Dorothée – A bikhele Lider

A small singing book by Isabelle Georges

A tribute to Dorothée Vienney, a Yiddish teacher who passed away on February 23, 2021 at the age of 86, this bikhele lider (small singing book) by Isabelle Georges is a jewel by its simplicity, intimacy and beauty.

First of all there is a book, a compilation of various texts, including a short biography of Dorothée Vienney, song lyrics in French and Yiddish, a joke, a cooking recipe, a poem, friendly testimonies… We learn how she escaped from the Nazi cruelty, the death of her father, the passing through the free zone, the internment camp of Douadic, the separation with her brothers, and their reunion in 1944, and her life after the war, her learning of languages, among which Yiddish, that she taught afterwards.

Secondly, while reading the book, one must listen to the CD coming with it. Eight songs in Yiddish or in French, sung by Isabelle Georges, the famous velvet voice singer. These songs reflect all the feelings of a Yiddish soul: nostalgia (Di hoydlke, Du du), sadness (Zol zayn, Shtil di nakht is oysgeshternt), or joy (Shpil zhe mir a lidele in yiddish, Kum Leybke tantsn). The various instrumentations bring us in an intimate, sad or jolly atmosphere. Wether it is in duet with the guitar player Jérôme Brajtman, who also did the musical arrangements of almost all the songs, or with more instruments, with the Anouman Quartet, or the pianist Frederik Steenbrink, those songs reveal the love that had Isabelle Georges for Dorothée Vienney.

And even if Yiddish is not our culture, our language, and even if we did not meet Dorothée Vienney, one cannot be insensitive to so much honesty and beauty, literary and musical.

« Do not cry because it is over, be happy because it happened! »
װײנט נישט װײַל ס’איז געענדיקט, שמײכלט װײַל ס’איז געשען!
Vaynt nisht vayl s’iz geendikt, shmaykhlt vayl s’iz geshen!

Isabelle Georges

“Every message of love, no matter how small, needs to be expressed. This one sings and wishes to exist also in the name of others, who will perhaps recognize themselves.”

Jérôme Brajtman

A CD-book including beautiful illustrations by Myriam Racine, supported by the Maison de la Culture Yiddish, the Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah and the association Yiddish Pour Tous.

Visit Isabelle Georges’ website

Purchase the CD-book Dorothée – A bikhele Lider

0:00
0:00

You may also like

The organ in the Jewish tradition

On May 21, 1856, the conference of the French chief rabbis, presided by the chief rabbi of France Salomon Ulmann…

Conference – The place of the organ in the Jewish tradition – Hervé Roten

Sunday, October 24, 2021 from 2 to 3 pm - LE KARE - Boulogne-Billancourt (92100). Conference on the evolution of…

Rose en Ciel

Book-CD. Poetic and musical tale, created by Mirélè Rozen. Alternating stories and traditional songs, mainly in Yiddish, presented with their…

Dorothée – A bikhele Lider

Un petit livre chantant d’Isabelle Georges

Hommage à Dorothée Vienney, professeure de yiddish, qui a quitté ce monde le 23 février 2021 à l’âge de 86 ans, ce bikhele lider (petit livre chantant) d’Isabelle Georges est un bijou par sa simplicité, son intimité et sa beauté.

On y trouve tout d’abord un livre, compilation de textes variés comprenant une brève biographie de Dorothée Vienney, des paroles de chansons en français et yiddish, une blague, une recette de cuisine, un poème, des témoignages d’amitié… On y apprend notamment comment elle a échappé à la barbarie nazie durant son enfance, la mort de son père, le passage en zone libre, le camp d’internement de Douadic, la séparation d’avec ses frères, et leurs retrouvailles en 1944, ainsi que sa vie d’après-guerre et son apprentissage des langues, dont le yiddish, qu’elle enseignera par la suite.

Ensuite, en feuilletant le livre, il faut écouter le CD qui l’accompagne. Huit chansons en yiddish, voire en français, chantées par Isabelle Georges, la célèbre chanteuse à la voix de velours. Des chansons qui reflètent tous les sentiments de l’âme yiddish : la nostalgie (Di hoydlke, Du du), la tristesse (Zol zayn, Shtil di nakht is oysgeshternt), ou la joie (Shpil zhe mir a lidele in yiddish, Kum Leybke tantsn). Les différentes instrumentations nous plongent dans une ambiance intimiste, triste ou festive. Que ce soit en duo avec le guitariste Jérôme Brajtman, qui a également réalisé l’arrangement musical de presque toutes les chansons, ou en formation plus importante, avec le Quatuor Anouman ou le pianiste Frederik Steenbrink, ces chansons nous révèlent l’amour qu’Isabelle Georges portait à cette grande dame qu’était Dorothée Vienney.

Et même si le yiddish n’est pas notre culture, notre langue, même si l’on n’a pas connu Dorothée Vienney, on ne peut rester insensible à tant de franchise et de beauté, à la fois littéraire et musicale.

« Ne pleurez-pas parce que c’est fini mais réjouissez-vous parce que ça s’est passé! »
װײנט נישט װײַל ס’איז געענדיקט, שמײכלט װײַל ס’איז געשען !
Vaynt nisht vayl s’iz geendikt, shmaykhlt vayl s’iz geshen !

Isabelle Georges

« Chaque message d’amour, si petit soit-il, a la nécessité d’être exprimé. Celui-ci chante et désire exister aussi au nom des autres, qui se reconnaîtront peut-être. »

Jérôme Brajtman

Un livre disque comprenant de très belles illustrations de Myriam Racine, soutenu par la Maison de la Culture Yiddish, la Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah et l’association Yiddish Pour Tous.

Visiter le site internet d’Isabelle Georges

Acheter le livre CD Dorothée – A bikhele Lider

Ecouter l’interview d’Isabelle Georges Dorothée, a bikhele Lider sur Akadem

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

L’orgue dans la tradition juive

Le 21 mai 1856, la conférence des grands rabbins français, présidée par le grand rabbin de France Salomon Ulmann (1806…

Conférence – La place de l’orgue dans la tradition juive – Hervé Roten

Dimanche 24 octobre 2021 de 14h à 15h - LE KARE - Boulogne-Billancourt (92100). Conférence sur l’évolution du rôle de…

Rose en Ciel

Livre-CD. Conte poétique et musical, créé par Mirélè Rozen. Alternance de récits et de chants traditionnels, essentiellement en yiddish, présentés…