The yiddish cabaret – Korngold / Schulhoff / Desyatnikov

Hila Baggio, soprano / Jerusalem Quartet

Harmonia Mundi, 2019

The disc’s program is the result of a work by the Jerusalem’s Quartet around the music of Yiddish cabarets in Poland between the two world wars. For nearly two years, the four musicians, assisted by the musicologist Gila Flam, began research in the archives of Jerusalem’s National Library. After a long task of selection, they retained five Yiddish songs that were sung in the Jewish cabarets of Warsaw and Łódź between 1919 and 1939. The first is a nostalgic song about Warsaw (Varshe), the second a parody of an American song which tells about the fate of a Jewish prostitute (In a hoyz vu men veynt un men lakht). The third (Ikh ganve in der nakht) and fifth songs (Ikh vel shoyn mer nit ganvenen) come from the repertoire of Yiddish « thieves songs » of the Jewish mob. The fourth song (Yosl und Sore-Dvoshe) is a duet between a man and a woman who live in poverty but dream of having a big family and living happily in a big town.
These five songs served as the “raw material” for a creation by Israeli composer Leonid Desyatnikov (1955) who made an adaptation for vocals (performed here in Yiddish by the Israeli soprano Hila Baggio) and string quartet. As it is described by Desyatnikov in the booklet of the disc written by Gila Flam : “This cycle is a series of free transcriptions for this music, commonly considered “low value”. It’s the eclectic culture of the proletarian and foreign, the culture of the cheap and posh, and, at the same time – in its best ways – an insolent and talented culture, full of self-irony and of imminent despair.” Gila Flam adds that “the Jewish musicians and performers played a leading role in Poland’s popular music, contributing to help enlarge the repertoire of Polish and Yiddish songs. With this, they influenced all the European cabaret’s music as well as Hollywood’s film music, and the music of theatres on Broadway in America.”

And it is precisely in Hollywood that the Jewish composer Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957) enjoyed most of his career. Born in Brno in Austria-Hungaria on the 29th of May 1897, a child prodigy, sometimes compared to Mozart, he is one of the last representatives of Viennese romantism. In 1925, he was the most frequently played composer after Richard Strauss in the German speaking countries. In 1934, he made his first trip to the USA, where he wrote essentially film music for Warner Bros. After a brief return to Vienna in 1937, he settled down definitively in 1938. Over a period of twelve years, he wrote eighteen film music, two of them (Anthony Adverse and Robin Hood) awarded with Oscars.
His string quartet n° 2 op. 26, in four movements, was composed in 1933 and debuted in Vienna by the Rose Quartet on March 16, 1934, just before the composer left for the USA. According to Jerusalem’s string quartet, this work by Korngold expresses his deep nostalgia for Central Europe’s musical traditions.

The last piece of music of this disc – slightly eclectic – is from the Czech composer Erwin Schulhoff (1894-1942). Born in Prague in 1894 in a Jewish family, Schulhoff was noticed very early on and encouraged by Dvořák. His style is characterized by a mix of atonality, surrealism and popular repertoire. Arrested by the Nazis on June 22nd 1941, he was interned in the Wülzburg’s fortress, in Bavaria, where he died of tuberculosis on the 28th of August 1942.
His Five pieces for string quartet (1923), dedicated to Darius Milhaud, were performed for the first time in Salzburg on the 8th of August 1924. They consist of a series of dances (waltz, tango, tarentella…) which take their inspiration from popular music of the time.

Learn more about the Jerusalem’s Quartet
Order the CD

 

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

HEVENU SHALOM ALEKHEM N° 1 – 2 – 3

The EIJM publishing house releases a three new scores' collection by Itaï Daniel around the traditional song Hevenu Shalom Alekhem

The yiddish cabaret – Korngold / Schulhoff / Desyatnikov

Hila Baggio, soprano / Jerusalem Quartet

Harmonia Mundi, 2019

Le programme de ce disque résulte d’un travail du Quatuor de Jérusalem autour de la musique des cabarets yiddish en Pologne durant l’entre-deux guerres. Pendant près de deux ans, les quatre musiciens, assistés de la musicologue Gila Flam, ont entrepris des recherches dans les archives de la Bibliothèque nationale de Jérusalem. Après un long travail de sélection, ils ont retenu cinq chansons yiddish qui circulaient dans les cabarets juifs de Varsovie et de Łódź entre 1919 et 1939. La première est une chanson nostalgique sur la ville de Varsovie (Varshe), la deuxième, une parodie d’une chanson américaine qui raconte le sort d’une prostituée juive (In a hoyz vu men veynt un men lakht). Les troisième (Ikh ganve in der nakht) et cinquième chansons (Ikh vel shoyn mer nit ganvenen) viennent du répertoire des « chants des voleurs » yiddish de la pègre juive. La quatrième chanson (Yosl und Sore-Dvoshe) est un duo entre un homme et une femme qui vivent dans la pauvreté mais rêvent d’avoir une grande famille et de vivre heureux dans une grande ville.
Ces cinq chansons ont servi de « matière première » à une création du compositeur israélien Leonid Desyatnikov (1955) qui en a fait une adaptation pour voix (interprétée ici en yiddish par la soprano israélienne Hila Baggio) et quatuor à cordes. Comme le précise Desyatnikov dans le livret documenté du disque rédigé par Gila Flam : « Mon cycle est une série de transcriptions libres de cette musique, communément qualifiée de « bas de gamme ». C’est la culture éclectique du prolétariat et des étrangers, la culture du chic bon marché, et, en même temps – dans ses meilleures formes -, une culture insolente et talentueuse, pleine d’auto-ironie et de désespoir latent. » Gila Flam ajoute que « les musiciens et interprètes juifs jouaient un rôle de premier plan dans la musique populaire en Pologne, contribuant à élargir le répertoire des chansons polonaises et yiddish. Ce faisant, ils ont influencé toute la musique de cabaret européenne ainsi que la musique de film hollywoodienne et la musique des théâtres de Broadway en Amérique. »

Et c’est justement à Hollywood que le compositeur juif Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957) a fait l’essentiel de sa carrière. Né à Brno en Autriche-Hongrie le 29 mai 1897, enfant prodige, parfois comparé à Mozart, il est l’un des derniers représentants du romantisme viennois. En 1925, il est le compositeur le plus joué après Richard Strauss dans les pays germanophones. En 1934, il fait un premier séjour aux USA, où il compose principalement de la musique de film pour la firme Warner Bros. Après un bref retour à Vienne en 1937, il émigre définitivement en 1938. En douze ans, il écrit dix-huit musiques de film, dont deux (Anthony Adverse et Robin des Bois) récompensées par des Oscars.
Son Quatuor à cordes n° 2 op. 26, en quatre mouvements, a été composé en 1933 et créé à Vienne par le quatuor Rose le 16 mars 1934, juste avant le départ du compositeur aux USA. Selon le quatuor à cordes de Jérusalem, cette œuvre de Korngold traduit sa profonde nostalgie des traditions musicales d’Europe centrale.

La dernière œuvre de ce disque – un tant soit peu éclectique – est due au compositeur tchèque Erwin Schulhoff (1894-1942). Né à Prague en 1894 dans une famille juive, Schulhoff a été très tôt remarqué et encouragé par Dvořák. Son style se caractérise par un mélange d’atonalité, de surréalisme et de répertoires populaires. Arrêté par les Nazis le 22 juin 1941, il sera interné dans la forteresse de Wülzburg, en Bavière, où il mourra de la tuberculose le 28 août 1942.
Ses Cinq pièces pour quatuor à cordes (1923), dédicacées à Darius Milhaud, ont été jouées pour la première fois à Salzbourg le 8 août 1924. Elles se présentent comme une suite de danses (valse, tango, tarentelle…) qui puisent leur inspiration dans la musique populaire de l’époque.

En savoir plus sur le Jerusalem Quartet
Commander le CD

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…