Prayers to the tune of La Marseillaise!

by Hervé Roten

The Jewish liturgy is full of surprises! In 1993, while I was coordinating the activities of the Yuval Association for the preservation of Jewish musical traditions, under the direction of the musicologist Israel Adler, I was contacted by the producer of France Culture, Marie-Dominique Arrighi, who was preparing a series of radio programs on the theme of integration and the acquisition of French nationality[1]The four weekly Nuits magnétiques programs by Marie-Dominique Arrighi on the theme of “Becoming French” were broadcast on France Culture from April 20, 1993..

During an interview with Professor Ady Steg, President of the Alliance Israélite Universelle, the latter had told her that the emancipation of Eastern European Jews had been achieved thanks to the French Revolution and the Napoleonic conquests. The Orthodox and Hasidic Jews, then free to express their faith outside the ghettos, would have paid tribute to their liberators by using the music of the Marseillaise to sing some of their prayers.

Rouget de Lisle singing the Marseillaise for the first time (painting by Isidore Pils, 1849)

Although there are several Napoleonic marches in Hasidic music, I had never encountered a tune as emblematic as the Marseillaise before. After an investigation in the Paris Lubavitch circles, it appeared that a Shabbat morning piyyut, Haaderet vehaemuna, was indeed sung to the first part of the Marseillaise melody! Intrigued by this unorthodox borrowing, I asked my informant about the origin of this tune. According to him, its introduction in the liturgy was relatively recent, but he could not give me more details.

I then contacted the Jerusalem Lubavitch community through Israel Adler, Yaakov Mazor and Gila Flam, the current director of the Israel National Sound Archives. After a short investigation, they were able to obtain the following explanations. In 1973, when the Habad movement was still not very widespread in France, a hundred or so French Jews went to the Rebbe of Lubavitch in New York for the High Holidays. The Rebbe, who knew France particularly well because he had studied there for several years at the Sorbonne, gave them a very warm welcome. And during the hakafot (processions) of Simhat Torah, he gathered them around him and began to sing the Haaderet Vehaemuna prayer to the tune of the Marseillaise. The French worshippers couldn’t believe their ears, but they realized that the Rebbe was indeed singing the Marseillaise! They joined in the Rebbe’s singing with even greater joy. Immediately after the hakafot, many groups of Chassidim gathered around one of the Frenchmen who was standing in the center, teaching the Marseillaise to those who wanted to learn this new niggun. The singing and dancing increased in the Rebbe’s house, and soon the singing spread to the surrounding streets throughout the night, as more and more people joined in the endless dancing.

Audio 1: The Marseillaise sung by the Lubavitch. Excerpt from the program Nuits magnétiques by Marie-Dominique Arrighi broadcast on France Culture on April 20, 1993

Thus, since 1973, the piyyut Haaderet vehaemuna has been sung on Saturday mornings and holidays to the tune of the Marseillaise. The Rebbe later justified his decision by pointing out that the Lubavitcher hymn Ufarazta (You shall spread; Genesis 28:14) corresponded closely to the anagram of the word Tsarfat, which means “France” in Hebrew. These two terms were thus in deep and harmonious relationship. Moreover, according to the Gematria (a numerological process for interpreting Hebrew texts), the total of their letters is 770… a number that corresponds to the number of the Rebbe’s house in New York (770 Eastern Parkway, Brooklyn)!

Audio 2: Ufarazta, Hymn of the Lubavitch

Djerba, Synagogue of La Ghriba – September 1994 (© H Roten)

To hear the Lubavitch sing the Marseillaise in Hebrew is a paradox, particularly since the founder of the Habad movement, Rabbi Schneur Zalman of Lyadi (1745-1813) – spiritual grandson of the Baal Shem Tov – had deliberately sided with the Russians against the Napoleonic invasions, which he considered dangerous for Orthodox Judaism. On the other hand, the warlike lyrics of this hymn did not really predispose it to accompany the singing of a prayer. But for the Hasidim, every melody, whether it be the most impure or the most banal, contains a divine spark that can be released by the devequt[2]A statement of total adherence to God in all acts of daily life..

This investigation into the use of the Marseillaise melody in prayers revealed the existence of a second recording from the island of Djerba (Tunisia). Following a visit by French officials to the island, the Jewish community honored their hosts by singing their national anthem. The tune was then remembered and served as the musical basis for a piyyut that is still sung today at services. The oriental intonation has been interwoven with the original tune, which gives this Marseillaise an original and surprising aspect.

Audio 3: Djerbian Piyyout sung in Arabic to the tune of La Marseillaise

Finally, recently, my friend Joël Rochard, President of the Cercle Bernard Lazare (Paris), sent me an e-mail entitled Rouget de Lisle au secours d’Ibn Gabirol. He explained that “his grandson Samuel, 11 years old, was struggling to learn the Adon Olam prayer. I explained to him that this liturgical poem can be sung to various melodies. Everyone can choose the tune they want.

I suggested the Marseillaise. He liked the idea.

An hour later he knew Adon Olam by heart.

I must admit that I tried to do the same. It works perfectly!

Consult other documents on the Marseillaise in our collections

 

Watch a video excerpt of the Marseillaise sung by Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneerson and his followers

Watch a video excerpt “Why do the Lubavitch sing the Marseillaise every Saturday morning?”

References
1 The four weekly Nuits magnétiques programs by Marie-Dominique Arrighi on the theme of “Becoming French” were broadcast on France Culture from April 20, 1993.
2 A statement of total adherence to God in all acts of daily life.

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Release of 3 new works by the composer Serge Kaufmann

The EIJM’s publishing house is happy to announce the release of 3 new music scores by Serge Kaufmann, Ima ou…

Synagogal music in Paris at the time of the first consistorial temple (1822-1874)

In his thesis, now available in digital version, Gérard Ganvert gives us an indepth study of synagogal music in Paris…

KALARASH – KLEZMER MUSIC, YIDDISH AND FRENCH SONGS

This 8th CD of the Discovery Collection gathers klezmer music, Yiddish and French songs by Kalarash, a French group that…

Des prières sur l’air de La Marseillaise !

par Hervé Roten

La liturgie juive recèle décidemment bien des surprises ! En 1993, alors que je coordonnais les activités de l’association Yuval pour la préservation des traditions musicales juives, sous la direction du musicologue Israël Adler, je fus contacté par la productrice de France Culture Marie-Dominique Arrighi, qui préparait une série d’émissions de radio autour du thème de l’intégration et de l’acquisition de la nationalité française[1]Les quatre émissions hebdomadaires Nuits magnétiques de Marie-Dominique Arrighi sur le thème « Devenir français ? » ont été diffusées sur France Culture à partir du 20 avril 1993..

Lors d’un entretien avec le professeur Ady Steg, Président de l’Alliance Israélite Universelle, ce dernier lui avait affirmé que l’émancipation des Juifs d’Europe orientale avait pu se réaliser grâce à la Révolution française et aux conquêtes napoléoniennes. Les Juifs orthodoxes et hassidiques, alors libres de pouvoir exprimer leur foi en dehors des ghettos, auraient rendu hommage à leurs libérateurs en utilisant notamment la musique de la Marseillaise pour chanter certaines de leurs prières.

Rouget de Lisle chantant la Marseillaise pour la 1ere fois (peinture d’Isidore Pils, 1849)

S’il est vrai que la musique hassidique recense un certain nombre de marches napoléoniennes, je n’avais jusqu’alors jamais rencontré un air aussi emblématique que la Marseillaise. Après une enquête effectuée dans les milieux loubavitch de Paris, il s’avéra qu’un piyyout du matin de Shabbat, Haadéret vehaémouna, était effectivement chanté sur la première partie de la mélodie de la Marseillaise ! Intrigué par cet emprunt peu “orthodoxe”, j’interrogeais mon informateur sur la provenance de cet air. Selon ses dires, son introduction dans la liturgie était relativement récente, mais il ne put me donner plus de détails.

Je m’adressais alors à la communauté loubavitch de Jérusalem par l’intermédiaire d’Israël Adler, de Yaakov Mazor et de Gila Flam, actuelle directrice de la phonothèque nationale d’Israël. Après une courte enquête, ceux-ci purent obtenir les explications suivantes. En 1973, alors que le mouvement Habad était encore peu répandu en France, une centaine de juifs français s’étaient rendus pour les fêtes de Tichri auprès du Rabbi de Loubavitch à New-York. Ce dernier, qui connaissait particulièrement bien la France pour y avoir étudié plusieurs années à la Sorbonne, leur réserva un accueil chaleureux. Et durant les hakafot (processions) de Simhat Torah, il les regroupa autour de lui et se mit à entonner la prière Haadéret Vehaémouna sur l’air de la Marseillaise. Les français n’en crurent pas leurs oreilles, mais se rendirent à l’évidence : le Rabbi chantait bel et bien l’air de la Marseillaise ! Ils s’associèrent alors au chant du Rabbi avec une joie encore plus intense. Immédiatement après les Hakafot, de nombreux groupes de hassidim s’attroupèrent autour de l’un de ces Français qui se tenait au centre, et enseignait la Marseillaise à ceux qui désiraient apprendre ce nouveau nigoun. Le chant et les danses se multiplièrent dans la maison du Rabbi, et, très vite, le chant se répandit dans les rues avoisinantes tout au long de la nuit, tandis que de plus en plus de monde s’associait aux danses interminables.

Audio 1 : La Marseillaise chantée par les Loubavitch. Extrait de l’émission Nuits magnétiques de Marie-Dominique Arrighi diffusée sur France Culture le 20 avril 1993

C’est ainsi que depuis 1973, chez les Loubavitch, le piyyut Haadéret vehaémouna est chanté les samedis matin et les jours de fête sur l’air de la Marseillaise. Par la suite, le Rabbi justifia sa décision en faisant remarquer que l’hymne des Loubavitch Oufaratsta (Tu te répandras ; Genèse 28, 14) correspondait sensiblement à l’anagramme du mot Tsarfat, qui signifie “France” en hébreu. Ces deux termes étaient donc en relation profonde et harmonieuse. D’autre part, selon la Guématria (procédé numérologique d’interprétation des textes hébraïques), le total de leurs lettres est de 770… nombre qui correspond au numéro de la maison du Rabbi à New-York (770 Eastern Parkway, Brooklyn) !

Audio 2 : Oufaratsta, Hymne des Loubavitch

Djerba, Synagogue de La Ghriba – Septembre 1994 (© H Roten)

Entendre les Loubavitch chanter la Marseillaise en hébreu est un paradoxe d’autant plus grand lorsque l’on sait que le fondateur du mouvement Habad, Rabbi Schneour Zalman de Lyadi (1745-1813) – petit-fils spirituel du Baal Shem Tov – s’était délibérément rangé du côté des Russes contre les invasions napoléoniennes qu’il jugeait dangereuses pour le judaïsme orthodoxe. D’autre part, les paroles guerrières de cet hymne ne le prédisposaient pas vraiment à accompagner le chant d’une prière. Mais pour les hassidim, toute mélodie, la plus impure comme la plus banale, renferme une étincelle divine que la devéquout[2]Etat d’adhésion totale à Dieu dans tous les actes de la vie quotidienne. permet de dégager.

Cette enquête sur l’utilisation de la Marseillaise dans les prières révéla l’existence d’un second enregistrement en provenance de l’île de Djerba (Tunisie). A la suite d’une visite d’officiels français dans l’île, la communauté juive a honoré ses hôtes en leur chantant leur hymne national. L’air est ensuite resté dans les mémoires et a servi d’écrin à un piyyout qui se chante encore aujourd’hui à l’office. L’intonation orientale s’est imbriquée à l’air d’origine ce qui confère à cette Marseillaise un aspect original et pour le moins surprenant.

Audio 3 : Piyyout djerbien chanté en arabe sur l’air de La Marseillaise

Enfin, récemment, mon ami Joël Rochard, Président du Cercle Bernard Lazare, m’a envoyé un mail intitulé Rouget de Lisle au secours d’Ibn Gabirol. Il m’y expliquait que « son petit-fils Samuel, 11 ans, peinait à apprendre la prière du Adon Olam. Je lui ai expliqué que ce poème liturgique peut être chanté sur diverses mélodies. Chacun peut choisir l’air qu’il veut.

Je lui ai suggéré la Marseillaise. L’idée lui a plu.

Une heure plus tard il connaissait Adon Olam par cœur. »

J’avoue avoir essayé d’en faire autant. Cela fonctionne parfaitement !

Consulter dans nos collections d’autres documents sur la Marseillaise

 

Voir un extrait vidéo de la Marseillaise chantée par le Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneerson et ses fidèles

Voir un extrait vidéo « Pourquoi les Loubavitch chantent-il la Marseillaise tous les samedis matin ? »

References
1 Les quatre émissions hebdomadaires Nuits magnétiques de Marie-Dominique Arrighi sur le thème « Devenir français ? » ont été diffusées sur France Culture à partir du 20 avril 1993.
2 Etat d’adhésion totale à Dieu dans tous les actes de la vie quotidienne.

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Publication de 3 nouvelles œuvres du compositeur Serge Kaufmann

Les Éditions de l'IEMJ publient trois nouvelles compositions de Serge Kaufmann, Ima ou la Mère dépossédée, Dix duos pour 2…

La musique synagogale à Paris à l’époque du premier temple consistorial (1822-1874)

Dans sa thèse désormais disponible en version numérisée, Gérard Ganvert nous livre une étude approfondie de la musique synagogale à…

KALARASH – Musique klezmer, chansons yiddish et françaises

Ce 8e CD de la Collection Découvertes regroupe des airs de musique klezmer, des chansons yiddish et françaises, de Kalarash,…