Kaufmann, Serge (1930)

logo bio Serge Kaufmann

Composer, journalist, producer for radio and television and filmmaker, Serge Kaufman composed numerous scores for radio, television, as well as cinema and the stage. His works stand out for their very personal freedom of expression and their constant lyricism.

Born in 1930, Serge Kaufmann studied classical music at Collège Calvin in Geneva, and then at the Schola Cantorum in Paris, under the direction of Daniel Lesur. In the post-war years, the sight of a photograph – the boy in the Warsaw Ghetto – transformed his convictions towards passionate, internal questioning, this voice becoming ever more insistent: “What would have happened to me if, instead of being born in Switzerland, I had been born on the other side of the border? Would I not have shared the fate of these thousands of Jewish children who didn’t have the chance to grow up simply because they were born of Jewish parents or grand-parents!”

Inspired by this revelation, Serge Kaufmann has enriched the field of Jewish music for nearly 25 years by composing works with evocative names: Yiddish Suite, Little Klezmer Suite, The Rothenbourg Maharam, Neshama, Kol nidré, Yesod…

Although never built on purely traditional melodies, his compositions have a sound that is undeniably Jewish.
His vocal, orchestral and chamber music works have been the subject of several recordings.

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Kaufmann, Serge (1930)

logo bio Serge Kaufmann

Compositeur, mais aussi homme de radio et de télévision, journaliste, producteur et réalisateur, Serge Kaufmann a écrit un grand nombre de partitions destinées aussi bien aux concerts qu’à la radio, à la télévision, au cinéma et à la scène. Ses œuvres se singularisent par leur grande et personnelle liberté de langage et leur constant lyrisme intérieur.

Né en 1930, Serge Kaufmann a fait ses études classiques au Collège Calvin de Genève et ses études musicales à la Schola Cantorum de Paris, sous la direction principale de Daniel Lesur. Dans les années d’après-guerre, la vision d’une photo – Le petit garçon du Ghetto de Varsovie – fait basculer ses certitudes vers un questionnement intérieur dont la voix se fait de plus en plus impétueuse : « Que me serait-il arrivé si, au lieu de naître en Suisse, j’avais été de l’autre côté de la frontière ? N’aurais-je pas moi aussi partagé le destin de ces milliers d’enfants qui n’ont pas eu la chance de grandir simplement parce qu’ils étaient nés de parents ou de grands parents juifs ! ».

Porté par cette révélation, Serge Kaufmann enrichit depuis près de 25 ans le champ de la musique juive en composant des œuvres aux noms évocateurs : Suite Yiddish, Petite suite klezmer, Le Maharam de Rothenbourg, Neshama, Kol nidré, Yesod… Et ses compositions, bien qu’elles ne soient jamais bâties sur des mélodies purement traditionnelles, sonnent indéniablement juif !

Les œuvres orchestrales, vocales et de musique de chambre de Serge Kaufmann ont fait l’objet de plusieurs enregistrements. Serge Kaufmann est Chevalier des Arts et Lettres.

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…