Canti del Tempio Maggiore di Roma (I tomo)

Couv Canti del Tempio Maggiore

Songs of the Great Temple of Rome (Volume I)

By Pasquale Troìa[1]Pasquale Troìa is Professor of Bible and Music at the ISSR Mater Ecclesiae and at the Pontifical University of St Thomas Aquinas, Angelicum, Rome., Alberto Funaro, Claudio Di Segni, Angelo Spizzichino

Gangemi Editore International, Dec 9, 2021, 192 p. and 1 CD-ROM

The first of two volumes dedicated to the heritage of liturgical chants of the Jewish community of Rome, this work by Pasquale Troia studies for the first time the musical manuscripts of the Historical Archives of the Jewish Community of Rome. These archives contain mainly scores representative of the traditions of the five historical synagogues of Rome (Cinque Scole): two synagogues were destined for immigrants from Spain in 1492 (Scola Catalana and Scola Castigliana), one for those from Sicily (Scola Siciliana), and two others for the Jews already present in Rome at the time of these migrations and before the creation of the Ghetto in 1555 (Scola Tempio and Scola Nova). The archives of the Jewish community of Rome also contain manuscript scores composed by Jewish and non-Jewish musicians since July 27, 1904, the date of the inauguration of the Great Temple of Rome (Tempio Maggiore). These musical manuscripts tell the story of the religious, historical and cultural identity of Roman Jews. The book is accompanied by a CD-ROM containing a representative sample of these liturgical songs performed by the Tempio Maggiore Choir of Rome, directed by Claudio Di Segni, with the participation of the cantor Rav Avraham Alberto Funaro and Angelo Spizzichino, organist of the Temple. The songs are presented in the original Hebrew text, translated and “accompanied” by biblical, liturgical and musical comments.

There are also transcripts of interviews with Rav Funaro, Maestro Di Segni and Maestro Spizzichino, which give us a better understanding of the function of the Chazan (cantor), the choirmaster and the organist during the daily prayers, the prayers of the festivals and the events that mark the history of the Roman Jewish community.

In the second volume, these liturgical chants and their performers will be further documented. The biographies of the choirmasters of the Tempio Maggiore will be presented, as well as an index of the most performed chants, with their context of performance in the cycle of the liturgical year. There will also be “historical” and contemporary recordings. There will be photographs of the Choir and of some of the events and concerts in which it has participated, a presentation of the Temple organ and a first survey of the presence or absence of organs or harmoniums in the main Italian synagogues. The whole will be accompanied by an important bibliography and an “atlas” of more than four hundred liturgical, biblical, musical, ritual and cultural terms which will enable us to understand and enhance the heritage of Jewish liturgical songs, especially those of Rome.

Purchase the book

Browse the archives from Pasquale Troìa

References
1 Pasquale Troìa is Professor of Bible and Music at the ISSR Mater Ecclesiae and at the Pontifical University of St Thomas Aquinas, Angelicum, Rome.

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Leibu Levin

RADIO PROGRAM hosted by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2014. In this program, Hélène Engel presents two…

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Lenka Lichtenberg

RADIO PROGRAM presented by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2013. In this program, Hélène Engel presents the…

Canti del Tempio Maggiore di Roma (I tomo)

Couv Canti del Tempio Maggiore

Chants du Grand Temple de Rome (Volume I)

Par Pasquale Troìa[1]Pasquale Troìa est Professeur de Bible et de Musique à l’ISSR Mater Ecclesiae et à l’Université Pontifical de Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin, Angelicum, Rome., Alberto Funaro, Claudio Di Segni, Angelo Spizzichino

Gangemi Editore International, 9 déc. 2021, 192 p. et 1 CD-ROM

Premier tome de deux volumes consacrés au patrimoine des chants liturgiques de la communauté juive de Rome, cet ouvrage de Pasquale Troia étudie pour la première fois les manuscrits musicaux des Archives historiques de la Communauté juive de Rome. Ces archives contiennent essentiellement des partitions représentatives des traditions des cinq synagogues historiques de Rome (Cinque Scole) : deux synagogues étaient destinées aux immigrants venus d’Espagne en 1492 (Scola Catalana et Scola Castigliana), une à ceux venus de Sicile (Scola Siciliana), et deux autres aux Juifs déjà présent à Rome au moment de ces migrations et avant la création du Ghetto en 1555 (Scola Tempio et Scola Nova). On trouve également dans les archives de la communauté juive de Rome des partitions manuscrites composées par des musiciens juifs et non-juifs depuis le 27 juillet 1904, date de l’inauguration du Grand Temple de Rome (Tempio Maggiore). Ces manuscrits musicaux racontent l’identité religieuse, historique et culturelle des Juifs romains. Ce livre s’accompagne d’un CD-ROM contenant un échantillon représentatif de ces chants liturgiques interprétés par le Chœur du Tempio Maggiore de Rome, dirigé par Claudio Di Segni, avec la participation du chantre rav Avraham Alberto Funaro et de Angelo Spizzichino, organiste du Temple. Les chants sont présentés dans le texte original en hébreu, traduits et “accompagnés” de commentaires bibliques, liturgiques et musicaux.

On y trouve également la transcription d’entretiens avec le rav Funaro, le Maestro Di Segni et le Maestro Spizzichino, qui nous permettent de mieux comprendre la fonction du hazzan, du chef de chœur et de l’organiste pendant les prières quotidiennes, les prières des fêtes et des événements qui marquent l’histoire de la communauté juive romaine.

Dans le second volume, ces chants liturgiques et leurs interprètes seront davantage documentés. Les biographies des chefs de chœur du Tempio Maggiore seront présentées, ainsi qu’un index des chants les plus joués, avec leur contexte d’exécution dans le cycle de l’année liturgique. On trouvera également des enregistrements “historiques” et contemporains. Il y aura également des photographies du Chœur et de certains événements et concerts auquel il a participé, une présentation de l’orgue du Temple ainsi qu’un premier état des lieux sur la présence ou l’absence d’orgues ou d’harmoniums dans les principales synagogues italiennes. Le tout sera accompagné d’une importante bibliographie et d’un “atlas” de plus de quatre cents termes liturgiques, bibliques, musicaux, rituels et culturels qui nous permettront de comprendre et de valoriser le patrimoine des chants liturgiques juifs, notamment ceux de Rome.

Commander le livre

Consulter le fonds d’archives Pasquale Troìa

References
1 Pasquale Troìa est Professeur de Bible et de Musique à l’ISSR Mater Ecclesiae et à l’Université Pontifical de Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin, Angelicum, Rome.

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Oras Dezaoradas – Lily Henley

Dans ce CD, la chanteuse et violoniste américaine Lily Henley revisite les chants judéo-espagnols de son enfance, forte de son…

Fonds Peyrotte

Arrivé mystérieusement par la poste le 24 janvier 2022, ce fonds de 42 partitions manuscrites des années 1920 provenant de…

François Meïmoun, Kaddish, pour mezzo & quatuor à cordes

La partition de son Kaddish pour mezzo-soprano et quatuor à cordes, éditée aux Editions de l’IEMJ a été donné en…