THE ULIF – COPERNIC COLLECTION

The Copernic synagogue devotes a large and important place to music. It offers to each of its service a high quality liturgical music accompanied by the organ, a professional mixed choral and a cantor, and also prestigious concerts.

Since 2008, the ULIF Copernic presents each year, under the direction of Bruno Fraitag, Vice-President, a season of high quality concerts : « Music in Copernic ». All concerts are linked, directly or indirectly to Judaism, either because it’s liturgical music, either because the composers or performers are Jewish, or either because the works are inspired by Torah/Old Testament.

Almost every concert has been filmed and put on DVD, and a copy has been deposited by Bruno Fraitag at the EIJM.

The programs presented are linked to liturgical music, chamber music or jazz. In this way, the ULIF Copernic invited a great variety of artists and performers (the cantor Armand Benhamou, the organist Nicole Wiener and the professional choir attached to the liturgical services of Copernic, as well as 2 amateur choirs from the community (« Ensemble Choral Copernic » and « Voci Copernic »), the pianists Jean-Frédéric Neuburger, Pascal Amoyel, Jean-François Zygel, David Greilsammer, Laurent Cabasso, Edna Stern, Laure Favre-Kahn, David Kadouch and Adam Laloum, Jonathan Bénichou, the cellist Emmanuelle Bertrand, the clarinetist Philippe Berrod, as well as the musicians first solists of the National Orchestra of France, the Orchestra of Paris and of the Paris Opera and, among the jazzmen : the quintet of Omer Avital, the trio of Shai Maestro, the saxophonist Eli Degibri, the pianists Yaron Herman and Yonathan Avishay, the clarinetist Yom, the guitarist Yotam Silberstein, etc.).

Many composers has been featured : Haendel, Alkan, Verdi, Rossi, Rossini as well as Serge Kaufmann, Itaï Daniel, Jean-François Zygel, Nicolas Bacri, John Zorn, Graciane Finzi, François Meïmoun…

These archives are now available in the catalogue of our collections (browse the ULIF-Copernic collection) or by making an appointment with the European Institute of Jewish Music (contact@iemj.org).

 

 

 

Watch excerpts of 2 concerts in Copernic, below

 

 

 

concert_l_ame_slave_a_copernic500px_60.jpg

concert_rossi_rossini_500px_60.jpg

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Fonds ULIF Copernic

La synagogue de la rue Copernic accorde une place et une attention toutes particulières à la musique. Elle propose non seulement à chacun de ses offices une musique liturgique de haute qualité avec accompagnement par un orgue, un chœur professionnel mixte et un hazzan, mais elle organise également une saison de concerts prestigieux.

Depuis 2008, l’ULIF Copernic présente ainsi chaque année, sous la responsabilité de Bruno Fraitag, Vice-Président, sa saison  « Musique à Copernic ». Les concerts sont tous rattachés, directement ou indirectement au judaïsme, soit parce qu’il s’agit de musique liturgique, soit parce que les compositeurs ou les interprètes sont juifs, soit encore parce que les œuvres sont inspirées de la Torah/l’Ancien Testament.

La quasi intégralité de ces concerts a été filmée et reportée sur un support DVD, dont Bruno Fraitag a, au fur et à mesure, pris soin de remettre un exemplaire à l’IEMJ.

Les programmes présentés se rattachent non seulement à la musique liturgique, mais aussi à la musique de chambre et au Jazz. Ainsi, l’ULIF Copernic a fait intervenir une grande variété d’artistes et interprètes (le hazzan Armand Benhamou, l’organiste Nicole Wiener et le chœur professionnel attaché aux offices liturgiques de Copernic, ainsi que les 2 chœurs d’amateurs de la communauté (« Ensemble Choral Copernic » et « Voci Copernic »), les pianistes Jean-Frédéric Neuburger, Pascal Amoyel, Jean-François Zygel, David Greilsammer, Laurent Cabasso, Edna Stern, Laure Favre-Kahn, David Kadouch et Adam Laloum, Jonathan Bénichou, la violoncelliste Emmanuelle Bertrand, le clarinettiste Philippe Berrod, ainsi que des musiciens premiers solistes de l’Orchestre National de France, de l’Orchestre de Paris et de l’orchestre de l’Opéra de Paris et, parmi les jazzmen : le quintet d’Omer Avital, le trio de Shai Maestro, le saxophoniste Eli Degibri, les pianistes Yaron Herman et Yonathan Avishay, le clarinettiste Yom, le guitariste Yotam Silberstein, etc. ).

De nombreux compositeurs ont ainsi été mis à l’honneur : Haendel, Alkan, Verdi, Rossi, Rossini ou encore Serge Kaufmann, Itaï Daniel, Jean-François Zygel, Nicolas Bacri, John Zorn, Graciane Finzi, François Meïmoun…

Ces archives sont désormais consultables sur le catalogue de nos collections (accéder au fonds d’archive de la synagogue ULIF Copernic) ou sur rendez-vous auprès de l’Institut Européen des musiques Juives (contact@iemj.org).

Visionner ci-dessous deux extraits de concerts à Copernic

concert_l_ame_slave_a_copernic500px_60.jpg

concert_rossi_rossini_500px_60.jpg

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…