Jacques OFFENBACH

By Jean-Philippe Biojout

Bleu nuit éditeur, Oct. 2019, 176 p.

Born in Cologne the 20th June 1819 and naturalized French in 1860, the composer Jacques Offenbach came to “conquer” Paris in 1833. After attending the Paris Music School and the Opéra-Comique (as a cellist), he met Halévy who helped him to master composition. Thanks to von Flotow, he got access to the Parisians salons where he became known as a virtuoso performer, before conducting music at the Comédie-Française.

Facing a stubborn refusal from the directors of the Opera and the Opéra-Comique, he decided to create his own theatre, on the Champs-Elysées, on the occasion of the 1st World Exposition of 1855, and then in the Passage Choiseuil where the theatre still has the name today of “Bouffes-Parisiens”, and saw the creation of Orphée aux Enfers (Orpheus in the Underworld) in 1858 (the play was performed over 1,000 times during the author’s lifetime.

offenbach_vu_par_joseph_keppler_1878_recto_carte_380px_vertic.jpg

Offenbach’s success quickly became international and his supremacy came during the 2nd World Exposition in Paris in 1867, in particular with La Vie parisienne and La Grande-duchesse de Gérolstein (The Grand Duchess of Gerolstein), performed by Hortense Schneider. With the downfall of Napoleon III and of his Empire, Offenbach faced a certain disaffection, which profited Lecoq, and it would be compensated only by his latest successes : La Fille du régiment in 1879, and his last opera created a few months after his death (4-5 October 1880) : The Tales of Hoffmann.

Still often considered wrongly as the “father of the operetta ” (actually, this title is attributed to Hervé), Offenbach was undoubtfully the master of a “buffa” genre that influenced all Europe and gave birth to Viennese operettas (Strauss, Léhar) and English operettas (Gilbert & Sullivan).

jean-claude_biojout_redim.jpgOpera singer and playwright, Jean-Philippe Biojout often worked on the joyous repertoire of Offenbach. In 176 pages, he took the challenge of summarizing the life and work of the long-winded composer (over 100 lyrical pieces in particular) by giving us an original biography, with 64 résumés, 63 musical exemples and over 100 illustrations of the time (performers, costumes, models of set, posters, …), a biography which, even if it doesn’t claim to be complete, as compared with the monumental work of Jean-Claude Yon (Jacques Offenbach, Gallimard, 2000), is still fascinating !

 

Purchase the book
Read the biography of Jacques Offenbach and his Jewish work
Learn more on Jean-Philippe Biojout

 

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Jacques OFFENBACH

Par Jean-Philippe Biojout

Bleu nuit éditeur, oct. 2019, 176 p.

Compositeur né à Cologne le 20 juin 1819 et naturalisé français en 1860, Jacques Offenbach vient “conquérir” Paris dès 1833. Après un passage par le Conservatoire et la fosse de l’Opéra-Comique (comme violoncelliste), il rencontre Halévy qui l’aide dans sa maîtrise de la composition. C’est grâce à von Flotow qu’il se fait ouvrir les salons parisiens où il se fait connaître comme interprète virtuose, avant de diriger la musique à la Comédie-Française.

Devant le refus obstiné des directeurs de l’Opéra et de l’Opéra-Comique, il décide de créer son propre théâtre qui s’installe sur les Champs-Elysées, à l’occasion de la 1ère Exposition Universelle de 1855, puis occupe le Passage Choiseuil où le théâtre porte encore aujourd’hui le nom de “Bouffes-Parisiens” et voit la création d’Orphée aux Enfers en 1858 (la pièce sera jouée plus de 1.000 fois du vivant de son auteur).

offenbach_vu_par_joseph_keppler_1878_recto_carte_380px_vertic.jpgLe succès d’Offenbach devient vite international et sa suprématie s’impose lors de la 2ème Exposition Universelle à Paris en 1867, notamment avec La Vie parisienne et La Grande-duchesse de Gérolstein, interprétée par Hortense Schneider. Avec la chute de Napoléon III et de son Empire, Offenbach connaît une certaine désaffection au profit de Lecoq, qui ne sera compensée que par ses derniers succès : La Fille du régiment en 1879, et son ultime opéra créé quelque mois après sa mort (4-5 octobre 1880) : Les Contes d’Hoffmann.

Considéré encore souvent à tort comme le “père de l’opérette ” (en fait, le titre échoit à Hervé), Offenbach est indéniablement le maître d’un genre “bouffe” qui a influencé toute l’Europe et a donné naissance aux opérettes viennoises (Strauss, Léhar) et anglaises (Gilbert & Sullivan).

jean-claude_biojout_redim.jpgChanteur lyrique et metteur en scène, Jean-Philippe Biojout a souvent travaillé le joyeux répertoire d’Offenbach. En 176 pages, il relève le défi de résumer la vie et l’œuvre d’un auteur très prolixe (plus de 100 pièces lyriques, notamment) en nous livrant une biographie inédite, agrémentée de 64 résumés, 63 exemples musicaux et plus de 100 illustrations d’époques (interprètes, costumes, maquettes de décors, affiches, …), biographie qui, même si elle ne prétend pas à l’exhaustivité de la l’ouvrage monumental de Jean-Claude Yon (Jacques Offenbach, Gallimard, 2000), n’en demeure pas moins passionnante !

Commander le livre
Consulter la biographie de Jacques Offenbach
En savoir plus sur Jean-Philippe Biojout

Vous aimerez aussi

Le Seder de Roch Hachana chez les Juifs d’Afrique du Nord

Le Seder du soir de Roch Hachana consiste en la consommation d’aliments symboliques - connus sous le nom de simanim…

Thieves of Dreams – Zloději snů

Lors du décès récent de sa mère, Lenka Lichtenberg découvre deux cahiers en lambeaux contenant des poèmes écrits à la…

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Leibu Levin

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2014. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…