Shalom Berlinski, the song from the heart

Listen to the most beautiful melodies of chazanut by Shalom Berlinski, first cantor in the synagogue of la Victoire from 1948 to 1979

From 1948 to 1979 Shalom Berlinski was the first cantor (Chazan) at the Great Synagogue of La Victoire in Paris. Present at all religious or official ceremonies, he has been a reference of French Ashkenazi cantorial art for more than thirty years.

Shalom Berlinski used to say, “Chazan is the most beautiful function that Judaism has created. (…) When one deepens the prayer and repeats it daily, one can really have an extraordinary spiritual satisfaction. “

During his long career, he will meet the greatest composers such as Henry Barraud, Jean Wiener, Darius Milhaud or Alexandre Tansman …

Between 1957 and 1968, in parallel with his religious functions of cantor at the synaggue of La Victoire, he taught chazanut (cantorial art) at the Israelite Seminary of Vauquelin Street in Paris, and, more specifically, the “singing” of the Torah in the Ashkenazi rite.

On September 28, 2008, he passed away.

“His broad and supple voice expresses in their many shades the feelings of the faithful: adoration, thanksgiving, joy, pain, hope, anguish, but at the office of Yom Kippur, it surpasses and raises us to the top of the Jewish spirituality … “About Jacob Kaplan, Chief Rabbi of France, from the 33 rpm record” Yom Kippour and Sabbath Prayers, Schalom Berlinsky, First cantor of La Victoire – Choir Temple under the direction of Maurice Franck, at the organ: Jean Bonfils “

Purchase the CD Shalom Berlinski.

 

 

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Jacques Arnold, a life serving chazanut

In the collection « Life courses », discover the endearing personality of the cantor Jacques Arnold, who tells us about…

The Best Jewish Songs in the World

This CD contains 30 pieces of Hebrew and Yiddish music orchestrated by Benedict Silberman. Originally published by the Capitol label…

Shalom Berlinski, le chant du cœur

Les plus beaux airs de hazzanout de Shalom Berlinski, Premier Ministre-Officiant à la synagogue de la Victoire de 1948 à 1979

De 1948 et 1979 Shalom Berlinski occupe le poste de Premier Ministre-Officiant (Hazzan) à la grande synagogue de la Victoire à Paris. Présent à toutes les cérémonies religieuses ou officielles, il a été une référence de l’art cantorial ashkénaze français, pendant plus de trente ans.

Shalom Berlinski avait pour habitude de dire : « Hazzan, c’est la plus belle fonction que le judaïsme ait créée. (…) Lorsque l’on approfondit la prière et qu’on la répète quotidiennement, on peut vraiment avoir une satisfaction spirituelle extraordinaire. »

Au cours de sa longue carrière, il sera amené à côtoyer les plus grands compositeurs tels que Henry Barraud, Jean Wiener, Darius Milhaud ou Alexandre Tansman…

Entre 1957 et 1968, parallèlement à ses fonctions religieuses de chantre à la Victoire, il enseigne la hazzanout (art cantorial) au Séminaire Israélite de la rue Vauquelin à Paris, et, plus spécifiquement la lecture chantée de la Torah dans le rite ashkénaze.

Le 28 septembre 2008, il décède, entouré de ses proches.

« Sa voix ample et souple exprime dans leurs multiples nuances les sentiments des fidèles : adoration, action de grâces, joie, douleur, espoir, angoisse, mais à l’office du Kippour, elle se surpasse et nous élève jusqu’au sommet de la spiritualité juive… » Propos de Jacob Kaplan, Grand Rabbin de France, issus du Disque 33 tours “Prières de Kippour et de Sabbat, Schalom Berlinsky, Premier Ministre Officiant du Temple Victoire – Choeur sous la direction de Maurice Franck, à l’orgue : Jean Bonfils

Commander le CD Shalom Berlinski.

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Conférence : Les traditions musicales de la communauté juive hispano-portugaise à partir du XIXe siècle, par Hervé Roten

Le 4 décembre 2022 à partir de 14h au CAPC Musée d’art contemporain, à Bordeaux, conférence de Hervé Roten donnée…

La musique synagogale à Paris à l’époque du premier temple consistorial (1822-1874)

Dans sa thèse désormais disponible en version numérisée, Gérard Ganvert nous livre une étude approfondie de la musique synagogale à…

KALARASH – Musique klezmer, chansons yiddish et françaises

Ce 8e CD de la Collection Découvertes regroupe des airs de musique klezmer, des chansons yiddish et françaises, de Kalarash,…