ENGEL, JOEL (1868-1927)

Composer, folklorist and musicologist, Joel Engel was born in Berdyansk (Crimea) in 1868. After studying law and on the advice of Tchaikovsky, he enrolled at the Moscow Conservatory, where he studied with Sergei Taneyev.  After obtaining his diploma, he was offered by the liberal Moscow newspaper Russkie Vedomotsi, a position as musical critic and editor, post he was to hold until 1918.

Inspired by the nascent Jewish nationalist movement and by ethnography, as early as 1898 Engel began to collect Yiddish folkloric songs. In 1900 and 1901, in the company of Saul Ginzburg and Pesakh Marek, two historians specialized in the study of folklore, he organized conferences and concerts in Moscow and Saint Petersburg. He was considered at the time the principal expert of Jewish music in the Russian Empire, a position which―associated with his passionate temperament―sometimes led him to engage in polemics, in particular with Sholem Aleichem and the author of popular Yiddish songs, Mark Warshawsky with respect to the authenticity of the compositions published by the latter.

En 1905, Engel helped democratize music by co-founding a music school in Moscow that was open to all.  He also played a role of the first importance in the creation of the Society for Jewish Folk Music (Gezelshaft far Yidisher Folks-Muzik) in Saint Petersburg in 1908.  He had his works, inspired from Jewish folklore, performed and published there and created a Moscow section of the Society in 1913.  Between 1912 and 1914, he participated actively in the ethnographic expedition led by Shalom An-Ski in the Pale, the zone of Settlement in Russia where most Jews lived.  There, he collected and recorded hundreds of Jewish songs on wax cylinders using the invented Thomas Edison phonograph.

Deeply involved in the creation of a Jewish national music, Engel edited several collections of folklore songs and roughly 150 original pieces, compositions of his own and other Russian Jewish composers.  In addition to Jewish music, he took interest in Russian and European music and devoted conferences to them, as well as reference works published particularly in German.

In 1922, Engel left the Soviet Union for Berlin.  There he founded the musical publishing company Yuval, which reissued works published by the Society for Jewish Folk Music, as well as the new creations of Russian Jewish composers.  In 1924, he emigrated to Tel Aviv and taught there at the Shulamit Music School.  In addition, he composed for the Ohel Theatre, directed several choirs and gave conferences.  During the last years of his life, he composed works inspired by the Zionist musical culture of the Jewish communities in Palestine.

After his death in 1927, his wife donated his manuscripts to the Archives of Kiev and of Moscow.  A homage is also paid to him by the city of Tel Aviv, which awards every three years the Engel Prize to contemporary Israeli composers.  

As a composer, Engel is especially known for his vocal arrangements of modern Hebraic poetry and Yiddish songs, as well as for his stage music in S. An-ski’s play, The Dybbuk, created in Moscow by the troupe of the Habima Theatre. 

Joel Engel & Shalom An-Ski
The Dybbuk

Sources:

  • Loeffler, James. “Engel, Yo’el.” YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe 5 August 2010. 28 September 2021
  • Kimann Douglas, “Joel Engel (1868-1927)”, Les terres du klezmer, 21 septembre 2014

Browse our archives on Joel Engel

You may also like

François Meïmoun, Kaddish for mezzo & string quartet

The music score of his Kaddish for mezzo-soprano and string quartet, edited by the EIJM’s publishing house, was performed as…

Concert The New Jewish School of Saint-Petersburg

June 16, 2022 at 8pm, at the Archives nationales / Hôtel de Soubise - Paris. Concert organized by the EIJM,…

Jacques Arnold, a life serving chazanut

In the collection « Life courses », discover the endearing personality of the cantor Jacques Arnold, who tells us about…

ENGEL, JOEL (1868-1927)

Compositeur, folkloriste et musicologue, Joel Engel est né à Berdiansk (Crimée) en 1868. Après des études de droit, et sur les conseils de Tchaïkovski, il s’inscrit au Conservatoire de Moscou où il étudie avec le compositeur Sergei Taneïev. Suite à l’obtention de son diplôme, le journal libéral moscovite Russkie Vedomotsi lui propose un poste de critique musical et d’éditeur, poste qu’il occupera jusqu’en 1918.

Inspiré par le mouvement nationaliste juif naissant et par l’ethnographie, Engel commence dès 1898 à recueillir des chansons folkloriques yiddish. En 1900 et 1901, en compagnie de Saul Ginzburg et Pesakh Marek, deux historiens spécialisés dans l’étude du folklore, il organise des conférences et des concerts à Moscou et à Saint-Pétersbourg. Il est alors considéré comme le principal expert de la musique juive dans l’Empire russe, position qui, alliée à son tempérament passionné, le conduit parfois à engager des polémiques, notamment avec Sholem Aleichem et l’auteur de chansons populaires yiddish Mark Warshawski sur l’authenticité des compositions publiées par ce dernier.

En 1905, Engel participe à la démocratisation de la musique en co-fondant à Moscou une école de musique ouverte à tous. Il joue également un rôle de tout premier plan lors de la création de la Société pour la musique populaire juive (Gezelshaft far Yidisher Folks-Muzik) à Saint-Pétersbourg en 1908. Il y fait jouer et publier ses œuvres inspirées du folklore juif et crée une section moscovite en 1913. Entre 1912 et 1914, il participe activement à l’expédition ethnographique dirigée par Shalom An-Ski dans la zone de résidence où vit la majorité des Juifs de Russie. Il y recueille et enregistre des centaines de chansons juives sur des cylindres de cire, à l’aide du phonographe inventé par Thomas Edison.

Très impliqué dans la création d’une musique nationale juive, Engel édite plusieurs recueils de chansons folkloriques et environ 150 compositions originales de lui et d’autres compositeurs juifs russes. Au-delà de la musique juive, il s’intéresse aux musiques russes et européennes auxquelles il consacre des conférences et des ouvrages de référence publiés notamment en allemand.

En 1922, Engel quitte l’Union Soviétique pour Berlin. Il y fonde la maison d’édition musicale Yuval qui réédite les œuvres publiées par la Société pour la musique populaire juive, ainsi que de nouvelles créations de compositeurs juifs russes. En 1924, il émigre à Tel Aviv et y enseigne à l’école de musique Shulamit. Il compose en outre pour le théâtre Ohel, dirige plusieurs chorales et donne des conférences. Dans les dernières années de sa vie, il compose des œuvres inspirées par la culture musicale sioniste des communautés juives en Palestine.

En 1927, après sa mort, sa femme fait don de ses manuscrits aux archives de Kiev et de Moscou. Un hommage lui est également rendu par la ville de Tel Aviv qui décerne tous les trois ans le prix Engel à des compositeurs contemporains israéliens. En tant que compositeur, Engel est surtout connu pour ses arrangements vocaux de poésie hébraïque moderne et de chansons yiddish, ainsi que pour sa musique de scène de la pièce de S. An-ski, Le Dybbuk, créée à Moscou par la troupe du théâtre Habima.

Joel Engel & Shalom An-Ski
The Dybbuk

Sources :

  • Loeffler, James. “Engel, Yo’el.” YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe 5 August 2010. 28 September 2021
  • Kimann Douglas, “Joel Engel (1868-1927)”, Les terres du klezmer, 21 septembre 2014

Consulter nos archives sur Joel Engel

Vous aimerez aussi

La playlist orientale de l’été…

Au cours de ce voyage, nous vous invitons à chanter et danser au gré des plus belles voix de ce…

La playlist israélienne de l’été…

Pour vous accompagner tout au long de l’été, voici une sélection des tubes les plus entraînants de la musique israélienne

La Musique Juive en Espagne

Article sur la situation historique de la Musique Juive en Espagne, par Jorge Rozemblum, directeur de Radio Sefarad et correspondant…