Music in ancient Israel

Alfred Sendrey

Philosophical Library New York, 01-01-1969

This book presents the music at the Biblical time and in the beginning of the Talmudic period. Particularly well documented, it features the origins, the foprms and ethics of Hebrew music. It was buiolt on recent archeological discoveries and on contemporary Biblical research, dealing with sacred music and also the vast field of old secular music. The clarity with which the author, Alfred Sendrey, reads the common musical heritage of Jews and Christians is particularli interesting for the Christian world  in this period of interprète l’héritage musical commun au judaïsme et au christianisme est particulièrement intéressante pour le monde chrétien en cette période de ecumenical discussion. 

Alfred Sendrey (1884-1976) was a teacher of musicology in the university of Judaism in Los Angeles, and widely known in the filed of musicology for his important Bibliography of Jewish music, publshed by Columbia University Press (1951). This book is still today the main work of reference for the study of Jewish music and used world wide.

Alfred Sendrey was an American conductor and composer of Hungarian origin. Pupil of  Koessler in the Budapest Academy (1901-5), he worked in Germany, USA, Austria as an opera conductor (also with the Leipzig symphonic orchestra, 1924-32), and settled in Paris (1933-40) and finally in USA, where he finished his studies on Jewish music. He passed away on March 3rd, 1976 in Los Angeles.

Table of contents:
Section I. The Music of the Earlier and of the Neighboring Civilizations
Section II. The Bible and other Sources of Jewish Music
Section III. Systematic Survey of Biblical References to Music
Section IV. The Book of Psalms
Section V. Singing in Ancient Israel
Section VI. The Musical Instruments
Section VII. The Orchestra
Section VIII. The dance
Section IX. Music Instruction
Section X. The Supernatural Power of Music
Section XI. Women in the Music of Ancient israel
Section XII. Music Organization

Purchase the book

 

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Music in ancient Israel

Alfred Sendrey

Philosophical Library New York, 01-01-1969

Cet ouvrage traite de la musique de l’époque biblique et du début de l’époque talmudique. Particulièrement bien documenté, il présente les origines, les formes et l’éthique de la musique hébraïque. Il s’appuie sur des découvertes archéologiques récentes et sur la recherche biblique contemporaine, traitant non seulement de la musique sacrée, mais aussi du vaste domaine de la musique profane ancienne qui, jusqu’à présent, n’a été que faiblement appréhendé. La clarté avec laquelle l’auteur, Alfred Sendrey, interprète l’héritage musical commun au judaïsme et au christianisme est particulièrement intéressante pour le monde chrétien en cette période de discussion œcuménique. 

Alfred Sendrey (1884-1976) a été professeur de musicologie à l’Université du judaïsme de Los Angeles, et largement connu dans le monde de la musicologie pour son importante Bibliographie de la musique juive, publiée par Columbia University Press (1951). Cet ouvrage est encore aujourd’hui le principal livre de référence pour la recherche sur la musique juive et est utilisé dans le monde entier.

Alfred Sendrey était un chef d’orchestre et compositeur américain d’origine hongroise. Élève de Koessler à l’Académie de Budapest (1901-5), il a travaillé en Allemagne, aux États-Unis et en Autriche comme chef d’orchestre d’opéra (également de l’Orchestre symphonique de Leipzig, 1924-32), puis s’est installé à Paris (1933-40) et enfin aux États-Unis, où il a achevé ses études sur la musique juive. Il est décédé le 3 mars 1976 à Los Angeles.

Sommaire du livre :
Section I. The Music of the Earlier and of the Neighboring Civilizations
Section II. The Bible and other Sources of Jewish Music
Section III. Systematic Survey of Biblical References to Music
Section IV. The Book of Psalms
Section V. Singing in Ancient Israel
Section VI. The Musical Instruments
Section VII. The Orchestra
Section VIII. The dance
Section IX. Music Instruction
Section X. The Supernatural Power of Music
Section XI. Women in the Music of Ancient israel
Section XII. Music Organization

Commander le livre

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…