Salim Halali

Jewish-Arab song treasures - Buda Musique

A new CD in the collection “Treasures of Judeo-Arabic songs” published by Buda Musique, the marvelous voice of Salim Halali, born in 1920 in Annaba (Ex-Bône) in Algeria, testifies of Judeo-North African songs from the 1940’s until 1965.

Salim Halali was one of the finest voices of North African songs, in all musical genres. Today, even the new generation sings some of his songs, made known in particular by the Orchestre National de Barbès (Dour Biha Ya Chibani) or La Mano Negra (Sidi H’bibi), while not knowing who the original singer was.

When he began, Salim, born on July 30, 1920 in Annaba (ex-Bône) into a Jewish Berber family of bakers, dreamt of career as a Spanish singer. When he arrived in Paris in 1934, after a stop in Marseille, he began a “sevillana” repertoire, particularly marked by the hits of the French-Italian singer Rina Ketty, singer of “J’attendrai”. His beautiful voice is not unnoticed. He then decided to work on the North-African repertoire. His new vocation starts very strongly in the biggest theatre of Marseille, and continues in other cities in France.

Salim almost got caught in the horrors of Nazism, but was saved thanks to the rector of the Mosque of Paris. When the war was finished, Salim comes back to music and, once again, his beautiful voice, his performance on stage and his playing of the darbuka  please the audience, and puts on fire the Oriental dance clubs. A rich man (he was the singer that sold the most albums of North-African songs, and requests to entertain weddings of the richest people of the Arabic world), he purchased, in 1947, the Parisian hotel of Ferdinand de Lesseps, avenue Montaigne, which he transformed into a luxurious night club called « Ismaïlia Folies », and the next year, he opened « Le Sérail ». That impetus would be stopped by the death of his brothers and sisters.

Disgusted and scarred, he found refuge in Morocco where he was warmly welcomed. He would live there the rest of his life, long years of happiness between album recordings and live concerts until 1965, the year of his retirement. In poorly known circumstances, he lost all his estate, and ended his life in deprivation,

Are left behind his songs and voice that we will never forget.

learn more about Salim Halali

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Salim Halali

Trésors de la chanson judéo-arabe - Buda Musique

Un nouvel opus dans la collection “Trésors de la chanson judéo-arabe” publié chez Buda Musique, la voix somptueuse de Salim Halali, né en 1920 à Annaba (Ex-Bône) en Algérie, témoigne de la chanson judéo-maghrébine des années 1940 à 1965.

Salim Halali fut l’une des plus belles voix de la chanson maghrébine, tous genres confondus. Aujourd’hui, il arrive à une nouvelle génération de fredonner quelques-uns de ses titres, bien promus par l’Orchestre National de Barbès (Dour Biha Ya Chibani) ou La Mano Negra (Sidi H’bibi), tout en ignorant l’identité de son interprète originel.

A ses débuts, Salim, né le 30 juillet 1920 à Annaba (ex-Bône) au sein d’une famille juive berbère de boulangers, rêvait d’une carrière de chanteur espagnol. A son arrivée à Paris en 1934, après un détour par Marseille, il se lance dans le répertoire dit sevillana, marqué notamment par les succès de la franco-italienne Rina Ketty, interprète de J’attendrai. Sa voix de miel ne passe pas inaperçue. Il décide ensuite de s’investir dans le patrimoine maghrébin. Sa nouvelle vocation démarre en fanfare dans le plus grand cinéma de Marseille et il tourne dans d’autres villes de France.

Salim a failli être englouti dans les nuits et brouillards nazis et n’a du son salut qu’à l’intervention du recteur de la mosquée de Paris. A la Libération, Salim renoue avec la musique et, à nouveau, ses cordes vocales majestueuses, sa gestuelle pelvienne et sa frappe de derbouka séduisent, troublent et sèment le feu sur les pistes de danse de divers clubs orientaux. Riche (il détient le record de ventes d’albums de chant maghrébin et des sollicitations pour l’animation des mariages des plus grosses fortunes du monde arabe), il prend possession, en 1947, de l’hôtel particulier parisien de Ferdinand de Lesseps, avenue Montaigne, qu’il transforme en discothèque luxueuse baptisée « Ismaïlia Folies », et l’année suivante, il ouvre « Le Sérail ». Cet élan sera brisé par la perte de tous ses frères et sœurs.

Ecœuré et meurtri, il se réfugie au Maroc où il est accueilli chaleureusement. Il vivra, ainsi, de longues années de bonheur entre enregistrements d’albums à succès et prestations scéniques, jusqu’à 1965, année de son retrait. Dans des circonstances mal connues, il perdra tous ses biens, et finira son existence dans le dénuement le plus total,

Il nous reste ses chansons et cette voix dont on ne se lassera jamais.

En savoir plus sur Salim Halali

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…