Shimmering Lights – Hanukkah Music

Yale Strom’s Broken Consort

Produced by the American ethnomusicologist, musician, composer and film director Yale Strom, this album showcases 10 pieces of music, from 4 to 12 minutes each. Comprising traditional pieces and original compositions, built from various musical influences from various countries, this disc is a tribute to the many ways of celebrating Hanukkah around the world.

Performed by a string quartet, accompanied by an acoustic guitar, an electric guitar, an ud and vocals, Shimmering Lights presents songs in Hebrew, Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish and English. The first tune, Maoz Tzur, reveals the musical path taken by Yale Strom. This isn’t the melody everyone knows and sings along with their family, but an Arab-Andalusian and Berber tune from Morocco. The first notes are played by an ud, soon followed by a double bass, a guitar, vocals and then the string quartet. Going from traditional to art music, this first tune does not let us guess what follows, which is as surprising as it is harmonious.

To the two above-mentioned styles, one can also hear influences from jazz, blues, klezmer, bluegrass, Texas swing… An eclectic compilation, which takes us on a journey from Poland to North Africa, passing by Greece, the Middle East and the United States.
One learns much about how Hanukkah is celebrated around the world from the album’s rich liner notes. ‘Kita’l Tas’ explores the custom of Greek Sephardic children going from house to house during Hanukkah singing festive songs while also asking for flour and oil, which they took home to their mothers to cook some holiday foods.

The food eaten during Hanukkah features on Shimmering Lights such as burmuelos (muffins) on Azeremos La Merenda and Latkes (potato pancakes). Azeremos La Merenda focuses on the importance of oil for Hannukkah, and speaks of the transmission of food recipes from mother to daughter. The song Latkes, based on the folk song Bulbes (potatoes), speaks of how Jewish families were so poor they had to eat potatoes everyday. But on Shabbat, one cooked a special dish… made of potatoes

Like the miracle of the cruse of oil which permitted the purification and re-inauguration of Jerusalem’s Temple, this beautiful CD reminds us that Hanukkah’s magical spirit is still with us, whatever culture we belong to or country we come from.

Learn more
Order the CD
Read Yale Strom’s biography

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Shimmering Lights – Hanukkah Music

Yale Strom’s Broken Consort

Conçu par l’ethnomusicologue, musicien, compositeur et réalisateur américain Yale Strom, cet album comporte 10 morceaux, longs de 4 à 12 minutes chacun. Composé de pièces traditionnelles et de compositions, traversé par des influences musicales de différents pays, ce disque est un hommage aux nombreuses façons d’observer la fête de Hanouca à travers le monde.

Interprété par un quatuor à cordes, accompagné d’une guitare acoustique, une guitare électrique, un oud et une voix, Shimmering Lights présente des thèmes chantés en hébreu, en yiddish, en judéo-espagnol et en anglais. Le premier morceau, Maoz Tzur, est révélateur de la démarche musicale de Yale Strom. Ce n’est pas la mélodie que tout le monde connait et chante en famille, mais un air arabo-andalou et berbère du Maroc. Dès les premières notes, un solo de oud est rejoint par une contrebasse, une guitare, la voix, puis le quatuor à cordes. Passant d’une musique traditionnelle à une musique savante écrite, ce premier morceau ne nous laisse pas deviner la suite, aussi surprenante qu’harmonieuse.

Aux deux styles musicaux précités, on peut également entendre des influences de jazz, de blues, de klezmer, de bluegrass, de swing du Texas… Une compilation éclectique, qui nous fait voyager de Pologne au Maghreb, en passant par la Grèce, le Proche-Orient et les Etats-Unis.
Le riche livret du CD nous livre de précieuses informations. La chanson Kita’l Tas nous rapporte la tradition des enfants sépharades de Grèce d’aller de maison en maison pour chanter et demander de la farine et de l’huile, qu’ils ramènent à leurs mères pour cuisiner les plats de fête.

La nourriture est également présente sur le CD. Azeremos La Merenda insiste sur l’importance de l’huile pour Hanouca, et parle de la transmission des recettes familiales. La chanson Latkes, basée sur le morceau folklorique yiddish Bulbes, parle de l’obligation pour les familles pauvres de manger des pommes de terre tous les jours. Mais, durant shabbat, on cuisinait un plat spécial, plus travaillé, à base de … pommes de terre.

Tel le miracle de la fiole d’huile qui permit la purification et ré-inauguration du Temple de Jérusalem, ce magnifique CD nous rappelle que la magie de Hanouca est toujours présente, quel que soit notre pays d’origine ou notre culture.

En savoir plus
Commander le CD
Lire la biographie de Yale Strom

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…