Exiles

Ophélie Gaillard, cello, the philharmonic orchestra of Monte-Carlo under the direction of James Judd and the Sirba Octet

Two composers are in particular highlighted : Ernest Bloch and Erich Wolfgang Korngold.

Ernest Bloch is born in Geneva on the 24th of July 1880 and deceased on the 15th of July 1959 in Portland (USA). He is often considered as one of the masters of Jewish music, even if he never used in his works any theme or melody from the Jewish musical tradition.
Despite a hard life, Bloch was an extremely creative composer. His « Jewish work » spreads on several periods : from 1912 to 1916, he wroted in particular Three Jewish poems (1913), Three Psalms (1912-1914), one symphony Israël (1912-1916), Schelomo, Hebraic rhapsody for cello and orchestra (1916). Between 1923 and 1933, he wrote the Baal Shem (1923), Three pictures of Chassidic life (1923), Hebraic Meditation for cello and piano (1924), From Jewish life for cello and piano (1924), Sacred Service for baryton, mixed choral and orchestra (1933). Finally in the 1950’s, he published Six Preludes for the Synagogue (1946-1950), one Hebraic Suite for alto or violin and piano (1951), one Meditation and Processionnal for alto and piano (1951) and Five Hebraic Pieces (1951).

Erich Wolfgang Korngold is born in Brno (Austria-Hungary) on the 29th may 1897 and deceased in Hollywood on the 29th of November 1957. He was naturalized American in 1943.
Child prodigy, sometimes compared to Mozart, he is one of the latest representatives of Viennese romantism. In 1925, he is the most performed composer after Richard Strauss in German speaking countries. In 1936, he settles with his family in the USA, where he composes mainly music for movies for the firm Warner Bros. In twelve years, he wrote 18 music for films, two of them Anthony Adverse et Robin des Bois) having been rewarded by Oscars.
In 1947, at the age of 50, Korngold decides to give up the cinema and prepares his return to Vienna. But following a heart attack, it is only in 1949 that he crosses the Atlantic ocean with his sheet music and new ideas, such as the Symphony in F sharp, composed in Austria.
His attempts stay nevertheless failures : his years in exile, the changing of the society, the tastes of the audience, totally deleted him from the Viennese or German musical world. The establishment considers him as a film music composer, nothing more. In 1955, he comes back to Hollywood, where he disappears two years later stroke by a brain attack, aged only of 60.

In this CD, one can also hear the famous Overture on Jewish themes (op. 34) by Sergueï Prokofiev (1891-1953). Even if he was not Jewish, Prokofiev, who left Russia during the Sovietic revolution, was asked by old jewish friends from Saint-Petersburg to compose an art work inspired by popular Jewish music. This work, written in 1919, was orchestrated by himself in 1934.

In a totally different direction, Ophélie Gaillard and the Sirba Octet perform a series of Freilech, joyous dance from Eastern Europe, with binary rhythm, as well as a Yiddish lullaby by Chava Alberstein.

The spirit of celebration, tenderness, religious contemplation, are as many facets of the daily life and culture of several generations of Jewish migrants that are told by the humanistic bow of Ophélie Gaillard.

A beautiful disc !

Learn more and purchase the CD
Listen to the radio broadcast dedicated to the CD Exiles

 

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Exiles

Ophélie Gaillard, violoncelle, l’orchestre philharmonique de Monte-Carlo sous la direction de James Judd et le Sirba Octet

Deux compositeurs sont en particulier mis à l’honneur dans ce disque : Ernest Bloch et Erich Wolfgang Korngold.

Ernest Bloch est né à Genève le 24 juillet 1880 et mort le 15 juillet 1959 à Portland (États-Unis). Il est souvent considéré comme un des grands chantres de la musique juive, même s’il n’a jamais utilisé dans ses œuvres un seul thème issu de la tradition musicale juive.
Malgré une vie difficile, Bloch a été un compositeur extrêmement créatif. Son « œuvre juive » s’étale sur plusieurs périodes : de 1912 à 1916, il a notamment écrit Trois poèmes juifs (1913), Trois psaumes (1912-1914), une symphonie Israël (1912-1916), Schelomo, rhapsodie hébraïque pour violoncelle et orchestre (1916). Entre 1923 et 1933, il compose le Baal Shem (1923), Trois tableaux de la vie hassidique (1923), Méditation Hébraïque pour violoncelle et piano (1924), From Jewish life pour violoncelle et piano (1924), Service Sacré pour baryton, chœur mixte et orchestre (1933). Enfin dans les années 50, il publie Six Préludes pour la Synagogue (1946-1950), une Suite Hébraïque pour alto ou violon et piano (1951), une Méditation et Processionnal pour alto et piano (1951) et Five Hebraic Pieces (1951).

Erich Wolfgang Korngold est né à Brno (Autriche-Hongrie) le 29 mai 1897 et mort à Hollywood le 29 novembre 1957. Il a été naturalisé américain en 1943.
Enfant prodige, parfois comparé à Mozart, il est l’un des derniers représentants du romantisme viennois. En 1925, il est le compositeur le plus joué après Richard Strauss dans les pays germanophones. En 1936, il s’installe avec sa famille aux USA, où il compose principalement de la musique de film pour la firme Warner Bros. En douze ans, il écrit dix-huit musiques de film, dont deux (Anthony Adverse et Robin des Bois) récompensées par des Oscars.
En 1947, à cinquante ans, Korngold décide d’abandonner le cinéma et prépare son retour à Vienne. Mais suite à une crise cardiaque, ce n’est qu’en 1949 qu’il franchit l’Atlantique avec ses partitions et de nouvelles idées en tête, dont la Symphonie en fa dièse, composée en Autriche.
Ses tentatives restent malgré tout des échecs : ses années d’exil, le changement de la société, les goûts du public, l’ont totalement rayé du monde musical viennois ou allemand. L’establishment le considère comme un compositeur de film, sans plus. En 1955, il revient à Hollywood, où il meurt deux ans plus tard des suites d’une embolie cérébrale, âgé seulement de soixante ans.

Au programme de ce CD figure également la célèbre Ouverture sur des thèmes juifs (op. 34) de Sergueï Prokofiev (1891-1953). Bien que non juif, Prokofiev, qui avait quitté la Russie au moment de la révolution soviétique, avait été sollicité par d’anciens amis juifs de Saint-Pétersbourg pour composer une œuvre savante inspirée de musiques juives populaires. Cette œuvre, écrite en 1919, fut orchestrée par ses soins en 1934.

Dans une toute autre veine populaire, Ophélie Gaillard et le Sirba Octet nous livrent une suite de Freilech, une danse joyeuse d’Europe de l’Est au rythme binaire, ainsi qu’une berceuse yiddish de Chava Alberstein.

L’esprit de fête, la tendresse, le recueillement religieux, ce sont autant de facettes de la vie quotidienne et de la culture de plusieurs générations de migrants juifs qui sont contés par l’archet humaniste d’Ophélie Gaillard.

Un bien beau disque !

En savoir plus et commander le CD
Ecouter l’émission de radio de Judaïques FM consacrée au CD Exiles

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…