Sefardi songs of the former Ottoman Empire / Romances sefardies

Françoise Atlan

Released in 2015, Aman! Sefarad…, by Françoise Atlan and the ensemble En Chordais, gathers 15 tracks of Sefardi music from various Jewish communities, from the Eastern Mediterranean Sea to the Balkans.

For this new production specifically inspired by Salonika and Istanbul, Françoise Atlan, Kyriakos Kalaïdjidis and the ensemble En Chordais have replaced the Sephardi music forms of the various Balkan and Eastern Mediterranean Jewish communities in their historical, geographical and cultural context, highlighting the influences of a non-Jewish musical environment on the Jewish musical heritage and showing us how this unique heritage intertwines with the weft of history and the various paths of exiles taken by these communities. The main genres of the Jewish-Spanish repertoire are featured here: romances (medieval ballads), coplas (religious Judaic songs), kantigas (daily life songs) and piyyutim (plural of piyyut – liturgical poems/songs).

romances._redim2.jpgAlso in the EIJM’s collections, and to celebrate the 25 year anniversary of Françoise Atlan’s musical carrier, Buda Musique republished her first three CD’s in a double album entitled «Romances Sefardies», with over 2h30 of music.

These two CD’s are now available in the EIJM’s online shop!

Learn more about Françoise Atlan
Watch excerpts of Françoise Atlan’s concert during the 2018 edition of the European Institute for Jewish Music’s gala concert

 

Order the CD Aman! Sefarad… Sefardi songs of the former Ottoman Empire on the EIJM’s online shop

 

Order the double album Romances Séfardies on the EIJM’s online shop

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

HEVENU SHALOM ALEKHEM N° 1 – 2 – 3

The EIJM publishing house releases a three new scores' collection by Itaï Daniel around the traditional song Hevenu Shalom Alekhem

Chants séfarades de l’ex-Empire ottoman / Romances séfardies

Françoise Atlan

Sorti en 2015 chez Buda Musique, l’album Aman! Sefarad…, réalisé par Françoise Atlan avec l’ensemble En Chordais, réunit 15 titres de musiques séfarades des diverses communautés juives de la Méditerranée orientale et des Balkans

En replaçant dans leur contexte historique, géographique et culturel les musiques séfarades des diverses communautés juives de la Méditerranée orientale et des Balkans, en soulignant la question des influences de la musique de l’environnement non-juif sur le patrimoine musical juif, Françoise Atlan et l’ensemble En Chordais nous montrent comment ce patrimoine musical unique s’imbrique dans la trame de l’histoire et des chemins d’exil de ces communautés, dans un programme spécifiquement inspiré de Salonique (l’ancienne Thessalonique) et d’Istanbul. On y retrouve les principaux genres du répertoire judéo-espagnol : romances (ballades médiévales), coplas (chants à caractère religieux hébraïques) et kantigas (chants de la vie quotidienne) ou piyyut (poèmes/chants liturgiques).

romances._redim2.jpgEgalement dans les collections de l’IEMJ, et pour fêter les 25 ans de carrière de Françoise Atlan, Buda Musique a réédité ses trois premiers CDs dans un double album intitulé «Romances Sefardies», soit plus de 2h30 de musique.

Ces deux CDs sont désormais disponibles dans la boutique de l’IEMJ!

En savoir plus sur Françoise Atlan
Regardez des extraits du concert de Françoise Atlan lors du Gala 2018 de l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives

Commander le CD Aman! Sefarad… Chants séfarades de l’ex-Empire ottoman sur la boutique de l’IEMJ

Commander le double album Romances Séfardies sur la boutique de l’IEMJ

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

La playlist orientale de l’été…

Au cours de ce voyage, nous vous invitons à chanter et danser au gré des plus belles voix de ce…

La playlist israélienne de l’été…

Pour vous accompagner tout au long de l’été, voici une sélection des tubes les plus entraînants de la musique israélienne

La Musique Juive en Espagne

Article sur la situation historique de la Musique Juive en Espagne, par Jorge Rozemblum, directeur de Radio Sefarad et correspondant…