Halphen, Alice (1878-1963)

logo bio Alice Halphen

Biography written by Georges and Henriette Halphen, the children of Alice Halphen

Born in 1878, Alice Halphen, born Koenigswarter, died in 1963. Officer of the French Legion of Honour, she was a member for many years of the Committee of the Israelite Universal Alliance. Affected in her youth by the Dreyfus affair, she was interested throughout her life in the problems of Judaism and had a large influence on the Israelite Community of France.

An art lover, she had an impressive “eye”. A donor to the museums of the Louvre, of Tel-Aviv and of Haifa, she was in charge of the conservation of the beautiful synagogues in the “Comtat Venaissin” : Carpentras and Cavaillon.
A writer, under the pen name Orion, she wrote articles and books mainly on Jewish themes.
In a hotel of the Dumont d’Urville street, she held a very popular music salon, in which she often helped many musicians : Poulenc, Honegger, Darius Milhaud, Mihailovitz, Fauré, Gédalge, Enesco, Messiaen, Jolivet, Lesur… and the pianists Ania Dorfman and Monique Haas. She lent the famous Stradivarius owned by Fernand Halphen to several violinists, among them the young Isaac Stern.

Alice Halphen was a person with a big heart, cultivated, and also could sometimes express stinging lines that remained famous among the people who knew her.

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Halphen, Alice (1878-1963)

logo bio Alice Halphen

Biographie constituée par Georges et Henriette Halphen, les enfants de Alice Halphen

Né en 1878, Alice Halphen, née Koenigswarter, est décédée en 1963. Officier de la légion d’Honneur, elle fut membre pendant de nombreuses années du Comité de l’Alliance Israélite Universelle. Marquée dans sa jeunesse par l’affaire Dreyfus, elle s’intéressa toute sa vie aux problèmes du Judaïsme et eût une grande influence dans la Communauté Israélite de France.

Amateur éclairée d’art, elle possédait un « œil » étonnant. Donatrice aux musées du Louvre, de Tel Aviv, et de Haïffa, elle s’occupa de la Conservation des ravissantes synagogues du « Comtat Venaissin » : Carpentras et Cavaillon.
Ecrivain, sous le pseudonyme d’Orion, elle rédigea des articles de livres essentiellement sur la question juive.

Elle a tenu, dans un Hôtel de la rue Dumont d’Urville, un salon de musique très apprécié et fréquenté par de nombreux musiciens qu’elle aida souvent : Poulenc, Honegger, Darius Milhaud, Mihailovitz, Fauré, Gédalge, Enesco, Messiaen, Jolivet, Lesur… et les pianistes Ania Dorfman et Monique Haas. Elle prêta à certains violonistes dont, dès son jeune âge, Isaac Stern, le célèbre Stradivarius de Fernand Halphen.

Alice Halphen était une personnalité très attachante, cultivée, utilisant parfois des réparties cinglantes restées célèbres parmi ceux qui l’ont connue.

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…