Conference : Yiddish music in cabarets after WWII

Medem-Arbeter Ring center, April 22, 2017

A filmed conference, as part of the first edition of “Campus en musique” organized by the Medem-Arbeter Ring about Jewish Music in Paris in the Aftermath of WWII, presented by Hervé Roten, director of the European Institute of Jewish Music, and David Winter, grand-nephew of the singer Dave Cash

In the immediate period after the war, the Jews tried to reconstruct, individually and collectively. Paris was then the center for hopes of revitalisation of Jewish life in Europe, and the place of passage or settlement for the survivors in search of a new home. Many organizations took part in the cultural life : Jewish societies, theatres, but also cafes and cabarets, such as La Riviera held by Bernard Potock and Dave Cash, le Habibi Club held by Sigmunt Berland (formerly known as the Petit Rancho) or the dancing-cabaret Le Zodiac. In the beginning of the 1960’s, Dave Cash opened the Cabaret Bagatelle, on 29 rue de Clichy. A few years later, he moved and opened in the Pigalle neighborhood Le Cabaret Yiddish, which would close down in the 1970’s, because of the lack of clients.

Photographies, posters, press clips and many 78 and 33 RPM discs, kept traces of that shiny time of Yiddish cabarets. Between 1948 and 1953, the music label Elesdisc recorded at least 154 songs performed by great artists such as Henri Gerro, Dave Cash, Sarah Gorby, Richard Inger, Elvira Boczkowska, Simon Nussbaum, Max Neufeld…

In 2015, the Music label of the European Institute of Jewish Music released a 6 CD boxset which gathered over 120 songs that witnessed the creative atmosphere of Jewish cabarets of after the war, where artists dared to mix folklore and samba, nostalgic tangos or satirical swings, in Yiddish, and also in Russian, Hebrew, Romanian…

Purchase the 6 CD boxset on the online EIJM’s shop

Produce : The EIJM Editions
With the contribution of : Eléonore Biezunski, Léa Couderc, Hervé Roten

Watch the conference

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Conférence : Musique yiddish dans les cabarets d’après-guerre

Le 22 avril 2017, centre Medem-Arbeter Ring

Conférence filmée, dans le cadre de la première édition “Campus en musique” du centre Medem-Arbeter Ring autour de La musique des cabarets yiddish dans le Paris d’après-guerre, par Hervé Roten, directeur de l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives et David Winter, petit neveu du chanteur Dave Cash

Dans la période immédiate d’après-guerre, les Juifs tentent de se reconstruire, autant individuellement que collectivement. Paris cristallise alors les espoirs de revitalisation de la vie juive en Europe, tout en servant de point de passage ou d’attache pour des survivants en quête d’un nouveau foyer. Une multitude de structures organisent la vie culturelle : des sociétés juives, des théâtres, mais aussi des cafés et des cabarets, comme La Riviera de Bernard Potock et Dave Cash, le Habibi Club de Sigmunt Berland (anciennement dénommé Petit Rancho) ou encore le cabaret-dancing Le Zodiac. Au début des années 1960, Dave Cash ouvre le Cabaret Bagatelle, au 29 rue de Clichy. Quelques années après, il déménage et installe à Pigalle Le Cabaret Yiddish, qui fermera dans les années 1970, faute de clientèle.

Des photos, des affiches, des articles de presse et de nombreux disques 78 et 33 tours, ont conservé les traces de cette brillante époque des cabarets yiddish. Entre 1948 et 1953, le label Elesdisc enregistre ainsi au moins 154 titres interprétés par de grands artistes tels Henri Gerro, Dave Cash, Sarah Gorby, Richard Inger, Elvira Boczkowska, Simon Nussbaum, Max Neufeld…

En 2015, les éditions de l’Institut Européen des Musiques juives ont sorti un coffret de 6 CD rassemblant plus de 120 chansons qui témoignent de l’atmosphère créative des cabarets juifs d’après-guerre, où les artistes mariaient avec audace folklore et samba, tangos nostalgiques ou swings satiriques, en yiddish, mais aussi en russe, en hébreu et même en roumain…

Commander le Coffret en ligne sur la boutique de l’IEMJ

Producteur : Les Editions de l’IEMJ
Avec la contribution de : Eléonore Biezunski, Léa Couderc, Hervé Roten

Visionner la conférence

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…