Pompidou de Paris, et initié le premier Festival International de la Culture Yiddish, également au Centre Pompidou.

Ben Zimet a enregistré de nombreux disques, seul ou en compagnie de la chanteuse Talila, qui fut sa compagne. Il a joué dans plusieurs films, dont les « Rencontres avec des hommes remarquables » de Peter Brook, et plus récemment, « Swing » de Tony Gatlif qui se veut un hommage à la musique tsigane.

Consulter nos archives sur Ben Zimet

Vous aimerez aussi

Oras Dezaoradas – Lily Henley

Dans ce CD, la chanteuse et violoniste américaine Lily Henley revisite les chants judéo-espagnols de son enfance, forte de son…

Fonds Peyrotte

Arrivé mystérieusement par la poste le 24 janvier 2022, ce fonds de 42 partitions manuscrites des années 1920 provenant de…

François Meïmoun, Kaddish, pour mezzo & quatuor à cordes

La partition de son Kaddish pour mezzo-soprano et quatuor à cordes, éditée aux Editions de l’IEMJ a été donné en…