Heymann, Michel (1952)

logo bio Elsa Barraine

Born on April 25, 1952 in Strasburg, he was the last pupil, before it closed definitely, of the Hazan’s School in Paris, but he was also, and most of all, the pupil of Monsieur Bertrand Joseph, who was cantor in Strasbourg.

In 1969, at the age of 17, he replaced cantors in Ingwiller, Sélestat, Troyes, Metz and Thionville.
At the age of 21, in September 1973, he was appointed in Haguenau. He walked away seven years later, to enter Mulhouse’s synagogue, in 1980. He worked there for 12 years, recording cassettes and CD’s in order to keep and preserve the liturgy from Alsace. He received in December 1991 the Honor Medal of Music Societies and Choirs, given by the French minister of Culture and Communication, in recognition of his work achieved in the field of liturgy and for the choirs he created.

Michel Heymann taught students in the communities of East of France. He was one of the last keepers of the Ashkenazi liturgy from the Rhine valley, especially in the Alsace-Lorraine region.
In 2001, he was appointed President of the Association of Cantors of Alsace and Lorraine.

Since August 1992, Michel Heymann is the cantor of the Jewish community of Luxembourg. He created a new choir that accompanies him sometimes during Shabbat and religious ceremonies. He is often requested in France and in the rest of the world to participate to official ceremonies or concerts.

Michel Heymann sang with the greatest hazanim, among them Estrongo Nachama ז”ל (Berlin) Moché Stern (USA) Adolphe Attia (Paris) Benjamin Muller (Anvers) Benzion Miller (USA) Raphaël Cohen (Paris) and choirs from the Great Synagogue of Strasbourg, the Ensemble Vocal Hébraïca, the synagogue de la Victoire in Paris and with the choir of hazanim of Jerusalem.

Learn more about Michel Heymann and listen to music online

Browse our archives on Michel Heymann

You may also like

Jacinta Collection

Deposited at the EIJM in May 2022 by the artist, Jacinta's collection includes some forty photographies, from her youth in…

Jacinta, between Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish songs and tango

In the series " Life courses ", discover the attaching personality of Jacinta, an artist of Argentinian origin who also…

Jacinta, a life in song

Discover a selection of Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish, Argentinean and French songs by Jacinta, an artist with a golden voice

Jacintas Zingers

(Paris, France) A choir directed by Jacinta, with a mainly Yiddish song repertoire, made up of three groups of singers…

Heymann, Michel (1952)

logo bio Michel Heymann

Né le 25 avril 1952 à Strasbourg, Michel Heymann est le dernier élève, avant sa fermeture définitive, de l’école des Ministres Officiants à Paris mais il est d’abord et surtout l’élève de Monsieur Bertrand Joseph ז”ל ancien ministre officiant à Strasbourg qui lui a inculqué l’art synagogal et le sens des responsabilités inhérent à cette fonction.

En 1969, dès l’âge de 17 ans, il seconde ou remplace des chantres à Ingwiller, Sélestat, Troyes, Metz et Thionville.
A l’age de 21 ans, en septembre 1973, il est nommé à Haguenau. Au bout de sept ans, il quitte ce poste pour accepter en octobre 1980 celui de Mulhouse. Il officiera durant douze ans dans cette cité et enregistrera des cassettes et des compact-discs dans le but de préserver la liturgie d’Alsace. En décembre 1991, le ministre français de la Culture et de la Communication lui attribue la Médaille d’Honneur des Sociétés Musicales et Chorales en témoignage du travail accompli dans les domaines de la liturgie et des chorales qu’il a créées.

Michel Heymann a formé des élèves pour les communautés de l’Est de la France. Il est un des derniers détenteurs de la liturgie achkenaze spécifique de la vallée du Rhin et notamment des régions d’Alsace et de Lorraine.
En août 2001, il est nommé Président de l’Association des Ministres Officiants d’Alsace et de Lorraine.

Depuis le mois d’août 1992, Michel Heymann est le ministre officiant de la Communauté israélite de Luxembourg. Il y a créé une nouvelle chorale qui l’accompagne parfois lors des offices de Shabath et des fêtes. Il est souvent sollicité dans le pays et à l’étranger pour participer à des cérémonies officielles ou à des concerts.

Michel Heymann a chanté avec des hazanim parmi les plus célèbres tels que Estrongo Nachama ז”ל (Berlin) Moché Stern (USA) Adolphe Attia (Paris) Benjamin Muller (Anvers) Benzion Miller (USA) Raphaël Cohen (Paris) et des grandes chorales parmi lesquelles celle de la grande synagogue de Strasbourg, l’Ensemble Vocal des Musiques Hébraïques également de Strasbourg avec ses soixante choristes, la chorale de la synagogue de la Victoire à Paris et avec la chorale des hazanim de Jérusalem.

Vous aimerez aussi

Thieves of Dreams – Zloději snů

Lors du décès récent de sa mère, Lenka Lichtenberg découvre deux cahiers en lambeaux contenant des poèmes écrits à la…

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Leibu Levin

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2014. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Lenka Lichtenberg

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2013. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…