Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

logo article CD Kantikas i Dichas

by the children’s choir Estreyikas d’Estambol

The children’s choir of the Jewish community of Turkey, Estreyikas d’Estambol (Istanbul stars), recently celebrated its 15 years of existence with the release of a new CD Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefaradis. This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the musicologist Susana Weich-Shahak and Izzet Bana, director of the children’s choir of Istanbul’s community.

Created by Izzet Bana in September 2004, the children’s choir Estreyikas d’Estambol numbers today 35 girls and boys aged from 8 to 14 years old. This vocal ensemble, which is today the only children’s choir in the world which sings in Judeo-Spanish, aims to help the new generation of Sefardi children to know, appreciate and re-appropriate the Judeo-Spanish culture that slowly vanishes. A particular attention is made on the fact that the children’s songs and lullabies, which occupy an important place in the Sefardi culture, are performed here in their most traditional form. The vocal ensemble Estreyikas d’Estambol already performed in many cultural events and festivals.

The children’s songs and lullabies of this album come from field recordings done by the musicologist Susana Weich-Shahak, which gave birth to the publication of a book entitled “Repertorio Traditional Infantil Sefardi; Retahilas, juegos, canciones y romances de tradicion oral”, from which Izzet Bana got inspiration to make relive this repertoire among the new generations. Judeo-Spanish language, called “Espanyol” in the Ottoman countries, is a mix of Spanish with words of Turkish and Greek origin, but also French origin, because of the influence of the Alliance Israélite Universelle’s schools in the former Ottoman Empire.

Often sang in the cradle (Durme durme chikitiko), we find in this CD songs to remember the names of each finger, to learn how to count, to learn the letters of the hebrew alphabet (Alef Avyana) or to underline the importance of the Jewish tradition (La Tora la Tora). The DVD shows live performances of these songs.

A nice present to offer to your children but also to all listeners interested in the Judeo-Spanish culture…

Purchase the CD

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

logo article CD Kantikas i Dichas

par la chorale d’enfants Estreyikas d’Estambol

Le chœur d’enfants de la communauté juive de Turquie, Estreyikas d’Estambol (Etoiles d’Istanbul), a récemment célébré ses 15 ans d’existence avec la publication d’un nouveau CD Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefaradis. Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre la musicologue Susana Weich-Shahak et Izzet Bana, directeur du chœur d’enfants de la communauté d’Istanbul.

Fondé par Izzet Bana au début de l’année scolaire 2004-2005, le chœur d’enfants Estreyikas d’Estambol compte aujourd’hui 35 filles et garçons âgés de 8 à 14 ans. Cet ensemble vocal, qui est à ce jour le seul chœur d’enfants au monde qui chante en judéo-espagnol, a pour objectif d’aider la nouvelle génération d’enfants séfarades à connaître, à apprécier et à se réapproprier la culture judéo-espagnole qui disparaît lentement. Une attention particulière est ainsi portée sur le fait que les chansons et comptines pour enfants, qui occupent une place importante dans la culture séfarade, sont ici interprétées dans leurs formes purement traditionnelles. L’ensemble vocal Estreyikas d’Estambol s’est déjà produit durant de nombreuses manifestations culturelles et festivals.

Les chansons et comptines pour enfants contenues dans cet album sont issues d’enregistrements de terrain effectués par la musicologue Susana Weich-Shahak, qui a donné naissance à la publication d’un livre intitulé “Repertorio Traditional Infantil Sefardi ; Retahilas, juegos, canciones y romances de tradicion oral”, dont s’est inspiré Izzet Bana pour faire revivre ce répertoire auprès des nouvelles générations. Le judéo-espagnol, appelé “Espanyol” dans les pays ottomans, contient un mélange d’espagnol avec des mots d’origine turque, grecque mais également française, du fait de l’influence des écoles de l’Alliance Israélite Universelle dans l’ancien Empire ottoman.

Entonnées souvent dès le berceau (Durme durme chikitiko), on retrouve dans le CD des chansons pour retenir le nom des doigts, pour apprendre à compter, pour apprendre les lettres de l’alphabet hébreu (Alef Avyana) ou pour souligner l’importance de la tradition juive (La Tora la Tora). Le DVD nous présente les interprétations de ces chansons en live.

Un beau cadeau à faire à vos enfants mais également à tous les auditeurs intéressés par la culture judéo-espagnole…

Commander le CD

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…

Balagan Box : l’album Shabbat Night Fever

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Laurence Haziza, diffusée sur RADIO SHALOM, le 5 JUILLET 2008. Laurence Haziza nous fait découvrir…