Lovy, Israël (1773-1832)

logo bio Israël Lovy

By Hervé Roten*

Born into a lineage of cantors from Poland and Pomerania, Israël Lovy was born August 31, 1773 in Schottland, near Dantzig. Eldest of a brotherhood of six children, he received a religious and musical education. Besides the singing that he did in Głogów’s yeshiva in which his father was a cantor, the young boy learned violin without telling his father.

With his quite remarkable bass voice and great musical intelligence, the young man travelled through Europe with two singing helpers. The experience of hearing Haydn’s Creation in Vienna encouraged him to study the music of Haydn and Mozart and to start learning musical composition.

From 1799 to 1806, he was hired as cantor in the rich community of Fürth (Bavaria). He studied piano, cello, Italian and French, and started to sing concert works of art music (Haydn, Mozart…).

Between 1806 and 1817, Lovy sang in the synagogues of Mainz, Strasbourg and London. In 1818 he was appointed cantor in London, and made a stop in Paris where he performed in synagogues as well as in private or public concerts. He achieved such a big success that he was hired by the Paris Consistoire, and became chief cantor of the new temple on rue Notre Dame de Nazareth in 1822. For ten years he organized the musical cult of this first consistorial temple by introducing many musical items from classical music (choral singing accompanied by the organ, composition of new songs in major or minor mode, etc.).

Attacked by breast disease, he died on January 7 1832, at the age of 59, and was buried in the North-Montmartre cemetary of Paris.

Listen to the playlist dedicated to Israël Lovy

Look at our archives about Israël Lovy


* Excerpt translated from the article written by Hervé Roten, « Le patrimoine musical de la Grande Synagogue de la Victoire », The synagogue of la Victoire, 150 years of French judaism, Porte-plume editions, 2017

You may also like

Soul of Yiddish

Travelling between her love of classical music and the folk repertoire of Eastern Europe, where she finds her roots, Noëmi…

The organ in the Jewish tradition

On May 21, 1856, the conference of the French chief rabbis, presided by the chief rabbi of France Salomon Ulmann…

Conference – The place of the organ in the Jewish tradition – Hervé Roten

Sunday, October 24, 2021 from 2 to 3 pm - LE KARE - Boulogne-Billancourt (92100). Conference on the evolution of…

Lovy, Israël (1773-1832)

logo bio Israël Lovy

par Hervé Roten*

Issu d’une lignée de chantres de Pologne et de Poméranie, Israël Lovy est né le 31 août 1773 à Schottland, près de Dantzig. Aîné d’une fratrie de six enfants, il reçoit une éducation à la fois religieuse et musicale. Outre le chant qu’il pratique à la yeshiva de Głogów où son père officie comme hazzan, le jeune garçon apprend le violon à l’insu de son père.

Doté d’une voix de basse-taille peu commune et d’une grande intelligence musicale, le jeune homme parcourt l’Europe avec deux aides-chanteurs au gré de ses prestations. L’audition de La création de Haydn à Vienne l’incite à étudier la musique de Haydn et Mozart et à s’initier à la composition musicale.

De 1799 à 1806, il est engagé comme hazzan dans la communauté prospère de Fürth (Bavière). Il y étudie le piano, le violoncelle, l’italien et le français, et commence à chanter en concert des œuvres de musique savante (Haydn, Mozart…).

Entre 1806 et 1817, Lovy chante dans les synagogues de Mainz, Strasbourg et Londres. En 1818, nommé à Londres au poste de chantre, il fait halte à Paris où il se produit aussi bien à la synagogue que dans des concerts publics ou privés. Son succès est tel qu’il est engagé en 1818 par le Consistoire de Paris, puis confirmé comme ministre officiant en chef du nouveau temple de la rue Notre Dame de Nazareth en 1822. Durant 10 ans, il va structurer le culte musical de ce premier temple consistorial en introduisant de nombreux éléments musicaux empruntés à la musique classique (chant choral accompagné de l’orgue, régulation du cérémonial, composition de nouveaux chants en majeur ou mineur, etc.).

Atteint d’une maladie de poitrine, il décède le 7 janvier 1832, à l’âge de 59 ans, et est enterré au cimetière parisien du Nord-Montmartre.

Ecouter la playlist consacrée à Israël Lovy

Consulter nos archives sur Israël Lovy


*Extrait de l’article de Hervé Roten, « Le patrimoine musical de la Grande Synagogue de la Victoire », La synagogue de la Victoire, 150 ans du judaïsme français, éditions Porte-plume, 2017

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…