KREIN, ALEXANDER (1883-1951)

Alexander Krein (Aleksander Abramovič Krejn) was born on October 20, 1883 in the Russian city of Nizhny Novgorod.  His father, Abraham, was a violinist with a passion for Jewish music, and seven of his ten children became professional musicians. After spending his childhood playing klezmer music in his father’s orchestra, Alexander Krein enrolled in the cello class of the Moscow Conservatory at the age of thirteen.  He then studied musical theory and composition under the composers Sergey Taneyev and Boleslav Yavorsky. He obtained his diploma in 1908 and developed an especially original style of composition, which combined the harmonic language of modern composers, such as Debussy, Ravel and Scriabin, with melodies and modes of Jewish folk music, as testifies the composition of his two Evreiskie eskizi (Jewish Sketches) for clarinet and string quartet (1909 and 1910), based on his father’s klezmer repertoire, and commissioned by the composer Joel Engel.

Following the success of his works, Krein played a major role in the emergence of a Jewish national music as a composer and as an active member of the Moscow branch of the Society for Jewish Folk Music (1913-1919) and of its successor organization, the Society for Jewish Music (1923-1929).

After 1917, he composed numerous pieces, especially for the Hebrew Theatre Habima in Moscow and for the Yiddish theatres in Ukraine and Belorussia.  During the 1920s, he wrote several important works, among which the symphonic cantata Kaddish (1921), the First Piano Sonata (1922) and the First Symphony (1922-1925).

In his compositions, Krein employed melodic improvisation and recitative rhythms from Eastern European Jewish folk and liturgical melodies to give his compositions a unique character, as can be heard in his Jewish Melody for cello and piano, Op. 43, composed in 1928.

While the Communist regime was becoming increasingly restrictive in terms of ideology at the end of the 1920s and in the 1930s, Krein made an effort to conciliate his art with the growing political pressure.  Despite evident political compromises, such as the cantata Funeral Ode in Memory of Lenin (1926) and the symphonic oratorio Shock Brigade of the World Proletariat of the USSR (1932), Krein continued to explore Jewish musical and literary themes in his work until the 1940s.  His opera Zagmuk (1929), which deals with the Jewish insurrection in ancient Babylon, was the first Soviet opera staged at the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow (1930).  In 1934, he received the honorary title:  “Distinguished Artist of the Russian Federation”.

Krein composed the music for the productions of the State Yiddish Theatre in Moscow until 1941, and his Second Symphony (1945) is a meditation on the historic sufferings of the Jewish people from ancient times up until the Holocaust.

Sources: Loeffler, James, Pro Musica Hebraica

Browse our archives on Alexander Krein

You may also like

François Meïmoun, Kaddish for mezzo & string quartet

The music score of his Kaddish for mezzo-soprano and string quartet, edited by the EIJM’s publishing house, was performed as…

Concert The New Jewish School of Saint-Petersburg

June 16, 2022 at 8pm, at the Archives nationales / Hôtel de Soubise - Paris. Concert organized by the EIJM,…

Jacques Arnold, a life serving chazanut

In the collection « Life courses », discover the endearing personality of the cantor Jacques Arnold, who tells us about…

KREIN, ALEXANDER (1883-1951)

Alexander Krein (Aleksander Abramovič Krejn) est né le 20 octobre 1883 dans la ville russe de Nizhni Novgorod. Son père, Abraham, était un violoniste passionné de musiques juives, dont sept des dix enfants devinrent des musiciens professionnels. Après une enfance passée à jouer de la musique klezmer dans l’orchestre de son père, Krein entre dans la classe de violoncelle du conservatoire de Moscou à l’âge de treize ans. Il étudie ensuite la théorie musicale et la composition avec les compositeurs Sergey Taneev et Boleslav Yavorsky. Il obtient son diplôme en 1908 et développe un style de composition très original, qui combine le langage harmonique de compositeurs modernes tels que Debussy, Ravel et Scriabine, avec les mélodies et les modes de la musique populaire juive, comme en témoigne la composition de ses deux Evreiskie eskizi (Esquisses juives) pour clarinette et quatuor à cordes (1909 et 1910) basées sur les mélodies du répertoire klezmer de son père, et écrites à la demande du compositeur Joel Engel.

Suite au succès de ces œuvres, Krein joue un rôle majeur dans l’émergence d’une musique nationale juive en tant que compositeur et membre actif de la branche moscovite de la Société pour la musique populaire juive (1913-1919) et de l’organisation qui lui succède, la Société pour la musique juive (1923-1929).

À partir de 1917, il compose de nombreuses pièces, notamment pour le théâtre hébraïque Habima de Moscou et les théâtres yiddish d’Ukraine et de Biélorussie. Au cours des années 1920, il écrit plusieurs œuvres importantes, dont la cantate symphonique Kaddish (1921), la Première sonate pour piano (1922) et la Première symphonie (1922-25).

Dans ces compositions, Krein utilise les improvisations mélodiques et les rythmes récitatifs des mélodies populaires et liturgiques juives d’Europe de l’Est pour donner à ses compositions un caractère unique, comme on peut l’entendre dans sa Mélodie juive, op. 43, pour violoncelle et piano, composée en 1928.

Alors que le régime communiste devient de plus en plus restrictif sur le plan idéologique à la fin des années 1920 et dans les années 1930, Krein s’efforce de concilier son art avec les pressions politiques croissantes. Malgré des compromis politiques évidents, tels que la cantate Ode funéraire en mémoire de Lénine (1926) et l’oratorio symphonique La Brigade de choc du prolétariat mondial de l’U.R.S.S. (1932), Krein continue à explorer des thèmes musicaux et littéraires juifs dans son œuvre jusque dans les années 1940. Son opéra Zagmuk (1929), qui traite du soulèvement juif dans l’ancienne Babylone, est le premier opéra soviétique mis en scène au théâtre Bolchoï de Moscou (1930). En 1934, il reçoit le titre d’Artiste Honoré de l’Union soviétique.

Krein a composé de la musique pour les productions du Théâtre Yiddish d’État de Moscou jusqu’en 1941, et sa Deuxième Symphonie (1945) est une méditation sur les souffrances historiques du peuple juif depuis les temps anciens jusqu’à l’Holocauste.

Sources : Loeffler, James, Pro Musica Hebraica

Consulter nos archives sur Alexander Krein

Vous aimerez aussi

Le Seder de Roch Hachana chez les Juifs d’Afrique du Nord

Le Seder du soir de Roch Hachana consiste en la consommation d’aliments symboliques - connus sous le nom de simanim…

Thieves of Dreams – Zloději snů

Lors du décès récent de sa mère, Lenka Lichtenberg découvre deux cahiers en lambeaux contenant des poèmes écrits à la…