La source de vie : Portuguese heritage

FRANCE 2 TELEVISION - 2004

A TV program by Josy Eisenberg, directed by Pascale Kenigsberg-Cahen, on the occasion of the concert of the 120th birthday of the synagogue of Bordeaux, with the participation of the Consistoire Central, the Fondation du Judaïsme Français and the Marlène Grebler Foundation. With Hervé Roten

At the end of the 19th century, the music performed in the Portuguese synagogues of Bordeaux, Bayonne or Paris, was particularly impressive. The cantor recited the liturgy, most often supported by the organ and the singing of a choir of about twenty men and children dressed in specific clothing. This ostentation, visual and auditory, contributed to giving the worship a great solemnity. Following the Second World War and the demographic upheavals of the 20th century, this practice has completely disappeared.

On the occasion of the 120th anniversary of the construction of the great Synagogue of Bordeaux was born the desire to revive these music, the time of an evening. On the advice of the musicologist Hervé Roten, a choir of men and children, directed by Françoise Richard and accompanied on the piano by Mag Tayar was reconstituted. Adolphe Attia, Malkiel Benamara, Léon Cohen and Didier Kassabi, four singers who know the Portuguese rite, have agreed to lend their voices to this exceptional concert which took place in the Synagogue of Bordeaux, on October 14, 2002, under the auspices of the Grand Rabbi Claude Maman, Rabbi Didier Kassabi and Erick Aouizerate, President of the Jewish community of Bordeaux.

Look at the book : Les traditions musicales judéo-portugaises en France, by Hervé Roten

Read the feature article : The Judeo-Portuguese rites in France

Purchase the CD Musiques de la synagogue de Bordeaux

Watch other videos of La source de vie

Watch excerpts from this show

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

La source de vie : Mémoire portugaise

FRANCE 2 TELEVISION - 2004

Une émission de Josy Eisenberg, réalisée par Pascale Kenigsberg-Cahen, à l’occasion du concert des 120 ans de la synagogue de Bordeaux, avec le concours du Consistoire Central, de la Fondation du Judaïsme Français et de la Fondation Marlène Grebler. Avec la participation de Hervé Roten

A la fin du 19e siècle, la musique en usage dans les synagogues portugaises de Bordeaux, Bayonne ou Paris, était particulièrement impressionnante. Le ministre-officiant récitait la liturgie, le plus souvent soutenu par le jeu de l’orgue et le chant d’un chœur d’une vingtaine d’hommes et d’enfants vêtus d’un habillement spécifique. Ce faste, visuel et auditif, concourait à donner au culte une grande solennité. Suite à la Seconde Guerre mondiale et aux bouleversements démographiques du 20e siècle, cette pratique a totalement disparu.
A l’occasion du 120e anniversaire de l’édification de la grande Synagogue de Bordeaux est né le désir de faire revivre ces musiques, le temps d’une soirée. Sur les conseils du musicologue Hervé Roten, un chœur d’hommes et d’enfants, dirigé par Françoise Richard et accompagnée au piano par Mag Tayar a été reconstitué. Adolphe Attia, Malkiel Benamara, Léon Cohen et Didier Kassabi, quatre chantres connaissant le rite portugais, ont accepté de prêter leur voix pour ce concert exceptionnel qui s’est déroulé en la Synagogue de Bordeaux, le 14 octobre 2002, sous les auspices du Grand Rabbin Claude Maman, du Rabbin Didier Kassabi et de Erick Aouizerate, Président de la communauté juive de Bordeaux.

Consulter l’ouvrage : Les traditions musicales judéo-portugaises en France, de Hervé Roten

Commander le CD Musiques de la synagogue de Bordeaux

Voir d’autres émissions de la source de vie en ligne sur notre site

Visionner des extraits de cette émission

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…