The Peyrotte Collection

Arriving mysteriously by post on January 24, 2022, this collection of 42 manuscript scores from the 1920s from the former USSR is unique

 

These scores, written by the hand of a Russian copyist (as evidenced by the use of Cyrillic in several song titles), contain mainly Yiddish folk songs, composed among others by Joel Engel or Moshe Milner (Main harz tsugeiht in mir, A dudke…) and Hebrew songs (Ani hadal, Modeh ani…). There is also an original arrangement of the Zionist hymn Hatikva, signed by Alberto Hemsi with the place and date of composition: Smyrna, 1919.

Beyond the exceptional quality of these scores, which crossed the 20th century and travelled thousands of kilometres before arriving at the European Institute of Jewish Music, it is the way in which these documents came to us that surprised us the most. Indeed, one morning we opened our mailbox and discovered a box containing dozens of pages of handwritten scores. Written in Latin and Cyrillic characters, we quickly realised that most of them were Yiddish songs. On many of the pages, a Slavic-sounding name came up regularly. But besides that, there was nothing, no word or message wishing us good reception, or explaining the origin of the scores. There was only an initial, a name and the address of the sender. So we put on our detective headgear, took out the magnifying glass and pipe, and began our investigation. Where could these scores have come from?

We are fortunate to be connected to the whole world today, and with the help of social networks we were able to find our mysterious sender. A certain Bernard Peyrotte, manager of the Arioso music bookstore on rue de Rome in Paris. While cleaning out his cellar, which was full of sheet music, he came across a box containing our beautiful manuscripts. With good sense and knowledge of the European Institute of Jewish Music, he sent us the documents, knowing that this was certainly the best place to preserve them and make them accessible.

Contacted by telephone, he told us that he unfortunately knew nothing about these scores that someone had given him 10 or 20 years ago.

The investigation was therefore continuing…

Thanks to social networks, we were able to talk to some of the most prominent scholars of Jewish, and particularly Ashkenazi, folklore in the United States. After numerous exchanges and the sending of score excerpts, we were able to deduce that most of the scores were non-autograph works by Joel Engel, sometimes called “the true founding father of the modern Jewish music revival”.

The investigation is therefore well advanced, but not sealed. Indeed, several questions remain unresolved to this day. Who transcribed these scores? They undoubtedly date from Joel Engel’s time, but the handwriting does not resemble his own. Was it one of his friends or colleagues, an admirer or musician? And how did they get to Paris? Who deposited them in this music bookshop? The mystery remains. But from now on, these scores are in a safe place, digitised, stored and accessible on our online catalogue.

Browse the Peyrotte collection

You may also like

Thieves of Dreams – Zloději snů

Upon the recent passing of her mother, Lenka discovered two tattered notebooks of hand-written poetry that her grandmother, Anna Hana…

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Leibu Levin

RADIO PROGRAM hosted by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2014. In this program, Hélène Engel presents two…

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Lenka Lichtenberg

RADIO PROGRAM presented by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2013. In this program, Hélène Engel presents the…

Fonds Peyrotte

Arrivé mystérieusement par la poste le 24 janvier 2022, ce fonds de 42 partitions manuscrites des années 1920 provenant de l’ex-URSS, est unique en son genre

Ces partitions, écrites par la main d’un copiste russe (comme en atteste l’utilisation du cyrillique dans plusieurs titres de morceaux), contiennent principalement des chansons folkloriques yiddish, composées entre autres par Joel Engel ou Moshe Milner (Main harz tsugeiht in mir, A dudke…) et des chants hébraïques (Ani hadal, Modeh ani…). On y retrouve également un arrangement original de l’hymne sioniste Hatikva, signé de la main d’Alberto Hemsi avec mention du lieu et de la date de composition : Smyrne, 1919.

Au-delà de la qualité exceptionnelle de ces partitions qui ont traversé le 20e siècle et voyagé des milliers de kilomètres avant d’arriver à l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives, c’est la manière dont ces documents nous sont parvenus qui nous a le plus surpris. En effet, par un beau matin nous avons découvert en ouvrant notre boite aux lettres un carton renfermant des dizaines de pages de partition manuscrites. Ecrites en caractères latins et en cyrillique, nous avons rapidement constaté qu’il s’agissait en grande partie de chansons yiddish. Sur de nombreuses pages, un nom à consonance slave qui revenait régulièrement. Mais à côté de cela, rien, pas de mot ou de message nous souhaitant bonne réception, ou nous expliquant la provenance des partitions. Seuls figuraient une initiale, un nom et l’adresse de l’expéditeur. Nous avons donc mis notre couvre-chef de détective, sorti la loupe et la pipe, et commencé notre investigation. D’où pouvaient donc provenir ces partitions ?

Nous avons la chance d’être relié aujourd’hui au monde entier, et à l’aide des réseaux sociaux, nous avons pu retrouver notre expéditeur mystère. Un certain Bernard Peyrotte, responsable de la librairie musicale Arioso située rue de Rome à Paris. En faisant le ménage dans sa cave, remplie de partitions, il tomba sur un carton comprenant nos beaux manuscrits. Pourvu de bon sens et connaissant l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives, il nous envoya les documents, sachant que c’était certainement le meilleur endroit pour les conserver et les rendre accessibles.

Joint par téléphone, il nous raconta qu’il ne savait malheureusement rien de ces partitions qu’une personne lui avait apportées il y a 10 ou 20 ans.

L’enquête se poursuivait donc…

Grâce aux réseaux sociaux, nous avons pu discuter avec les plus éminents connaisseurs du folklore juif, et ashkénaze en particulier, aux Etats Unis. Après de nombreux échanges et envois d’extraits de partitions, nous avons pu déduire que la plupart des partitions étaient des œuvres non autographes de Joël Engel, appelé parfois « le véritable père fondateur de la renaissance moderne de la musique juive ».

L’enquête est donc bien avancée, mais non scellée. En effet, plusieurs questions demeurent non résolues à ce jour. Qui a retranscrit ces partitions ? Elles datent indéniablement de l’époque de Joël Engel, mais l’écriture ne ressemble pas à la sienne. Était-ce un de ses amis ou collègue, un admirateur ou musicien ? Et comment sont-elles arrivées à Paris ? Qui les a déposées dans cette librairie musicale ? Le mystère reste entier. Mais désormais, ces partitions sont en lieu sûr, numérisées, rangées et accessibles sur notre catalogue en ligne.

Accéder au fonds Peyrotte

Vous aimerez aussi

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Leibu Levin

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2014. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Lenka Lichtenberg

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2013. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…

La playlist orientale de l’été…

Au cours de ce voyage, nous vous invitons à chanter et danser au gré des plus belles voix de ce…

La playlist israélienne de l’été…

Pour vous accompagner tout au long de l’été, voici une sélection des tubes les plus entraînants de la musique israélienne