Itaï Daniel – Mahzor Hayim

Life cycle and other works

 

5th CD IN THE “CLASSICAL MUSIC” COLLECTION

Composers, who dedicate a large part of their work to Jewish liturgical music, are quite rare. Itaï Daniel, French-Israeli pianist, conductor and composer, is one of them. After serious musical studies in Israel and in the USA, he settled in Paris in 2004 to write music. Since 2009, he conducts the Choral Copernic Ensemble in Paris, an ensemble reputed to be nowadays one of the best Jewish choirs in Europe.

2014-03-12-rein-14-pe_choeur_francis_bardot_salle_gaveau_2014_redim-2.jpgAuthor of many works, Itaï Daniel’s music sways between classicism and modernity, in a unique blend which gives it a particular flavour. A large part of his work is linked to vocal music of Jewish inspiration. His compositions for chorus include prayers such as Yotzer, Hashkiveinou, Shema Koleinou, Hevenou Shalom Aleichem, Kaddish, Kol Nidrei, Osse Shalom… He also composed three great cantatas for choir: Mahzor Hayim (2006), Shema Koleinou (2007) and Bereshit (2008), and over twenty Jewish melodies for voice and solo piano.

This beautiful disc, performed by Itaï Daniel, Anne-Sophie Durand, Aviva Timonier, Yska Benzakoun, Thomas Macfarlane, François Olivier and the Francis Bardot choirs transports us to the depths of the Jewish soul.

A sensitive and rare discovery.

aviva_timonier_et_itai_daniel_kol_arta_mg_1977_redim.jpgThis CD was made with the support of the Fondation du Judaïsme Français, and the Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah, the Foundation Irène and Jacques Darmon, under the aegis of the FJF, and of the Alliance Israélite Universelle.

Buy this CD on the EIJM’s online shop

Buy this CD on the EIJM’s online shop

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Tsuzamen – Sirba Octet

This album is a formidable testimony of hope: the hope of the Jews, the Armenians, the gypsies whose repertoires the…

Jacinta Collection

Deposited at the EIJM in May 2022 by the artist, Jacinta's collection includes some forty photographies, from her youth in…

Jacinta, between Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish songs and tango

In the series " Life courses ", discover the attaching personality of Jacinta, an artist of Argentinian origin who also…

Jacinta, a life in song

Discover a selection of Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish, Argentinean and French songs by Jacinta, an artist with a golden voice

Itaï Daniel – Mahzor Hayim

Le cycle de la vie et autres œuvres

 

5ème CD DE LA COLLECTION CLASSIQUES

Rares sont les compositeurs à consacrer une partie importante de leur œuvre à la musique liturgique juive. Itaï Daniel, pianiste, chef d’orchestre et compositeur franco-israélien, fait partie de ceux-ci. Après des études musicales poussées en Israël puis aux USA, il s’installe à Paris en 2004 afin de se consacrer à la composition. Depuis 2009, il dirige l’Ensemble Choral Copernic à Paris, un groupe reconnu aujourd’hui comme l’un des meilleurs chœurs juifs en Europe.

Auteur de nombreuses œuvres, la musique d’Itaï Daniel oscille entre classicisme et modernité, dans un mélange unique qui lu2014-03-12-rein-14-pe_choeur_francis_bardot_salle_gaveau_2014_redim-2.jpgi donne une saveur toute particulière. Une grande partie de son œuvre est liée à la musique vocale d’inspiration juive. Ses compositions pour chœur comptent notamment des prières telles que Yotzer, Hashkiveinou, Shema Koleinou, Hévénou Shalom Aleichem, Kaddish, Kol Nidrei, Ossé Shalom… Il a également composé trois grandes cantates pour chœur : Mahzor Hayim (2006), Shema Koleinou (2007) et Beréshit (2008), et plus d’une vingtaine de mélodies juives pour voix et piano solo.

Ce très beau disque, interprété par Itaï Daniel, Anne-Sophie Durand, Aviva Timonier, Yska Benzakoun, Thomas Macfarlane, François Olivier et les Chœurs Francis Bardot nous plonge au tréfonds de l’âme juive.

Une découverte rare et sensible.

aviva_timonier_et_itai_daniel_kol_arta_mg_1977_redim.jpgCe CD a été réalisé avec le soutien de la Fondation du Judaïsme Français, de la Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah, de la Fondation Irène et Jacques Darmon, sous l’égide de la FJF, et de l’Alliance Israélite Universelle.

Acheter le CD en ligne sur la boutique de l’IEMJ

Commander des partitions de Itaï Daniel sur la boutique de l’IEMJ

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…