Hebrew melodies for cello and piano, 2nd volume

Sarah Iancu, cello - David Bismuth, piano

 

RELEASE OF THE 7th CD FROM THE “CLASSICAL MUSIC” COLLECTION

Beautifully performed by Sarah Iancu, solo cellist of the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, and virtuoso pianist David Bismuth, this program features 23 instrumental pieces inspired by liturgical music, Chasidic tunes and Yiddish songs.

An opportunity to discover – or rediscover – works by Ernest Bloch (Hebrew Meditation, Abodah), Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco (Kol nidre, Hebrew Song), Vladimir Dyck (Hebrew Legend), Fernand Halphen (Prayer), Abraham Goldfaden (Rozinkhes mit mandlen), Jack Yellen and Lew Pollack (My Yiddishe Momme).

Some parts of this recording also highlights composers of the “New Jewish School” of St. Petersburg – such as Joel Engel, Alexander Krein, Lazare Saminsky, Joachim Stutschewsky, Jacob Weinberg and Leo Zeitlin – who, under the influence of the Russian folk movement at the turn of the 20th century, set out to create a national Jewish music.

An essential recording, of great sensitivity, accompanied by a richly documented booklet of 36 pages…

This CD was produced thanks to the support of the Fondation du Judaïsme Français, the Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah, the Foundations Henriette Halphen and Irène et Jacques Darmon, under the aegis of the FJF, and the Alliance Israélite Universelle.

Purchase the CD Hebrew melodies for cello and piano, 2nd volume on the EIJM’s online shop

Learn more about the CD Hebrew melodies for cello and piano, 1st volume

Information/Order/Press (+0033) 1 45 82 20 52 or contact@iemj.org

Watch the interview of Sarah Iancu by Lise Gutmann on Radio J on the occasion of the release of the CD “Hebrew Melodies, vol. 2 “

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Release of 3 new works by the composer Serge Kaufmann

The EIJM’s publishing house is happy to announce the release of 3 new music scores by Serge Kaufmann, Ima ou…

Synagogal music in Paris at the time of the first consistorial temple (1822-1874)

In his thesis, now available in digital version, Gérard Ganvert gives us an indepth study of synagogal music in Paris…

Mélodies Hébraïques pour violoncelle et piano, volume 2

Sarah Iancu, violoncelle - David Bismuth, piano

 

SORTIE DU 7ème CD DE LA COLLECTION CLASSIQUES

Magnifiquement interprété par Sarah Iancu, violoncelliste solo de l’Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, et le pianiste virtuose David Bismuth, ce programme nous propose 23 morceaux instrumentaux inspirés de musiques liturgiques, d’airs hassidiques et de chansons yiddish.

L’occasion de découvrir – ou redécouvrir – des œuvres d’Ernest Bloch (Méditation hébraïque, Abodah), Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco (Kol nidre, Chant hébraïque), Vladimir Dyck (Légende hébraïque), Fernand Halphen (Prière), Abraham Goldfaden (Rozinkhes mit mandlen), Jack Yellen et Lew Pollack (My Yiddishe Momme).

Une partie de ce disque met également en lumière des compositeurs de la « Nouvelle école juive » de Saint-Pétersbourg – tels Joel Engel, Alexander Krein, Lazare Saminski, Joachim Stoutchevski, Jacob Weinberg ou encore Leo Zeitlin – qui, sous l’influence du courant folkloriste russe au tournant du 20ème siècle, s’attelèrent à la création d’une musique nationale juive.

Un enregistrement essentiel, d’une grande sensibilité, accompagné d’un livret richement documenté de 36 pages…

Ce CD a été réalisé avec le soutien de la Fondation du Judaïsme Français, de la Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah, des Fondations Henriette Halphen et Irène et Jacques Darmon, sous l’égide de la FJF, et de l’Alliance Israélite Universelle.

Commander le CD sur la boutique en ligne de l’IEMJ

En savoir plus sur le CD Mélodies Hébraïques pour violoncelle et piano, volume 1

Renseignements/commande/contact Presse au 01 45 82 20 52 ou contact@iemj.org

Regarder l’interview de Sarah Iancu par Lise Gutmann sur Radio J à l’occasion de la sortie du CD « Mélodies Hébraïques, vol. 2 »
0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Le Seder de Roch Hachana chez les Juifs d’Afrique du Nord

Le Seder du soir de Roch Hachana consiste en la consommation d’aliments symboliques - connus sous le nom de simanim…

Thieves of Dreams – Zloději snů

Lors du décès récent de sa mère, Lenka Lichtenberg découvre deux cahiers en lambeaux contenant des poèmes écrits à la…

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Leibu Levin

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2014. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…