Alberto Hemsi : Coplas Sefardies

Tehila Nini Goldstein, soprano - Jascha Nemtsov, piano

The catalogue of the recorded works of Alberto Hemsi (1898-1975) gets bigger with the release of a new 3 CD box set published by Hänsser Classic, on September 30, 2020. The soprano singer Tehila Nini Goldstein and the pianist Jascha Nemtsov perform all 60 Judeo-Spanish songs (Coplas Sefardies) published in 10 collections, between 1932 and 1973, by Hemsi. Recorded between 2017 and 2020, this edition, which wants to appear as complete (all verses are sung in their original tone), includes two other compositions by Hemsi : Hamicha chirim (Five Hebrew Songs), op. 25, written in 1947, dedicated to Bracha Zefira, and published in Florence in 1948, and Yom g(u)ila yavo, yavo ! (Hebrew sketch) op. 17, published in Alexandria in 1934.

The Coplas Sefardies are a collection of Judeo-Spanish songs for voice and piano, composed by Alberto Hemsi from 230 poems and tunes collected in the Sefardi communities of the former Ottoman Empire between 1923 and 1937. From this vast corpus, Hemsi retained 60 traditional melodies in which he composed piano parts « of which the carrying out turned out to be quite complicated, because it wasn’t simply a question of ‘accompanying’ the songs, but of encapsulating them into little symphonic tableaux, in order to suggest, as much as possible, the atmosphere, the spiritual state of mind, the subject and the melody ». The Coplas Sefardies by Alberto Hemsi, with Iberian and Oriental accents, offer a renewed vision ot the Judeo-Spanish oral tradition in the spirit of Western Art music of the beginning of the 20th century.

This new recording of the Coplas Sefardies completes an already long list of publications dedicated to the masterwork of Alberto Hemsi, performed by Amparito Péris de Prulière (in the 1960’s ?), Mira Zakai (1988), Pedro Aledo (2005) or Assaf Levitin (2018-2019)…

For more than 3 hours, Jasha Nemtsov’s piano accompanies with delight and virtuosity the powerful and lyrical voice of the soprano singer Tehila Nini Goldstein, in a repertoire which blends the main genres of Judeo-Spanish poetry : romances (medieval ballads), cantigas (songs of the daily life) and coplas (songs based on Hebrew religious forms, such as the 2 Passover songs Un cabretico and the numbers song Quen supiense y entendiense). Written by Jasha Nemtsov, the 104 page booklet that comes with the CD box set is quite remarkable. Besides Alberto Hemsi’s biography, it includes all the texts of the songs as well as their translation in English.

A CD box set you can listen to all year long…

Purchase the CD

Listen to the various recordings of Alberto Hemsi’s Coplas Sefardies on our catalogue

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Alberto Hemsi : Coplas Sefardies

Tehila Nini Goldstein, soprano - Jascha Nemtsov, piano

Le catalogue des œuvres enregistrées de Alberto Hemsi (1898-1975) s’étoffe avec la sortie d’un nouveau coffret de 3 CD paru chez Hänsser Classic, le 30 septembre 2020. La soprano Tehila Nini Goldstein et le pianiste Jascha Nemtsov nous livrent l’intégrale des 60 chansons judéo-espagnoles (Coplas Sefardies) publiées en 10 recueils, entre 1932 et 1973, par Hemsi. Enregistrée entre 2017 et 2020, cette édition, qui se veut exhaustive (intégralité des couplets chantés dans leur tonalité originelle), comporte également deux autres compositions de Hemsi : Hamicha chirim (Five Hebrew Songs), op. 25, écrits en 1947, dédiés à Bracha Zefira, et publiés à Florence en 1948, ainsi que Yom g(u)ila yavo, yavo ! (Esquisse hébraïque) op. 17, publié à Alexandrie en 1934.

Les Coplas Sefardies sont un recueil de chansons judéo-espagnoles pour voix et piano, composées par Alberto Hemsi à partir de 230 poésies et mélodies collectées dans les communautés séfarades de l’ancien Empire Ottoman entre 1923 et 1937. De ce corpus important, Hemsi a retenu 60 mélodies traditionnelles pour lesquelles il composa « des parties pianistiques, dont la réalisation s’avérait assez compliquée, parce qu’il ne s’agissait nullement ‘d’accompagner’ simplement les dits chants, mais de les encadrer dans de petits tableaux symphoniques, afin de les faire suggérer autant que possible, l’ambiance, l’état d’âme, le sujet et la mélodie ». Les Coplas Sefardies d’Alberto Hemsi, aux accents ibériques et orientaux, offrent une vision renouvelée de la tradition orale judéo-espagnole magnifiée dans l’esprit de la musique savante occidentale du début du 20e siècle.

Ce nouvel enregistrement des Coplas Sefardies vient compléter la liste déjà longue des parutions dédiées à l’œuvre maîtresse de Alberto Hemsi, interprétée notamment par Amparito Péris de Prulière (dans les années 1960 ?), Mira Zakai (1988), Pedro Aledo (2005) ou encore Assaf Levitin (2018-2019)…

Durant plus de 3 heures et demie, le piano de Jasha Nemtsov accompagne avec finesse et virtuosité la voix puissante et lyrique de la soprano Tehila Nini Goldstein, dans un répertoire mêlant les principaux genres de la poésie judéo-espagnole : romances (ballades médiévales), cantigas (chants de la vie quotidienne) et coplas (chants à caractère religieux hébraïques, telles les 2 chansons de Pessah Un cabretico et la chanson des nombres Quen supiense y entendiense). Rédigé par Jasha Nemtsov, le livret de 104 pages accompagnant le coffret est assez remarquable. Outre la biographie de Alberto Hemsi, il comporte l’intégralité des textes des chansons et leur traduction en anglais.

Un coffret à savourer tout au long de l’année…

Commander le CD

Consulter les différents enregistrements des Coplas Sefardies de Alberto Hemsi sur notre catalogue

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…