Coplas Sefardies by Alberto Hemsi – Vol.2

Published by the Europäische Zentrum für Jüdische Musik (EZJM) in Hanover and the music label Rondeau Production

The full works for voice and piano by Alberto Hemsi finally available on CD !

On the occasion of the 120th anniversary of Alberto Hemsi’s birth (1898-1975), Assaf Levitin, cantor of the reformed synagogue of Hanover, and the pianist Naaman Wagner recorded the full works for voice and piano of this composer still too little known. This project was supported by the Europaïsche Zentrum für Jüdische Musik of Hanover.

Alberto Hemsi was a fervent admirer of Sephardic folklore and its musical traditions. As a pianist and composer, he collected 230 poems and melodies in the Sephardic communities of the old Ottoman Empire between 1923 and 1937. Of this important body of work, Hemsi will retain 60 traditional melodies for which he composed “pianistic parts, whose realization turned out to be rather complicated, because it was not a question of ’accompanying’ simply the said songs, but framing them in small symphonic pictures, in order to make them suggest as much as possible, the atmosphere, the state of mind, the subject and the melody “. Real symbiosis between traditional song and scholarly art, Alberto Hemsi’s 60 Coplas Sefardies thus offer a renewed vision of the Judeo-Spanish tradition.

After the release of the first volume of the Coplas Sefardies,

on February 23rd 2018, this second volume released in October 2018 include 8 new Judeo-Spanish songs collected in Izmir and in Anatolia, and 8 melodies : Kal Nidrey, op. 12, Arba’a Shirim (Four songs), op. 42 and three Biblical Visions , op. 48.

75 minutes of beauty, brilliantly performed by Assaf Levitin and Naaman Wagner…

Purchase the CD Coplas Sefardies – Judeo-Spanish songs by Alberto Hemsi – Vol.1 and 2
Learn more about Alberto Hemsi
Watch the film Alberto Hemsi, a composer serving Sephardic culture
Browse the archives around Alberto Hemsi deposited at the EIJM

 

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Coplas Sefardies de Alberto Hemsi – Vol.2

Publié par le label Rondeau Production, en partenariat avec l’Europäische Zentrum für Jüdische Musik (EZJM) de Hanovre

L’intégrale des œuvres pour voix et piano de Alberto Hemsi enfin disponible sur CD !


A l’occasion des 120 ans de la naissance de Alberto Hemsi (1898-1975), Assaf Levitin, chantre de la synagogue libérale de Hanovre, et le pianiste Naaman Wagner se sont attelés à réaliser l’enregistrement intégral des œuvres pour voix et piano de ce compositeur encore trop peu connu. Ce projet a été notamment soutenu par le Europaïsche Zentrum für Jüdische Musik de Hanovre.

Alberto Hemsi était un fervent admirateur du folklore séfarade et de ses traditions musicales. En tant que pianiste et compositeur, Il collecta 230 poésies et mélodies dans les communautés séfarades de l’ancien Empire Ottoman entre 1923 et 1937. De ce corpus important, Hemsi a retenu 60 mélodies traditionnelles pour lesquelles il composa « des parties pianistiques, dont la réalisation s’avérait assez compliquée, parce qu’il ne s’agissait nullement ‘d’accompagner’ simplement les dits chants, mais de les encadrer dans de petits tableaux symphoniques, afin de les faire suggérer autant que possible, l’ambiance, l’état d’âme, le sujet et la mélodie ». Véritable symbiose entre musique traditionnelle et art savant, les 60 Coplas Sefardies d’Alberto Hemsi offrent une vision renouvelée de la tradition judéo-espagnole.

Après la sortie du premier volume des Coplas Sefardies, le 23 février 2018, ce second volume publié en octobre 2018 comporte 18 nouvelles chansons judéo-espagnoles (cahiers 4 à 6) collectées à Izmir et en Anatolie, et 8 mélodies : Kal Nidrey, op. 12, Arba’a Shirim (Quatre chants), op. 42 et trois Visions Bibliques, op. 48.

75 minutes de pur bonheur, magnifiquement interprétées par Assaf Levitin et Naaman Wagner…

Acheter les CD Coplas Sefardies – Chansons judéo-espagnoles de Alberto Hemsi – Vol.1 et 2
En savoir plus sur Alberto Hemsi
Visionner le film Alberto Hemsi, un compositeur au service de la culture séfarade
Consulter les archives de Alberto Hemsi déposées à l’IEMJ

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…