Hebrew songs for children – Sabbath songs for children

Published in New-York at the beginning of the 1950’s, these boxes containing two discs each, prepared by Hannah Harris, feature songs for children, sung in Hebrew and accompanied on the piano by Seymour Silbermintz. 

 

Beautifully illustrated by Doug Anderson and David Cohen, the 78 RPM disc boxes Hebrew songs for children and Sabbath Songs for children were produced by the Mizrachi National Education Committee, and published by the American music label Minedco Records.

 

photo_2_disques_230px_vertic.jpg img_20191202_150729392_1__recentre_230px_vertic.jpg

 

rond_de_disque_250px_vertic.jpg

 The first disc box features short narrations and nursery rhymes on various subjects : animals, trains, circle dances or just the rain. The educational aspect is never forgotten : with the text transcribed in Hebrew and transliterated, the children can learn what they hear.

The second disc box gathers Sabbath songs. Seymour Silbermintz, singing and playing the piano, is accompanied by the soprano singer Shirley Cohen and Maurice Levine does the narration in English.

A delight for the ears as much as for the eyes ! 

seymour_silbermintz.jpgSeymour [Shlomo] Silbermintz (1917-2000) has an abundant list of musical works. Cantor, choirmaster, composer and teacher, Silbermintz taught at the Juilliard School in New York and in Brooklyn College.

Music consultant for the Jewish education committee of New-York, he also led several Jewish choirs in New-York, among which the Choral Society, created in 1924 by Zaevil Zilberts, the Jewish choir, and the choral of Zionist youth that he created.

Silbermintz passed away in New-York on June 18th, 2000.

 

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Chansons hébraïques et chants de Shabbat pour enfants

Hebrew songs for children - Sabbath Songs for children

Publiés à New-York au début des années 1950, ces coffrets conçus par Hannah Harris présentent des chansons hébraïques et chants de Shabbat pour enfants, interprétées et accompagnées au piano par Seymour Silbermintz.

Magnifiquement illustrés par Doug Anderson et David Cohen, les coffrets de 78 tours Hebrew songs for children et Sabbath Songs for children ont été produit par le Mizrachi National Education Committee, et publiés par le label américain Minedco Records.

photo_2_disques_230px_vertic.jpg img_20191202_150729392_1__recentre_230px_vertic.jpg

rond_de_disque_250px_vertic.jpg

Le premier coffret alterne courtes narrations et comptines sur des sujets variés : animaux, trains, danses en cercle ou tout simplement la pluie. La dimension éducative n’est jamais oubliée : grâce au texte retranscrit en hébreu et translittéré, les enfants peuvent s’approprier ce qu’ils entendent.

Le deuxième coffret réunit des chansons de shabbat. Seymour Silbermintz, au chant et au piano, est accompagné de la chanteuse soprano Shirley Cohen et de Maurice Levine qui assure, quant à lui, la narration en anglais.

Un régal des yeux, autant que des oreilles !

seymour_silbermintz.jpgSeymour [Shlomo] Silbermintz (1917-2000) est l’auteur d’une œuvre abondante. Chantre, chef de chœur, compositeur et professeur, Silbermintz a dispensé des cours à la Juilliard School de New York et au Brooklyn College.

Consultant en musique auprès du Comité d’éducation juive de New York, il a également dirigé de nombreuses chorales juives à New York, parmi lesquelles la Choral Society, créée en 1924 par Zaevil Zilberts, la chorale juive et le chœur de la jeunesse sioniste qu’il a fondé.

Silbermintz est décédé à New York le 18 juin 2000.

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…