The best songs of Bracha Zefira (1910-1990)

Singer and collector of Jewish Yemenite music

A selection of songs performed by Bracha Zefira, pionneer who put Oriental melodies on Hebrew poems

Israeli singer of Yemenite origin, Bracha Zefira is exposed at a very young age to the Arab and Bedouin melodies that she hears while walking through the old city of Jerusalem. She studies theater, music, and will meet in Berlin the pianist composer and arranger Nahum Nardi, who will become her accomplice on stage and in life.

Zefira left her acting career to dedicate herself to singing. Their touring program included songs of different oriental ethnic groups that Zefira knew from her childhood including Sephardic songs, Jewish songs from Yemen, Persia, and Bukhara, as well as songs of Bedouins and Palestinian Arabs, all arranged by Nardi.

A collector of traditional songs, Bracha regularly returned back to the neighborhoods in which she grew up. She asked old women to sing her their songs, and she participated in local festivities.

After several years, Bracha Zefira stopped her collaboration with Nahum Nardi, ans started working with other composers, such as Paul Ben-Haim, Ödön Pártos or Marc Lavry.

Her repertoire included over 400 songs, many of which she helped create, either by working with composers on the melodies, or with poets on the lyrics. Her songs based on Arab or Bedouin melodies include Ben Nahar Prat, Yesh Li Gan, Lamidbar, Aley Giv’a, and were arranged by Nardi. She sang Piyyutim of Yemenite and Sephardic Jews with their original words, like S’I Yona, and Hamavdil. For Sephardic Romances she either replaced or translated the Ladino words, like Hitrag’ot with words by Yehuda Karni.

Read Bracha Zefira’s biography

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Les plus belles chansons de Bracha Zefira (1910-1990)

Chanteuse et collectionneuse de musique juive yéménite

Une sélection de chansons interprétées par Bracha Zefira, pionnière qui mêla les mélodies orientales aux poèmes hébraïques


Chanteuse israélienne d’origine yéménite, Bracha Zefira est sensibilisée très jeune aux mélodies arabes et bédouines qu’elle entend lors de ses promenades dans la vieille ville de Jérusalem. Etudiant la musique, le théâtre, elle rencontrera à Berlin le pianiste, compositeur et arrangeur Nahum Nardi, qui deviendra son complice sur scène et dans la vie.

Bracha Zefira se consacre alors pleinement au chant. Le duo Zefira/Nardi interprète des chansons de différents groupes ethniques que Bracha connait depuis son enfance, notamment des chansons sépharades, des chansons juives du Yémen, de Perse et de Boukhara, ainsi que des chansons de Bédouins et d’Arabes palestiniens.

Collecteuse de chants traditionnels, Bracha retourne régulièrement dans les quartiers où elle a grandi. Elle demande à des femmes âgées de lui chanter leurs chansons, et participe aux festivités locales.

Après plusieurs années, Bracha Zefira cesse sa collaboration avec Nahum Nardi, et se tourne vers d’autres compositeurs tels que Paul Ben-Haim, Ödön Pártos ou Marc Lavry.

Son répertoire comprend plus de 400 chansons. Ses chansons basées sur des mélodies arabes ou bédouines incluent notamment des titres arrangés par Nardi, tels Ben Nahar Prat, Yesh Li Gan, Lamidbar, Aley Giv’a. Elle a également chanté des piyyoutim de Juifs yéménites et sépharades avec les textes originaux, comme S’I Yona, et Hamavdil. Pour les romances sépharades, Bracha Zefira a traduit les paroles, ou les a remplacées avec des textes originaux, comme ceux de Yehuda Karni sur la chanson Hitrag’ot.

Lire la biographie de Bracha Zefira

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…