Alberto Hemsi – Coplas sefardies

MUSICAL HERITAGE OF THE JEWS FROM FRANCE COLLECTION, Vol 4

This new CD from the collection Musical heritage of Jews from France made by the Foundation of French Judaism is dedicated to the Sephardi music of Jews from the Iberian Peninsula that had been expelled from Spain (1492) and from Portugal (1497).

Alberto Hemsi, born in Turkey (in Cassaba, small village East from Smyrne), and who comes from this diaspora, settled in Paris in the 1950’s. An acclaimed composer, winner of many international prizes, he leaves an important legacy of work of high quality, much of it often unpublished.

The “Coplas Serfardies” are a collection of Judeo-Spanish songs for voice and piano, written by Alberto Hemsi and based on 230 poems and melodies collected in the Sephardi communities of the ancient Ottoman Empire between 1923 and 1937. This symbiosis between traditional chant and art music, oral spontaneity and written out thought offers a renewed vision of Judeo-Spanish tradition further amplified by Alberto Hemsi’s creation.

Pedro Aledo, executor, composer and painter, has sung this repertoire for almost 20 years. He is accompanied by the young pianist Ludovic Amadeus Selmi, winner of the International Academy Maurice Ravel Prize, the Franz Liszt National Contest, the Barcelona International Contest…

Buy the CD online on EIJM’s shop

Information: 01 45 82 20 52 ; contact@iemj.org

alberto-hemsi-coplas-sefardies_couv4.jpg

 

 

 

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Alberto Hemsi – Coplas sefardies

COLLECTION PATRIMOINES MUSICAUX DES JUIFS DE FRANCE, VOL 4

Ce nouveau disque de la collection « Patrimoines Musicaux des Juifs de France » de la Fondation du Judaïsme Français est consacré à la musique des Séfarades, Juifs de la péninsule ibérique expulsés d’Espagne (1492) et du Portugal (1497).

Alberto Hemsi, né en Turquie (à Cassaba, bourgade à l’est de Smyrne) et issu de cette diaspora, s’installa à Paris dans les années 50. Compositeur reconnu, titulaire de nombreux prix internationaux, il laissa une œuvre importante d’une exceptionnelle qualité, et souvent inédite.

Les Coplas Sefardies sont un recueil de chansons judéo-espagnoles pour voix et piano, composées par Alberto Hemsi à partir de 230 poésies et mélodies collectées dans les communautés séfarades de l’ancien Empire Ottoman entre 1923 et 1937. Cette symbiose entre chant traditionnel et art savant, spontanéité orale et pensée écrite offre une vision renouvelée de la tradition judéo-espagnole magnifiée par la création d’Alberto Hemsi.

Pedro Aledo, interprète, compositeur et peintre, met sa voix au service de ce répertoire qu’il pratique depuis près de 20 ans. Il est accompagné par le jeune pianiste-concertiste Ludovic Amadeus Selmi, lauréat, entre autres, du CNR de Marseille, de l’Académie Internationale Maurice Ravel, du Concours National Franz Liszt et du Concours internatonal de Barcelone.

Acheter le CD en ligne sur la boutique de l’IEMJ

Renseignements au 01 45 82 20 52 ; contact@iemj.org

alberto-hemsi-coplas-sefardies_couv4.jpg

 

 

 

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…