Lecture : Discovering Jewish Music

December 7, 2016, Medem Center Arbeter Ring

A filmed lecture, in the Medem Center, on December 7, 2016
Introduction to Jewish music, by the ethnomusicologist Hervé Roten.

Mysterious and captivating, Jewish music expresses the soul of a people who spent the major part of its existence in exile. In the beginning, antique Hebrew music was rooted in Sumerian, Babylonian, Assyrian and Egyptian music. Between the 4th century before J.C. and the 1st century of the Christian era, Judea endured the cultural influence of Greek and Roman civilizations, reflected by the names of the Greek instruments in the book of Daniel.

After the destruction of the Temple (70 after J.C.) and the beginning of the diaspora (130 after J.C.), the synagogue became the center of Jewish life. The transition from the sacrificial ritual to the prayer took away the music instruments for the worship and established the singing as the main vehicle of faith. The second half of the first millennium saw the emergence of the religious poetry (piyyutim), the writing of the biblical cantillation (te’amim) and the confirmation of the cantor’s role (hazzan) as keeper of the local traditions (minhagim).

The second millennium strengthened the rise of a rich and plural musical practice. Music took then a certain distance from the text: it evolved and got a certain independence. During the Middle-Ages and the Renaissance, several writings mentioned the presence of Jewish artists or composers, from which the music is lost today, due to the absence of notation. It’s in the 16th century, and especially in the 18th and 19th centuries that the first musical notations appeared. In the beginning of the 20th century, various ethnographic expeditions in Europe and in North Africa allowed to note several traditional Jewish music pieces and to record fragments of musical traditions that would, for some of them, disappear during the Holocaust.

Nowadays, the Jewish musical panel is more than ever subject to an accelerating process of evolution and mutation.

This conference, illustrated with many audiovisual examples, makes us travel through 3.700 years of Jewish music…

Lecture “Discovering Jewish Music

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

A la découverte des musiques juives

7 décembre 2016, Centre Medem-Arbeter Ring

Conférence filmée de Hervé Roten, au Centre Medem, le 7 décembre 2016

Mystérieuses et envoûtantes, les musiques juives expriment l’âme d’un peuple qui a passé la majeure partie de son existence en exil. A l’origine, la musique hébraïque antique puise ses racines dans les musiques sumériennes, babyloniennes, assyriennes et égyptiennes. Entre le 4e siècle avant J.C. et le 1er siècle de l’E.C., la Judée subit l’influence culturelle des civilisations grecques et romaines, comme en témoignent les noms d’instruments grecs qui figurent dans le livre de Daniel.

Après la destruction du Temple (70 ap. J.C.) et le début de la diaspora (130 ap. J.C.), la synagogue devient le centre de la vie juive. Le passage du culte sacrificiel à la prière écarte les instruments de musique de la liturgie et institue le chant comme principal vecteur de la foi. La seconde moitié du premier millénaire voit l’émergence de la poésie religieuse (piyyoutim), la mise par écrit d’un système de cantillation biblique (les te’amim) et l’affirmation du rôle du chantre (hazzan) comme gardien de traditions locales (minhagim).

Le second millénaire ne fait que renforcer l’essor d’une pratique musicale riche et plurielle. La musique prend alors de la distance par rapport au texte ; elle s’émancipe et acquiert une certaine autonomie. Durant le Moyen-âge et la Renaissance, différents écrits mentionnent la présence d’artistes ou de compositeurs juifs, dont la musique – faute de notation – ne nous est pas parvenue. Il faut attendre le 16e siècle, et surtout les 18e et 19e siècles, pour qu’apparaissent enfin les premières notations de musiques juives. Au début du 20e siècle, quelques expéditions ethnographiques en Europe et en Afrique du Nord permettent de noter certaines musiques traditionnelles juives et d’enregistrer des bribes de traditions musicales qui, pour certaines, vont disparaître dans les affres de la Shoah.

Aujourd’hui le paysage musical juif est plus que jamais soumis à un processus accéléré d’évolution et de mutation.

Cette conférence, illustrée par de nombreux exemples sonores et audiovisuels, permettra de parcourir 3.700 ans de musiques juives…

Conférence “A la découverte des musiques juives

Vous aimerez aussi

Thieves of Dreams – Zloději snů

Lors du décès récent de sa mère, Lenka Lichtenberg découvre deux cahiers en lambeaux contenant des poèmes écrits à la…

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Leibu Levin

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2014. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Lenka Lichtenberg

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2013. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…