DYCK, VLADIMIR (1882-1943)

by Hervé Roten*

The biography of this composer, who was born on March 19, 1882 in Odessa and died in Auschwitz in 1943, still remains incomplete. The fifth child of a modest family, Vladimir Dyck showed gifts for music from his earliest years, to such a degree that Rimsky-Korsakov, whom he perhaps had as a music master, advised him to further his studies at the Paris National Conservatory of Music. He came to Paris in 1899 at the age of seventeen and succeeded in being admitted to this institution a year later. In 1904, he obtained a First Prize in Antoine Taudou’s harmony class and attended Paul Vidal’s class in piano accompaniment.  Shortly afterwards, he became the student of Charles-Marie Widor in composition, and by the decree of February 5, 1910, he acquired the French nationality to be able to participate in the composition competition of the Institut de France. In 1911, he was awarded an additional Second Grand Prix de Rome for his cantata Yanitza, behind Claude Delvincourt (first Second Grand Prix) and Paul Paray (First Grand Prix).  The press of the period drew attention to his talent and his gifts, but he was unable to participate in the competition the following year in an attempt win a First Grand Prix since he had reached the age limit.  He then gave piano lessons in Paris.  Among his students figured Henriette Poincaré (the President of the Republic’s wife), Madame Caillaux, (the wife of the Minister and President of the Council of State), and Suzanne Bloch (born Mina Kabran, September 7, 1887 in Omsk – Russia) whom he wed and who gave him a daughter named Nicole.

Alongside his teaching activities, Vladimir Dyck was a prolific composer who tried his hand at all musical genres, from French patriotic songs: Alsace lève-toi ! (Arise Alsace) to lyrical comedy: Le Sous-préfet aux Champs (The Assistant Prefect in the Fields, 1919), from instrumental music: Orientales, pour piano (Orientals for piano, 1909), as well as Symphony in C minor for piano four hands, 1906, Symphony for 10 wind instruments, 1910, Impromptu for cello… and piano, 1912… to film scores written under the pseudonym Dri Mival, an anagram of his surname:  À travers Champs (Through the Field), Footit, Parisette, Tartarin, Prince Charmant, Théodora, Beloved Landscapes, 1927, Douglas, Africa, 1928, Vénus Astarté, 1929.

Vladimir Dyck is also the author of an extensive Jewish production: Berceuse hébraïque (Hebraic Lullaby), Eli! Eli! – sur un theme juif, Hatikva – Chant de l’espérance sur un thème juif (Song of Hope – On a Jewish theme, Three Hebraic pieces – for cello or violin and piano, 1933, and the 1st and 2nd Hebraic Legend, 1936, published in the Mizmor collection of the Éditions Salabert, which he co-directed with Leon Algazi from 1933 onward. He also arranged or wrote Yiddish songs: Der gouter Chadken, Kadisch de Rèbe Lévi after a Jewish Folk Melody… and several prayers for liturgical services (Adon olom, Avinu malkenu, 1934, and Psalm 137…), probably in connection with the activities of Leon Algazi, who directed the Mizmor choir and the choir of the Great Synagogue of Paris, rue de la Victoire.

In 1943, Vladimir Dyck was arrested by the Gestapo at his Parisian home at 79 avenue de Breteuil with his wife and his daughter. He was deported to Auschwitz on July 31 and was assassinated a few days later on August 5, 1943.

*Taken from the CD’s booklet Hebrew Melodies for cello and piano, 2nd vol., Collection Classiques vol. 7, Les Editions de l’IEMJ, 2021, with the author’s thanks to Corine Rachel Kalifa for her precious help in the elaboration of this biographical note.

Browse our archives on Vladimir Dyck

You may also like

François Meïmoun, Kaddish for mezzo & string quartet

The music score of his Kaddish for mezzo-soprano and string quartet, edited by the EIJM’s publishing house, was performed as…

The “New Jewish School of Saint-Petersburg”

June 16, 2022 at 8pm, at the Archives nationales / Hôtel de Soubise - Paris. Concert organized by the EIJM,…

Jacques Arnold, a life serving chazanut

In the collection « Life courses », discover the endearing personality of the cantor Jacques Arnold, who tells us about…

DYCK, VLADIMIR (1882-1943)

par Hervé Roten*

La biographie de ce compositeur, né le 19 mars 1882 à Odessa et mort à Auschwitz en 1943, demeure à ce jour encore lacunaire.  Cinquième enfant d’une famille modeste, Vladimir Dyck montre des dispositions pour la musique dès son plus jeune âge, au point que Rimsky-Korsakov, qu’il aurait peut-être eu pour maître, lui conseille de parfaire ses études au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris. Il arrive en France en 1899, à l’âge de 17 ans, et parvient à intégrer cet établissement un an plus tard. En 1904, il obtient un premier prix d’harmonie dans la classe d’Antoine Taudou et suit les cours d’accompagnement au piano de Paul Vidal. Peu après, il devient l’élève de composition de Charles-Marie Widor et par décret du 5 février 1910 se fait naturaliser français afin de pouvoir se présenter au concours de composition de l’Institut de France. En 1911, il décroche avec la cantate Yanitza un deuxième Second Grand Prix de Rome, derrière Claude Delvincourt (premier Second Grand Prix) et Paul Paray (Premier Grand Prix). La presse de l’époque souligne son talent et ses dons, mais, atteint par la limite d’âge, il ne peut se présenter l’année suivante afin de tenter de remporter le Premier Grand Prix. Il donne alors des cours de piano à Paris. Parmi ses élèves figurent Henriette Poincaré, la femme du Président de la république, Madame Caillaux, l’épouse du ministre et président du Conseil, et Suzanne Bloch (née Mina Kabran, le 7 septembre 1887 à Omsk – Russie) qu’il épousera et qui lui donnera une fille prénommée Nicole.

Parallèlement à ses activités d’enseignement, Vladimir Dyck est un compositeur prolifique qui s’est essayé à tous les genres, depuis les chants patriotiques (Alsace lève-toi) à la comédie lyrique Le Sous-préfet aux champs (1919), en passant par la musique instrumentale : Orientales pour piano (1909), Symphonie en Ut mineur pour piano à quatre mains (1906), Symphonie pour 10 instruments à vent (1910), Impromptu pour violoncelle… et piano (1912)… aux musiques de films écrites sous le pseudonyme de Dri Mival  (anagramme de son prénom) : A travers champs, Footit, Parisette, Tartarin, Prince Charmant, Théodora, Paysages aimés (1927), Douglas, Africa (1928), Vénus Astarté (1929)…

Vladimir Dyck est également l’auteur d’une œuvre juive importante : Berceuse hébraïque, Eli! Eli! – sur un thème juif, Hatikva – Chant de l’espérance sur un thème juif, Trois pièces Hébraïques – pour violoncelle ou violon et piano (1933), 1ère et 2ème Légende hébraïque (1936)… publiée notamment dans la collection Mizmor des Editions Salabert, qu’il a co-dirigée avec Léon Algazi à partir de 1933. Il a aussi arrangé ou écrit des chansons yiddish (Der gouter chadken, Kadisch de Rèbe Lévi – d’après une mélodie populaire juive…) et plusieurs prières pour le culte : Adon olom, Avinu malkenu (1934), Psaume 137… probablement en relation avec les activités de Léon Algazi qui dirigeait la chorale Mizmor et le chœur de la Grande Synagogue de la Victoire.

En 1943, Vladimir Dyck est arrêté par la Gestapo à son domicile parisien du 79 avenue de Breteuil avec sa femme et sa fille. Il est déporté à Auschwitz le 31 juillet, et y est assassiné quelques jours plus tard, le 5 août 1943.

*Biographie extraite du livret du CD Mélodies hébraïques- vol. 2, Collection Classiques vol. 7, Les Editions de l’IEMJ, 2021, avec les remerciements de l’auteur à Corine Rachel Kalifa et à Denis Havard de la Montagne pour leurs aides précieuses à l’élaboration de cette notice

Consulter nos archives sur Vladimir Dyck

Vous aimerez aussi

Oras Dezaoradas – Lily Henley

Dans ce CD, la chanteuse et violoniste américaine Lily Henley revisite les chants judéo-espagnols de son enfance, forte de son…

Fonds Peyrotte

Arrivé mystérieusement par la poste le 24 janvier 2022, ce fonds de 42 partitions manuscrites des années 1920 provenant de…

François Meïmoun, Kaddish, pour mezzo & quatuor à cordes

La partition de son Kaddish pour mezzo-soprano et quatuor à cordes, éditée aux Editions de l’IEMJ a été donné en…