Kluger, Jacques (1912-1963)

Jacques Kluger was born on January 23, 1912 in Antwerp. His father, Maurice, a diamond merchant born in Wisjnicz in Galicia (now in Poland) in 1883, moved to Antwerp in 1905. He participated in the foundation of the diamond exchange and married Rosa Steger, born in 1889.

Jacques grew up in Antwerp – home to Belgium’s largest Jewish community – where he enjoyed playing tennis and billiards. After returning from exile with his family to the Netherlands during the First World War, Jacques finished secondary school and learned no less than four languages: French, English, German and Yiddish (which was invaluable on business trips and enabled him to communicate better with his father), in addition to his mother tongue, Flemish. However, Jacques did not pursue higher education

With Cab Calloway

and started working in 1929, in the middle of the economic crisis. Because of his father’s profession, he was destined for the diamond industry and tried his hand at diamond cleaving for a year, but his passion for music decided otherwise and at 18, inspired by his idols Duke Ellington and Cab Calloway, he formed an amateur jazz band called “The Collegians”. A true self-taught musician, Jacques began to play jazz, which was not a conventional music at the time. With his orchestra, which he directed and where his brother Johnny was on drums, he won many competitions. He was spotted and signed a contract with Flemish radio to present the first jazz radio programme in the world.

With Louis Armstrong

In the 1930s, Jacques organised a series of concerts in Brussels and Antwerp with Duke Ellington and Louis Armstrong, among others. He also performed every weekend with his band at dances. It was also during this period that he married Adela Rozenbaum in 1935, whom he had met ten years earlier. She was the niece of his father’s business partner and had come from Miechow in Poland at the age of thirteen to work as a diamond cutter. Two years later, their first son, Jean, was born. Thus, at the dawn of the Second World War, Jacques was settled in Antwerp, married and a father fully committed to his musical passion for jazz.

When the war broke out, Jacques fled the Nazi presence and took his family to Clermont-Ferrand, then thinking that the situation would normalise and that he could go to the United States, he returned to Antwerp. He was obviously mistaken and was arrested on Christmas Eve 1941 in a recording studio with Felix Faecq, president of the Belgian jazz club, for recording and promoting American music. After 23 days in the prison of Saint-Gilles, they were released. Always an optimist, he did not leave Antwerp again until November 1942 and took refuge with his family in the free zone, in Villeneuve-de-Berg in Ardèche, where his second son, Roland, was born in April 1943. As soon as the first American troops arrived in June 1944, Jacques and his brother Johnny returned to Antwerp. Jacques’ family will join him in March 1945 due to the vicissitudes of the war.

At the end of the Second World War, a new era began, and Felix Faecq, who had taken over the music publishing company World Music Company from his mother, suggested that they join forces. Quickly understanding the interest of mastering the whole chain of musical production, they set up a label called Victory with which they signed Ray Ventura’s orchestra and his new singer Henri Salvador. Jacques also organised concerts for American troops stationed in Germany as part of the Marshall Plan. In 1949 his third son, Ludovic, was born. At the beginning of the 1950s, taking advantage of the growth of the record industry led by the LP revolution [1]Jacques Kluger and Felix Faecq were the first representatives in Belgium of the Mercury company with the new 25 and 30 centimetre LP, he and Felix Faecq opened subsidiaries in London (Good Music) in collaboration with Ted Heath, in New York (Zodiac Music), as well as joint ventures around the world. The effervescence of the music publishing industry and Jacques’s appetite for international business led him to travel a great deal – even though the travel and stay times were still long – and he took advantage of these trips to enrich his editorial network and to form partnerships with Wesley Rose in Nashville (Everly Brothers, Roy Orbison), Ralph Peer in Los Angeles (Brazil Tico Tico), Jimmy Philips in London, Sugar in Italy, and Rolf Marbot and Raoul Breton – the iconic publisher of Trenet, Bécaud and Aznavour – in France. At the heart of this frenzy, in addition to signing worldwide copyrights such as Lullaby of Birdland, he produced and exported worldwide hits such as La Petite Valse (‘The Petite Waltz’) of which there are over 200 versions to date, including Errol Garner’s. He became the father of Flemish song as publisher and producer of the then number one artist in Flanders, Bobbejaan Schoepen, but also Bob Benny, Jean Walter, Will Tura and Louis Neef. In 1958 he set up a new record company, Palette, together with Felix Faecq, which had a number of international hits, such as Manhattan Spiritual by Reg Owen and Hawaii Tattoo by The Waikikis.

With Claude Bolling

Beyond music, Jacques loves creators and they give him their due. He looks for talent and cannot resist it, wherever it may be. Thus, he met many artists whose careers he would change, such as Annie Cordy, Eddie Constantine, the Dutch lyricist Ernst Van Altena, or the soloist Alexis Weissenberg. He was also the first publisher of Jacques Brel in Brussels (Il peut pleuvoir), the producer of six albums with Dolf Van Der Linden and the Hilversum Radio Orchestra in Holland and Alice Babs in Sweden. He also enabled Toots Thielemans, the composer of Bluesette, to move to New York to join George Shearing and record with Benny Goodman. In 1950, the American label Bally Records commissioned him to produce a series of jazz albums in Europe, with in particular for France the pianist Claude Bolling, to whom Jacques was his best man for his wedding.

For Jacques, the projects and successes follow one another. He produced several albums for the Capitol label in Los Angeles, including Jewish Music – Melodies Beloved the World Over, a recording of 21 Jewish melodies arranged and orchestrated by

The Best Jewish Songs in the World

Benedict Silberman, accompanied by the Dutch Radio Orchestra. This project allowed him to pay tribute to his father, who had recently passed away and was a great lover of traditional Jewish music. His mother, a talented pianist, helped him transcribe the songs and melodies she used to play on the piano when she entertained her husband’s many guests at the end of Shabbat evenings after the synagogue’s service. This record, which met with some success, was followed some time later by the release of a second LP entitled Jewish Memories, featuring 14 new melodies. These two records have been compiled and reissued several times on different media, both on audio cassettes (The World of Traditional Jewish Memories) and on CDs (The Best Jewish Songs in the World, played by Benedict Silberman or 30 greatest Jewish Songs, played by Benedict Silberman).

The Kluger family during a recording session with B. Silberman

At the end of the 1950s, his two eldest sons, Jean and then Roland, began working with him. Unfortunately, in 1961 he was struck down by Charcot’s disease (ALS), which was incurable and very quickly prevented him from continuing any activity. He passed away two years later, on May 26, 1963, at the age of 51, thus cutting short a life that had been full of music, travel and encounters. He accomplished in about fifteen years what must have been a lifetime and knew how to live for his passion. Unfortunately for him and his family, he lacked only one thing: the time to enjoy it.

Biography written in April 2022 by Arthur, one of Jacques Kluger’s great-grandsons

References
1 Jacques Kluger and Felix Faecq were the first representatives in Belgium of the Mercury company with the new 25 and 30 centimetre LP

You may also like

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Leibu Levin

RADIO PROGRAM hosted by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2014. In this program, Hélène Engel presents two…

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Lenka Lichtenberg

RADIO PROGRAM presented by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2013. In this program, Hélène Engel presents the…

Kluger, Jacques (1912-1963)

Jacques Kluger est né le 23 janvier 1912 à Anvers. Son père, Maurice, diamantaire né à Wisjnicz en Galicie (aujourd’hui en Pologne) en 1883, s’installe à Anvers en 1905. Il participe à la fondation de la bourse de diamants, et y épouse Rosa Steger, née en 1889.

Jacques grandit à Anvers – qui abrite alors la plus grande communauté juive de Belgique – où il s’adonne au tennis et au billard. Au retour d’un exil avec sa famille aux Pays-Bas durant la Première Guerre mondiale, Jacques finit ses études secondaires et n’en apprend pas moins de quatre langues : le français, l’anglais, l’allemand et le yiddish (qui lui sera précieux dans ses voyages d’affaires et lui permet de mieux communiquer avec son père), en plus de sa langue maternelle, le flamand. Cependant, Jacques ne poursuit pas d’études supérieures et commence à travailler en 1929, en pleine crise économique.

Avec Cab Calloway

 Du fait de la profession de son père, il est destiné à l’industrie du diamant et s’essaie au clivage [taille] du diamant pendant un an, mais sa passion pour la musique en décide autrement, et à 18 ans, inspiré par ses idoles Duke Ellington et Cab Calloway, il monte un orchestre de jazz amateur nommé “The Collegians”. Véritable autodidacte, Jacques se lance alors dans le jazz qui n’était pas alors une musique conventionnelle. Avec son orchestre, qu’il dirige et où son frère Johnny est à la batterie, il remporte de nombreux concours. Il se fait ainsi repérer et signe avec la radio flamande un contrat pour présenter la première émission radiophonique de jazz au monde.

Avec Louis Armstrong

Au cours des années 1930, Jacques organise une série de concerts à Bruxelles et Anvers avec notamment Duke Ellington et Louis Armstrong. Il se produit également tous les week-ends avec son orchestre dans des soirées dansantes. C’est aussi au cours de cette période qu’il épouse en 1935 Adela Rozenbaum, rencontrée dix ans plus tôt. Elle est la nièce de l’associé de son père, et est venue de Miechow en Pologne à treize ans pour travailler comme tailleuse de diamants. Deux ans plus tard, naît leur premier fils, Jean. Ainsi, à l’aube de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Jacques est installé à Anvers, marié et père de famille pleinement investi dans sa passion musicale pour le jazz.

Lorsque la guerre éclate, Jacques fuit la présence nazie et emmène sa famille à Clermont-Ferrand, puis pensant que la situation allait se normaliser et qu’il pourrait partir aux Etats-Unis, il rentre à Anvers. De toute évidence, il se trompe et est arrêté le soir de Noël 1941 dans un studio d’enregistrement en compagnie de Felix Faecq, président du jazz club de Belgique, pour avoir enregistré et promu de la musique américaine. Après 23 jours passés à la prison de Saint-Gilles, ils sont libérés. Toujours optimiste, il ne quitte de nouveau Anvers qu’en novembre 1942 et se réfugie avec sa famille en zone libre, à Villeneuve-de-Berg en Ardèche, où naît en avril 1943 son deuxième fils, Roland. Dès l’arrivée des premières troupes américaines, en juin 1944, Jacques et son frère Johnny retournent à Anvers. La famille de Jacques l’y rejoindra en mars 1945 en raison des vicissitudes de la guerre.

A la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale s’ouvre une nouvelle ère, et Felix Faecq qui a récupéré de sa mère la maison d’édition musicale World Music Company lui propose de s’associer. Comprenant rapidement l’intérêt de maîtriser l’ensemble de la chaîne de production musicale, ils montent un label intitulé Victory avec lequel ils signent notamment l’orchestre de Ray Ventura et son nouveau chanteur Henri Salvador. Jacques organise également, dans le cadre du Plan Marshall, des concerts pour les troupes américaines stationnées en Allemagne. En 1949 naît son troisième fils, Ludovic. Au début des années 1950, profitant de la croissance de l’industrie du disque menée par la révolution du microsillon[1]Jacques Kluger et Felix Faecq sont les premiers représentants en Belgique de la firme Mercury avec les nouveaux LP 25 et 30 centimètres, il ouvre avec Felix Faecq des filiales à Londres (Good Music) en collaboration avec Ted Heath, à New-York (Zodiac Music), ainsi que des joint-ventures à travers le monde. L’effervescence des éditions musicales s’y prêtant et Jacques ayant une appétence pour l’international, il se met  à beaucoup voyager – alors que les durées des trajets et des séjours sont encore longues – et profite de ces voyages pour enrichir son réseau éditorial et s’associer avec Wesley Rose à Nashville (Everly Brothers, Roy Orbison), Ralph Peer à Los Angeles (Brazil Tico Tico),  Jimmy Philips à Londres, Sugar en Italie, et Rolf Marbot ainsi que Raoul Breton – l’iconique éditeur de Trenet, Bécaud et Aznavour – en France. Au cœur de cette frénésie, outre le fait de signer des copyrights mondiaux tel Lullaby of Birdland, il produit et exporte des hits mondiaux comme La Petite Valse (‘The Petite Waltz’) dont il existe plus de 200 versions à ce jour, dont celle d’Errol Garner. Il devient ainsi le père de la chanson flamande en tant qu’éditeur et producteur de l’artiste n°1 d’alors en Flandres, Bobbejaan Schoepen, mais aussi Bob Benny, Jean Walter, Will Tura ou Louis Neef. En 1958, il monte, toujours avec Felix Faecq, une nouvelle maison de disques, Palette, qui connaît de nombreux succès internationaux, comme Manhattan Spiritual par Reg Owen et Hawaii Tattoo par The Waikikis.

Avec Claude Bolling

Au-delà de la musique, Jacques aime les créateurs et ceux-ci le lui rendent bien. Il cherche le talent et n’y résiste pas quel que soit le lieu. Ainsi, il croise beaucoup d’artistes dont il changera le cours de la carrière, tels Annie Cordy, Eddie Constantine, le parolier hollandais Ernst Van Altena, ou encore le soliste Alexis Weissenberg. Il est également le premier éditeur de Jacques Brel à Bruxelles (Il peut pleuvoir), le producteur de six albums avec Dolf Van Der Linden et l’orchestre de la radio d’Hilversum en Hollande et d’Alice Babs en Suède. Il permet également au compositeur de Bluesette, Toots Thielemans, de partir à New-York rejoindre Georges Shearing et enregistrer avec Benny Goodman. En 1950, le label américain Bally Records lui commande une série d’albums de Jazz en Europe, avec notamment pour la France le pianiste Claude Bolling dont Jacques sera le témoin de mariage.

Pour Jacques, les projets et les succès s’enchaînent. Il produit plusieurs albums pour la marque Capitol à Los Angeles, parmi lesquels Jewish Music – Melodies Beloved the World Over, un enregistrement de 21 mélodies juives arrangées et orchestrées par Benedict Silberman, accompagnées par l’orchestre de la radio hollandaise.

The Best Jewish Songs in the World

Ce projet lui permet de rendre hommage à son père, alors récemment décédé et grand amateur de musique traditionnelle juive. Sa mère, pianiste talentueuse, l’aida à transcrire les chansons et mélodies qu’elle jouait au piano lorsqu’elle animait les fins de soirées de Shabbat pour les nombreux invités de son mari au sortir de la synagogue. Ce disque, qui obtient un certain succès, est suivi quelque temps plus tard par la publication d’un second 33 tours intitulé Jewish Memories, comportant 14 nouvelles mélodies. Ces deux disques ont été compilés et réédités à plusieurs reprises sur différents supports, qu’ils s’agissent de cassettes audio (The World of Traditional Jewish Memories) ou de CD (The Best Jewish Songs in the World, played by Benedict Silberman ou encore 30 greatest Jewish Songs, played by Benedict Silberman).

La famille Kluger lors de l’enregistrement avec B. Silberman

A la fin des années 1950, ses deux fils aînés, Jean puis Roland, commencent à travailler avec lui. Malheureusement, il est atteint en 1961 de la maladie de Charcot (SLA) qui est incurable et l’empêche très rapidement de poursuivre toute activité. Il en décède deux ans plus tard, le 26 mai 1963, à l’âge de 51 ans, écourtant ainsi une vie qui fut pleine de musique, de voyages et de rencontres. Il accomplit en une quinzaine d’années ce qui dut l’être sur toute une vie et sut vivre pour sa passion. Malheureusement pour lui et sa famille, il ne lui manqua qu’une seule chose : le temps d’en profiter.

Biographie réalisée en avril 2022 par Arthur, un des arrière-petits-fils de Jacques Kluger

References
1 Jacques Kluger et Felix Faecq sont les premiers représentants en Belgique de la firme Mercury avec les nouveaux LP 25 et 30 centimètres

Vous aimerez aussi

Oras Dezaoradas – Lily Henley

Dans ce CD, la chanteuse et violoniste américaine Lily Henley revisite les chants judéo-espagnols de son enfance, forte de son…

Fonds Peyrotte

Arrivé mystérieusement par la poste le 24 janvier 2022, ce fonds de 42 partitions manuscrites des années 1920 provenant de…

François Meïmoun, Kaddish, pour mezzo & quatuor à cordes

La partition de son Kaddish pour mezzo-soprano et quatuor à cordes, éditée aux Editions de l’IEMJ a été donné en…