Hahn, Reynaldo (1874-1947)

logo bio Reynaldo Hahn

By Hervé Roten

Born in Caracas of a Catholic Venezuelan mother and a Jewish German father, Reynaldo Hahn was the youngest child in a family of nine children who settled in Paris in 1878. At the age of 11, Reynaldo Hahn entered the Paris Music Conservatory where he became the student of Albert Lavignac and Jules Massenet for composition. At the age of 13, he had already written a famous melody « Si mes vers avaient des ailes » on a poem by Victor Hugo.

In the 1890’s, he regularly visited the Parisian salons (in particular the Halphen’s) where he sang his melodies and played the piano. He met celebrities such as Stéphane Mallarmé, Edmond de Goncourt and Marcel Proust who became his lover until 1896.

In 1914, on his request, he was sent to the front until 1916 and worked then in the ministry of war. This didn’t stop him from writing music. He received the Légion d’honneur in 1924.

Appointed singing teacher at the École normale de musique de Paris in 1920, Reynaldo Hahn worked with Pablo Casals, Jacques Thibaud and Nadia Boulanger. During that period between the two world wars, he wrote many operettas and musical comedies. But along with this mainstream music, he also returned to a musical genre that he had left behind, chamber music, with the piano quintet (1921), the sonata for violin and piano (1927) and two string quartets (1939).

Worried because of his Jewish origins, he left Paris in 1940 for Cannes and then Monte-Carlo. In 1945, back in Paris, he was elected member of the Academy of fine arts and became director of the Opera de Paris. Affected by a brain tumor, he died in Paris on January 28, 1947. He is buried in the Père-Lachaise cemetery.

Order the sheet music Petit nocturne for violin and piano (EIJM’s publications)

Browse our archives on Reynaldo Hahn

You may also like

Soul of Yiddish

Travelling between her love of classical music and the folk repertoire of Eastern Europe, where she finds her roots, Noëmi…

The organ in the Jewish tradition

On May 21, 1856, the conference of the French chief rabbis, presided by the chief rabbi of France Salomon Ulmann…

Conference – The place of the organ in the Jewish tradition – Hervé Roten

Sunday, October 24, 2021 from 2 to 3 pm - LE KARE - Boulogne-Billancourt (92100). Conference on the evolution of…

Hahn, Reynaldo (1874-1947)

logo bio Reynaldo Hahn

Par Hervé Roten

Né à Caracas d’une mère vénézuélienne catholique et d’un père allemand d’origine juive, Reynaldo Hahn est le cadet d‘une famille de neuf enfants qui s’installe à Paris en 1878. Dès l’âge de 11 ans, Reynaldo Hahn entre au Conservatoire de Paris à et devient l’élève d’Albert Lavignac et de Jules Massenet pour la composition. À treize ans, il compose déjà une célèbre mélodie « Si mes vers avaient des ailes » sur un poème de Victor Hugo.

Dans les années 1890, il fréquente les salons parisiens (notamment celui des Halphen) où il chante ses mélodies en s’accompagnant au piano. Il y rencontre des personnalités telles Stéphane Mallarmé, Edmond de Goncourt ou encore Marcel Proust dont il devient l’amant jusqu’en 1896.

En 1914, à sa demande, il est envoyé au front jusqu’en 1916 pour ensuite travailler au ministère de la guerre. Cela ne l’empêche pas de continuer à composer. Il est fait officier de la Légion d’honneur en 1924.

Nommé professeur de chant à l’École normale de musique de Paris en 1920, Reynaldo Hahn côtoie Pablo Casals, Jacques Thibaud et Nadia Boulanger. Dans cette période de l’Entre-deux-guerres, il compose de nombreuses opérettes et comédies musicales. Mais à côté de cette musique à la mode, il revient à un genre qu’il avait jusqu’alors délaissé, la musique de chambre, avec le Quintette avec piano (1921), la sonate pour violon & piano (1927) et deux Quatuors à cordes (1939).

Inquiété pour ses origines juives, il doit quitter Paris en 1940 pour Cannes puis Monte-Carlo. En 1945, de retour à Paris, il est élu membre de l’Académie des beaux-arts et devient directeur de l’Opéra de Paris. Atteint d’une tumeur au cerveau, il meurt à Paris le 28 janvier 1947 ; il est inhumé au cimetière du Père-Lachaise.

Commander la partition du Petit nocturne pour violon et piano (Editions de l’IEMJ)

Consulter nos archives sur Reynaldo Hahn

Vous aimerez aussi

Soul of Yiddish

Évoluant entre son amour de la musique classique et le répertoire populaire d’Europe orientale où elle a ses racines, Noëmi Waysfeld…

L’orgue dans la tradition juive

Le 21 mai 1856, la conférence des grands rabbins français, présidée par le grand rabbin de France Salomon Ulmann (1806…

Conférence – La place de l’orgue dans la tradition juive – Hervé Roten

Dimanche 24 octobre 2021 de 14h à 15h - LE KARE - Boulogne-Billancourt (92100). Conférence sur l’évolution du rôle de…