Synagogal music in Paris at the time of the first consistorial temple (1822-1874)

Presentation text and digitized version of Gérard Ganvert‘s thesis [1]Doctor in music history and musicology, qualified to direct research, former associate professor of Music and Musicology at the Sorbonne University (Paris-IV) and lecturer at the University of … Lire la suite, defended in June 1984,at the Sorbonne University (Paris-IV).

Origins of the subject

  The subject of the present work, studied at the end of the 1970s, is the result of previous exchanges between its author and the famous musicologist Israel Adler (1925-2009). For the latter, it was still necessary and useful to study a period little or insufficiently explored: that which, following the action of Napoleon I, had seen the establishment of a Parisian synagogal music, a contemporary liturgical expression of the first Parisian consistorial temple, which remained the first and only official synagogue from 1822 to 1874.

Interior view of the first consistorial temple in Paris (1822-1852).
[Consistorial Archives, 5G1 Serie]

Such a study was also intended to restore the action of the two essential agents of this cultic reform: the cantor Israel Lovy (1773-1832), a figure who was then rather poorly known, and his distant successor Samuel Naumbourg (1817-1880).

The approach used

The present study, carried out in the early 1980s, was based on a meticulous examination of the Consistorial Archives and a thorough review of numerous post-revolutionary periodicals and musical documents. It thus allowed the reappearance of historical and musicological elements contemporary with the profound mutation of the Parisian Jewish communities of the first two thirds of the 19th century, elements that had remained more or less forgotten, neglected, or even transmitted with inaccuracies that had become traditional.

The established plan

Collection of Religious Songs, by Samuel Naumbourg (Fifth collection [1874])
(copy from the author’s library)

This work was articulated around four chapters.

Chapter 1 recalled the evolution of French and Parisian Judaism from the Restoration to the beginning of the Third Republic. Chapter 2 described the establishment of synagogal music, which became Parisian within the first consistorial temple. Chapter 3 detailed more specifically the actions of the ḥazanîm Israel Lovy and Samuel Naumbourg, as well as those of certain other cultural promoters, both Jewish and non-Jewish. Chapter 4 presented and studied the chronological publication of editions of synagogal music collections. It also examined the manuscript and printed scores of this period, as well as the published musicological evidence.

Finally, seven appendices have completed the work, in order to make it easier for the reader to consult, followed by a very important commented bibliography, structured in four parts (manuscript sources; printed sources; reference works; illustrative bibliography) and an index nominum.

The content provided

Defined and recognized as a national sub-group by the effects of the two successive emancipations – revolutionary and Napoleonic – French Judaism was able to undertake its modernization with the strong will to offer its contemporaries a “renewed” cult, capable of being favorably compared to the established Christian cults.

From an obvious initial approach centered on the two ḥazanîm Lovy and Naumbourg, the first surveys made it possible to affirm that, contrary to a number of sources, the true reformer-promoter of Parisian synagogal music had been Israel Lovy and not Samuel Naumbourg, though traditionally credited as such, but in fact a simple continuator of this reform twenty years later.

  These preliminary observations led to a more in-depth study of the period 1822-1874, half a century during which the first Parisian consistorial synagogue remained the only official temple in the capital, an institution with which the contemporary musical and artistic world developed close relations. The focus has thus shifted from an indispensable historical introduction to the interest in building such a synagogue and establishing a new musical tradition, to the study of its promoters and, finally, to its technical description.

Read the biography of Israël Lovy

Read the biography of Samuel Naumbourg

Read Gérard Ganvert’s thesis (pdf) La musique synagogale à Paris à l’époque du premier temple consistorial (1822-1874)

Warning: This text has been made available by the author for study purposes only. In case of reuse of texts, scores or illustrations of this thesis, the author must be cited. See how to quote the authors and mention the license.

References
1 Doctor in music history and musicology, qualified to direct research, former associate professor of Music and Musicology at the Sorbonne University (Paris-IV) and lecturer at the University of Versailles-Saint-Quentin (France).

You may also like

Release of 3 new works by the composer Serge Kaufmann

The EIJM’s publishing house is happy to announce the release of 3 new music scores by Serge Kaufmann, Ima ou…

KALARASH – KLEZMER MUSIC, YIDDISH AND FRENCH SONGS

This 8th CD of the Discovery Collection gathers klezmer music, Yiddish and French songs by Kalarash, a French group that…

La musique synagogale à Paris à l’époque du premier temple consistorial (1822-1874)

Texte de présentation et version numérisée de la thèse de Gérard Ganvert [1]Docteur en histoire de la musique et musicologie, habilité à diriger les recherches, ancien professeur associé de l’UFR de Musique et Musicologie de l’Université de la Sorbonne (Paris-IV) et … Lire la suite, soutenue en juin 1984, à l’Université de la Sorbonne (Paris-IV)

Les origines du sujet

Le sujet du présent ouvrage, étudié à la fin des années 1970, résulte d’échanges préalables entre son auteur et le célèbre musicologue  Israël Adler (1925-2009). Pour ce dernier, il restait encore nécessaire et utile d’étudier une période peu ou insuffisamment explorée : celle qui, à la suite de l’action de Napoléon Ier, avait vu la mise en place d’une musique synagogale parisienne, expression liturgique contemporaine du premier temple parisien consistorial, demeuré la première et seule synagogue officielle de 1822 à 1874.

Vue intérieure du premier Temple consistorial de Paris (1822-1852).
[Archives Consistoriales, série 5G1]

Une telle étude devait aussi permettre de restituer l’action des deux agents essentiels de cette réforme cultuelle : le ḥazan Israël Lovy (1773-1832), personnage alors assez mal connu, et son lointain successeur Samuel Naumbourg (1817-1880).

La démarche suivie

Effectuée au début des années 1980, la présente étude fut basée sur un dépouillement minutieux du fonds des Archives Consistoriales et un examen approfondi de nombreux périodiques et documents musicaux post-révolutionnaires. Elle permit ainsi de faire réapparaître des éléments historiques et musicologiques contemporains de la mutation profonde des communautés juives parisiennes des deux premiers tiers du XIXe siècle, éléments qui étaient restés peu ou prou oubliés, négligés, ou même transmis avec des inexactitudes devenues traditionnelles.

Le plan établi

Recueil de Chants Religieux, de Samuel Naumbourg (Cinquième recueil [1874]).
(exemplaire de la bibliothèque de l’auteur)

Ce travail s’est articulé autour de quatre chapitres.

Le chapitre 1 a rappelé les évolutions des judaïsmes français et parisiens, de la Restauration aux débuts de la IIIe République. Le chapitre 2 a décrit la mise en place d’une musique synagogale, devenue parisienne au sein du premier temple consistorial. Le chapitre 3 a détaillé plus spécifiquement les actions des ḥazanîm Israël Lovy et Samuel Naumbourg, ainsi que celles de certains autres promoteurs culturels, juifs ou non. Le chapitre 4 a présenté et étudié la publication chronologique des éditions de recueils de musique synagogale. Il a aussi permis d’examiner les partitions manuscrites ou imprimées de cette période, ainsi que les témoignages musicologiques publiés.

Enfin, sept appendices ont complété l’ouvrage, afin de rendre la consultation du lecteur plus facile, suivis par une très importante bibliographie commentée, structurée en quatre parties (sources manuscrites ; sources imprimées ; ouvrages de référence ; bibliographie illustrative) et d’un index nominum.

Le contenu offert

Défini et reconnu en tant que sous-groupe national par les effets des deux émancipations successives – révolutionnaire et napoléonienne –, le judaïsme français put entreprendre sa modernisation avec la volonté forte d’offrir à ses contemporains un culte « renouvelé », capable d’être favorablement comparé aux cultes chrétiens installés.

À partir d’une démarche initiale évidente axée sur les deux ḥazanîm Lovy et Naumbourg, les premières prospections permirent d’affirmer que, contrairement à nombre de sources, le vrai réformateur-promoteur de la musique synagogale parisienne avait été Israël Lovy et non Samuel Naumbourg, pourtant traditionnellement crédité comme tel, mais de fait simple continuateur de cette réforme vingt ans plus tard.

Ces constats liminaires poussèrent à approfondir la période 1822-1874, demi-siècle durant lequel la première synagogue consistoriale parisienne resta l’unique temple officiel de la capitale, institution avec laquelle le monde musical et artistique contemporain noua des relations étroites. Le regard a ainsi cheminé d’une introduction historique indispensable vers l’intérêt recherché d’édifier une telle synagogue et d’y établir une tradition musicale nouvelle, puis vers l’étude des promoteurs de celle-ci et, enfin, vers sa description technique.

Consulter la biographie de Israel Lovy

Consulter la biographie de Samuel Naumbourg

Consulter La thèse (pdf) de Gérard Ganvert La musique synagogale à Paris à l’époque du premier temple consistorial (1822-1874)

Avertissement : Ce texte a été mis à disposition par l’auteur uniquement à des fins d’étude. En cas de réutilisation des textes, partitions ou illustrations de cette thèse, l’auteur doit être impérativement cité. Voyez comment citer les auteurs et mentionner la licence.

References
1 Docteur en histoire de la musique et musicologie, habilité à diriger les recherches, ancien professeur associé de l’UFR de Musique et Musicologie de l’Université de la Sorbonne (Paris-IV) et chargé d’enseignement à l’Université de Versailles-Saint-Quentin (France).

Vous aimerez aussi

Publication de 3 nouvelles œuvres du compositeur Serge Kaufmann

Les Éditions de l'IEMJ publient trois nouvelles compositions de Serge Kaufmann, Ima ou la Mère dépossédée, Dix duos pour 2…

KALARASH – Musique klezmer, chansons yiddish et françaises

Ce 8e CD de la Collection Découvertes regroupe des airs de musique klezmer, des chansons yiddish et françaises, de Kalarash,…