Chekhov’s Band – Eastern European Klezmer music from the EMI archives 1908-1913

Archive recordings which bring new insights about klezmer music

Coming with a tremendously rich booklet, a true historical and ethnomusicological essay, this CD released in September 2015 features archive recordings, unpublished until now, and absolutely breathtaking, coming from the archive collection of The EMI Archive Trust, an organization which aims to conserve the fifty first years of the Gramophone company (which became EMI), between 1897 and 1946.

Dating from before World War I, these recordings of instrumental Jewish music come from Odessa, Kharkov, Poltava, Czernowitz, Lemberg and Vilna. They are performed by various artists such as the virtuoso clarinet player Titunshnayder, the violinists Jascha Gegner and Oscar Zehngut, the Jewish Wedding Orchestra of Bak, the Giter Orchestra, and the Czernowitzer Civilkapelle.

The booklet, written partly by Michael Aylward, a specialist of the Jewish disc industry, and Joel Rubin, teacher in the university of Virginia in USA, and famous clarinet player, presents a full research on the context and the actors of this musical production, opening new angles on klezmer music, its history, its sounds.

The CD is produced by Julian Futter and Michael Aylward for Renair Records : http://www.jewishrecords.co.uk/ and distributed by Honest Jons.

cd_665_couv4.jpg

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Chekhov’s Band – Eastern European Klezmer music from the EMI archives 1908-1913

Des enregistrements d'archives qui apportent un éclairage nouveau sur le klezmer

Accompagné d’un livret extrêmement riche, véritable essai historique et ethnomusicologique, ce disque sorti en septembre 2015 nous livre des enregistrements d’archives jusqu’alors inédits et inouïs, provenant de la collection des archives de The EMI Archive Trust, une organisation qui vise à conserver les cinquante premières années de la compagnie Gramophone (devenue EMI) entre 1897 et 1946.

Datant d’avant la Première Guerre mondiale, ces enregistrements de musique juive instrumentale proviennent d’Odessa, de Kharkov, de Poltava, Czernowitz, Lemberg, et encore Vilna. Ils sont interprétés par des artistes variés parmi lesquels le clarinettiste virtuose Titunshnayder et les violonistes Jascha Gegner et Oscar Zehngut, l’Orchestre Juif de Mariage de Bak, l’Orchestre de Giter, et la Czernowitzer Civilkapelle.

Le livret, rédigé notamment par Michael Aylward, spécialiste de l’industrie discographique juive, et Joel Rubin, professeur à l’Université de Virginie aux Etats-Unis et clarinettiste de renom, présente une recherche approfondie sur le contexte et les acteurs de cette production musicale, ouvrant de nouvelles perspectives sur le klezmer, son histoire, ses sonorités.

Le disque est produit par Julian Futter et Michael Aylward pour Renair Records : http://www.jewishrecords.co.uk/ et distribué par Honest Jons.

cd_665_couv4.jpg

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…