La source de vie : Nancy’s heritage

FRANCE 2 TELEVISION - 2001

A TV program by Josy Eisenberg, directed by Pascale Kenigsberg-Cahen, with the participation of the Consistoire Central and the Lucien Lévy Foundation. With Daniel Dahan (Rabbi of Nancy and its region) and Claude Jablon (President of the Jewish Cultural Association of Nancy)

Officially founded in 1754, Nancy’s community developed quickly, strongly accelerated by the arrival of Jews from the Alsace and Moselle regions, who fled the departments taken by Germany after 1871. During World War II, around 900 members of the community were killed by nazis.
In the 1960s, the arrival of about 60 families from different countries of North Africa revitalized the community. The reorganisation of the neighbourhood in the 1970s led to the creation of a new community center built by the architect Jean Prouvé.

This show hosted by Josy Eisenberg presents the cultural and religious life of the Jewish community of Nancy through the history of two important institutions: Nancy’s synagogue and the Jewish Cutural Association.

  • The synagogue of Nancy is a place with an intense Jewish life rhythmed by the singing of great hazzanim such as André Stora or Michel Heymann.
  • Originating from the Jewish immigration from Central Europe in the beginning of the XXth century and filled with the memory of the Holocaust’s survivors, the Association Culturelle Juive (ACJ) has a material and symbolic heritage of great value, in particular a French and Yiddish library with over 1500 books, several of them being very rare. The nostalgia and memory of the Yiddish language and songs is articulated through the creation of the choir Yid’n Blues. These two institutions join every year in April to commemorate the uprising of Warsaw’s ghetto.

Watch other videos of La source de vie

Watch excerpts from this show

You may also like

Soul of Yiddish

Travelling between her love of classical music and the folk repertoire of Eastern Europe, where she finds her roots, Noëmi…

The organ in the Jewish tradition

On May 21, 1856, the conference of the French chief rabbis, presided by the chief rabbi of France Salomon Ulmann…

Conference – The place of the organ in the Jewish tradition – Hervé Roten

Sunday, October 24, 2021 from 2 to 3 pm - LE KARE - Boulogne-Billancourt (92100). Conference on the evolution of…

La source de vie : Mémoire de Nancy

FRANCE 2 TELEVISION - 2001

Une émission de Josy Eisenberg, réalisée par Pascale Kenigsberg-Cahen, avec le concours du Consistoire Central et de la Fondation Lucien Lévy. Avec la participation de Daniel Dahan (Rabbin de Nancy et de la région) et de Claude Jablon (Président de l’association Culturelle Juive de Nancy)

Officiellement fondée en 1754, la communauté de Nancy connait un rapide développement, fortement accéléré par l’arrivée d’alsaciens et de mosellans fuyant les départements annexés par l’Allemagne après 1871. Au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, environ 900 membres de la communauté sont exterminés par les nazis.
Dans les années 1960, l’arrivée d’une soixantaine de familles originaires de différents pays du Maghreb apporte un souffle nouveau à la communauté. La restructuration du quartier dans les années 1970 se traduit par la création d’un nouveau centre communautaire construit par l’architecte Jean Prouvé.

Cette émission de Josy Eisenberg présente la vie culturelle et religieuse de la communauté juive de Nancy à travers l’histoire de deux institutions importantes : la synagogue de Nancy et l’Association Culturelle Juive. La synagogue de Nancy est le lieu d’une intense vie juive rythmée par les chants de grands hazzanim tels que André Stora ou encore Michel Heymann. Issue de l’immigration juive d’Europe centrale du début du XXe s. et empreinte de la mémoire des survivants du génocide, l’Association Culturelle Juive (ACJ) possède un patrimoine matériel et symbolique de grande valeur, notamment une bibliothèque yiddish et française de plus de 1500 ouvrages, certains étant des pièces exceptionnelles. La nostalgie et le souvenirs de la langue et des chants yiddish s’exprime travers la création de la chorale Yid’n Blues.
Ces deux institutions s’associent tous les ans au mois d’avril pour commémorer le soulèvement du ghetto de Varsovie.

Voir d’autres émissions de la source de vie en ligne sur notre site

Visionner des extraits de cette émission

Vous aimerez aussi

La playlist orientale de l’été…

Au cours de ce voyage, nous vous invitons à chanter et danser au gré des plus belles voix de ce…

La playlist israélienne de l’été…

Pour vous accompagner tout au long de l’été, voici une sélection des tubes les plus entraînants de la musique israélienne

La Musique Juive en Espagne

Article sur la situation historique de la Musique Juive en Espagne, par Jorge Rozemblum, directeur de Radio Sefarad et correspondant…