Soul of Yiddish

Travelling between her love of classical music and the folk repertoire of Eastern Europe, where she finds her roots, Noëmi Waysfeld created a musical journey which links those two worlds. Soul of Yiddish, released by AWZ in March 2021, takes us to the melancholic beauty of traditional Yiddish songs, mixed with original compositions on texts written by the poetess Rivka Kope (1910-1995), as well as a Yiddish cover of the Barbara’s French song A peine.

Noëmi Waysfeld sang many times absence and despair. The songs of Russian prisoners in Siberia in Kalyma (2012), the melancholic Portuguese fado in Alfama (2015), and the solitude provoked by the loss of a dear one in Zimlya (2019).

In Soul of Yiddish, her fifth album, it is no longer question of exile, but more of travelling. Noëmi Waysfeld delivers an intimate and spiritual story; an exploration of her roots, for which she surrounded herself with the violin player Sarah Nemtanu, the guitarist Kevin Seddiki and the double bass player Antoine Rozenbaum.

Just like a story-teller, Noëmi Waysfeld’s voice sound sandy, veiled, like the soft glow of a candle. And to finish in magnificence, she concludes the album with a beautiful performance of Kol Nidreï, the prayer opening the celebration of Yom Kippur.

The Rabbi Delphine Horvilleur reminds us, in the introduction of the booklet of the CD Soul of Yiddish, that the history of the Jewish religion often deprived women to sing prayers. This Kol Nidreï can be considered as a kick in an anthill: « This liturgy from Yom Kippur claims that our words are neither reliable nor credible. Women, throughout history, were precisely accused of not being trustworthy. Now is the time to make hear other speeches. When their voices rise to lead the prayer or to revisit it, this « naked » truth suddenly appears. »

  • Noëmi Waysfeld, vocals
  • Sarah Nemtanu, violin
  • Antoine Rozenbaum, double bass
  • Kévin Seddiki, guitar, arrangements and compositions

Purchase the album

Sources :

0:00
0:00

You may also like

The organ in the Jewish tradition

On May 21, 1856, the conference of the French chief rabbis, presided by the chief rabbi of France Salomon Ulmann…

Conference – The place of the organ in the Jewish tradition – Hervé Roten

Sunday, October 24, 2021 from 2 to 3 pm - LE KARE - Boulogne-Billancourt (92100). Conference on the evolution of…

Soul of Yiddish

Évoluant entre son amour de la musique classique et le répertoire populaire d’Europe orientale où elle a ses racines, Noëmi Waysfeld a conçu un voyage musical qui lui permet de relier ces deux sources. Soul of Yiddish, sorti en mars 2021 chez AWZ, nous entraîne dans la beauté mélancolique des chansons traditionnelles yiddish, mêlées à des compositions originales sur des textes de la poétesse Rivka Kope (1910-1995), ainsi qu’une reprise elle aussi en yiddish d’A peine de Barbara.

Noëmi Waysfeld a de nombreuses fois chanté l’absence et l’arrachement. Les chants de prisonniers russes en Sibérie dans Kalyma (2012), la mélancolie du fado portugais dans Alfama (2015), et la solitude que provoque la perte d’un être cher dans Zimlya (2019).

Dans Soul of Yiddish, son cinquième album, il n’est plus question d’exil mais plutôt de voyage. Noëmi Waysfeld livre le récit intime et spirituel d’un être en quête d’envol. Une exploration de ses racines, pour laquelle elle s’est entourée de la violoniste Sarah Nemtanu, du guitariste Kevin Seddiki et du contrebassiste Antoine Rozenbaum.

Semblable ici à celle d’une conteuse, la voix de Noëmi Waysfeld est sablonneuse, voilée, comparable à la douce lueur d’une bougie. Et pour finir en toute splendeur, elle conclut l’album avec une magnifique interprétation du Kol Nidreï, cette prière qui ouvre les célébrations de Yom Kippour.

Comme le rappelle le rabbin Delphine Horvilleur, dans l’introduction du livret de Soul of Yiddish, l’histoire de la religion juive a souvent privé les femmes de chanter les prières. Ce Kol Nidreï peut être perçu comme un coup de pied dans la fourmilière : « Cette liturgie de Kippour affirme que nos paroles ne sont ni fiables ni crédibles. Les femmes, tout au long de l’histoire, ont été précisément accusées de ne pas être dignes de confiance. L’heure est à faire résonner d’autres discours. Quand leurs voix s’élèvent pour mener la prière ou la revisiter, cette vérité « toute nue » apparaît soudain. »

  • Noëmi Waysfeld, chant
  • Sarah Nemtanu, violon
  • Antoine Rozenbaum, contrebasse
  • Kévin Seddiki, guitare, arrangements et compositions

Acheter l’album

Sources :

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

L’orgue dans la tradition juive

Le 21 mai 1856, la conférence des grands rabbins français, présidée par le grand rabbin de France Salomon Ulmann (1806…

Conférence – La place de l’orgue dans la tradition juive – Hervé Roten

Dimanche 24 octobre 2021 de 14h à 15h - LE KARE - Boulogne-Billancourt (92100). Conférence sur l’évolution du rôle de…